We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss Paradise Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was asked to write this review to help others have a good time and avoid some common hassles of the area . First , I have visited Paradise Village 5 times and always had a good time and some very different experiences on and off the resort. Was possibly going again this year ,but a serious injury has set me back and can`t work or travel yet . Staff is great . service has always been wonderful, some very minor issues but you are in Mexico , not Canada or U.S.A. or the U.K. . The laws are different , life is a lot less stressful there so try and adapt to the ways , you are there to relax and have fun. The right people work at this resort , hell one of the bellboys at the lobby taught me a fair amount of Spanish so I would be able communicate as I would leave the resort for my daily walk and adventures. Lots to see in the general area without spending a lot of money . You do not have to take the Time share tour , although you will be strongly pushed to do so, but a persistant no will work , Caution you will not receive any discounts on any trips booked through resort. But several outside venders will offer you the same outing at a cheaper rate, the catch is if booked at Paradise Village you are covered for insurance thru the resort. Think about it . For people that like to fish , there is a local public docks in the same resort marina. So, check with the local venders and compare prices for your 4or 6 or 8 hour fishing trip . Then go to one of the captains at the dock and see what their cost is . You will see a difference ,and all from the same dock. Also recommend dealing direct with Vallarta Adventures, located across the marina for some great trips . Have done a few from them on those big catamaran boat s . There is a mall outside of the resort compound local restaurants include Subway , Dominos Pizza and Starbucks ,of course McDonalds ,but why go on a holiday to eat that stuff, food is not to bad on the resort ,Or to head outside of the resort there is a taxi stand and bus stops at the entrance to the mall. Resort staff will hail you a taxi, can take a little golf cart from the lobby to the bus stand also. I found taking the bus to downtown P. V. a interesting outing on several occasions as it stops everywhere and boy you can see a lot of day today life just by riding the bus. Major bus stop at Walmart on the street , all bus routes marked with soap on the windows to show which way you are going , friendly locals will point you to the correct bus , free of charge . , Also across the street is the busy harbour , easy access. Used to be a cantina called Cheeky Monkeys on the strip in P.V. Last time I was there cervesas were a buck a beer all day , good munchies, nice view from all of the balcony`s of Banderas Bay, dolphin , sometimes whales and Black mantas jumping. Caution, when in P.V. your lovely resort wrist bands tells every street vender and time share hawk where you are staying and that is when they will strike up a conversation with you , do not make eye contact , or ignore them and keep on walking by. Lots of good place to eat , major shopping area on the strip . All the same meals and shopping can also be cheaper in a small town north called Bucerias .Cheaper venders if you want all the trinkets and T-shirt stuff. This is where we go for day trips , good restaurants on the beach. I here there are a couple of resorts there now. Time share hawks also walk the streets here , same bookings for trips and so on. Back to Paradise Village : Lots of well maintained tropical gardens , these are kept spotlessly clean. Small zoo on site , have held the baby tigers more than once but when the have young cubs out it is not a scheduled event. Sea lion have been brought to the main pool more than once , have seen an ostrich wandering around the compound , iguanas and lots of beautiful parrots. Warning these birds when in their cage for the night can be noisy , and if your room faces the parking lot you might here them, or a loud tiger roar once in a while . The sound of a tiger at night roaring will really get your attention. Most of my rooms have been on the marina side ,way up , what a great view, and much quieter than the rooms facing the ocean , still great views of the beach. Front rooms facing the parking lot tend to here a lot of noise as this is a very busy place at times. Like most Mexican resorts the beds are rock hard ,with what seems to be a cement base. The rooms that I have stayed in always clean, but starting to show some age . Concrete walls do not stop the sounds from the hallways or next door..As you can here the maids carts go clunk ,clunk as they go up and down the halls. House keepers do a wonderful job, every one says that they do not wash your dishes if you have a kitchen suite , somebody forgot to tell our housekeeper as it was done more than once without asking them, they were later given our appreciation. Beach , well what can I say, very long cleaned and groomed beach. Water is not crystal clear like Cancun areas but still great to play in the surf. Free kayaks and boogie boards and beach toys like footballs , volleyball , Frisbee all at the beach shack . Oh I thought that I would mention the towel situation for Paradise Village: upon check -in you will leave a deposit on your card for your towels for the pool and beach area , do not loose it ,like your room card ,if you have lost one of these it will cost you. All towels can be changed daily at the towel booth on the beach next to the restaurant past the main pool. More people seem to swim in the pools than in the ocean ,but just as many people hang out on the . I have never had a problem getting a chair and palapa on the beach as others have said. There is also a quiet pool to relax around , kids are not supposed to be going crazy here and it is sometime enforced , nice hot tub under the waterfall .At night many functions take place around the pools ie: theme nights , lots of fun. I might add that most of these functions shut down around 10:00 pm. This is not a night life , meat rack type of resort, very family oriented , if you want to party into the wee hours you will have to go off site. There is a night club , but when I have visited it was not open every night. There are a few good clubs and a sports bar past the mall called No Name Bar and Grill, don't know if it is still open or not . There is a free meet and great , out on the outdoor theatre facing the marina, some free drinks and munchies ,given out while you meet some staff and guests are on stage for some really funny skits and entertainment ,great for couples to find facts about their spouse in some skits . This is done once a week around 5 pm for about an hour , I think it used to be done on Sundays , although things might have changed by now .Everything that I have mentioned in this review is based on my family trips to this great resort , like I mentioned , these may have or have not changed . Would love to go back , miss this place terribly , I hope that my review will help any and all that visit this place , something must be good as many people return . Adios Marco.

Room Tip: Rooms on marina side ,higher up quiet and great view of the marina
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were here at Paradise Village from Mar. 2 to Mar. 9. if this year, 2013. Granted we are a senior citzen bunch, but we absolutely loved the people on staff (in all departments), the beach, which has gentle waves because it is on a huge bay, instead of the ocean, and the fabulous accomodations! I see one review that mentions there is no wifi in the rooms, but there is free wifi in the lobby. And, what a lobby it is! It is massive! It is open all the way up to the top (8th) floor and it is incredibly roomy and well furnished. The weather was perfect, day after day. One of our favorite things was a "water taxi" ride across the Marina to another area to find places to shop and eat. The "taxi" accomodates from one to eleven people, and the cost is $2 a head!!!

There is also a turtle perserve, run by the Mexican government, that is an easy walk down the beach. It is run by the Mexican government, as they try to perserve this endagered species of sea turtle. The female turtles come up on the beach at night and dig large holes in the sand and fill them with eggs. The eggs are havested in the mornings and reburied in a place on the beach that they have fenced and covered to discourage the natural predators of the babies. Birds love the hatchlings for breakfast! On set days, which are well announced in advance, the hatchlings are set free in the evening, and tourists are encouraged to come and watch the procedure and even set one free. They do it in the evening, just after sunset because the birds go to roost and the babies can get to the ocean safely. Of course they also have predators in the bay, but the program is turning around the turtle populations.

The place is very "kid friendly" with a Kids' Club on site daily and at least one night a week. There is probably a fee for this service, but it would be a safe place to leave the children, and they have games and crafts for them. As stated above, we were a Sr. Citizen group.

Once a day, there is a free 5 minute mini-massage offered at the activities pool. It is heaven! There are many free activities all day long, hosted by the charming staff of native Mexican youth. The on-site Spa is too pricey for my blood, but it is excellent. I say "the activities pool" because there is also a "traquil pool" for those who want to avoid the noise of the games, music and laughter. It is a fully wholesome place. We had a great week!
All in all, we had a great

Room Tip: There are 3 large buildings on the site. We prefer the Tower shaped like a large Y. Ask for a high...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancymweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed a week at PV along with two members. We've been to many other resorts around the US, Bermuda, and the Caribbean, so this review is based on that background.

Plus side: Everything on the resort was immaculate. The resort grounds are beautiful and well tended. The staff were unfailingly friendly and, in most cases, helpful. The quality and variety of food was very good. The theme nights are a nice alternative to the ala carte restaurant menus. A nice beach with lots of umbrellas and chairs. Good beach service for food and drinks.

Average: The rooms are comfortable, although they need new bed pillows.

Negative: A general feeling that they charged for everything. Connecting to the phone for a local phone call, WiFi in the room, etc. Not a huge deal, just something to mention.

We did the presentation about joining, but unlike some others, we didn't find it too overbearing. It's a sales pitch, so you have to expect some pressure to buy. We didn't join, and once they knew we meant "no", we didn't get any other pressure. We did get a lot of discounts we used for golf and other activities.

We also didn't mind the beach vendors. Yes, there were many of them walking around, but none were pushy with us. They are poor people trying to make a living selling items by walking through sand all day carrying things. Of course, they want us to buy. But we never felt pressure. Once we smiled and said "no, thanks", they moved on.

Room Tip: Depends on whether you want to watch the bay or have a quiet room. Marina side is quieter, and it...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our third annual trip to Paradise Village and the resort and staff always meet our expectations.
The resort and grounds are spotlessly clean and the service on the beach by our favorite waiter, Carlos, is AMAZING!! He is extremely attentive, friendly, and always looks after our needs.
The theme nights are always fun, particularly the Mexican Fiesta night. We did, however, find the food options more limited than in the past and the food was sometimes not as warm as it should be.The drinks, as is the case with some all inclusive resorts, are absolutely not watered down and very good!
We always feel safe and welcome at this resort. The one complaint we do have and don't really understand is why do they hide the bacon at the breakfast buffet - this started two years ago and really is annoying..other than that a fabulous time and we will definately be back. Is a great resort for families.

Room Tip: If looking for a quieter room I would avoid the main building, we stayed in the Coba Tower and found...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Paradise Village was a great hotel, which is actually quite different than what I expected to think. My wife and I tend to stay in smaller boutique hotels, something closer to the action or more authentic and entrenched with the locals. We were invited by our in-laws who are members and from the pictures it looked like a big fenced in American/Canadian compound that was built and stuck in the 80's. However as soon as we arrived I don't think I had a single critical thought about the property or the staff. The food was good (though we could have used more Mexican food options at dinner time), the drinks were relatively strong and not too expensive ($6us and 2x1 during happy hour). The "fiesta" nights were entertaining and tasty and the facilities were perfect for our sub-1yo twins. My only real complaint was that the pool was way to cold for little ones. It took a good 5 minutes to get them in and used to the cold, and then we had about 20 minutes at most before they were too cold and had to get out. I cant believe it but both my wife and I are contemplating coming back next time we want a relaxing, easy and convenient family vacation.

Summary: Pleasantly Surprised.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhowardhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very nice all around. Great beach, clean property, lots to do. Some of the negatives are a lack of services in the room ie you have to pay for wi-fi and it is not consistent (sometimes it works, sometimes not), no wine glasses, no scissors to open things, no steak knives, no dish soap. Just the basic necessities we have come to expect from a top of the line timeshare. We have been to Hawaii many times and get these everyday items without asking.
We rented a condo so not on the all-inclusive plan (at $89 pp per day-I don't think so). That made lunches and dinners expensive. They really do soak you for things compared to what you can get for things just around the area.
It is a sanitized version of Mexico so likely would not return to this resort.

Room Tip: Had a room in the Coba building on third floor facing the marina. Lots of yachts and things coming...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our annual trip to a Mexican all-Inclusive. This year it was Paradise Village Resort in Nuevo Vallarta. On the positive side, the facility was nice (although a bit dated with furniture), spotlessly clean, and the staff were friendly. Lots of activities, wonderful pool, and transportation to Puerto Vallarta was cheap and easy. The beach is amazing (one of the best we've seen) and the weather was wonderful. Pretty good evening entertainment.

On the downside, the food opportunities were limited (lack of variety) and service inconsistent. (Only two different restaurants included with all-inclusive). Also, there seemed to be an obsession with cost control. e.g. "You can have this cocktail with the all inclusive, but only if we withhold the Bailey's" or "Please sign here for this donut".

Avoid at all costs the time-share presentation. Although the $59 golf incentive was good as was the coupon for a great dinner at Il Pescatore (not part of all in-clusive), the high pressure sales approach (7 different people who don't understand "No") was off-putting. Pay the extra money for your golf. You'll be happy you did.

On the whole, a pretty good place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majorwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
3.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.3 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#12 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,770 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
Marival Residences Luxury Resort
#4 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $110 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your Paradise! Elegantly situated in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit, located within its own peninsula all set against a spectacular tropical backdrop, Paradise Village Resort and Spa is an all inclusive and European plan all-suite designer accommodations beachfront hotel, is a five star development that offers a gorgeous beach! Just 15 minutes away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Beach Hotel
Paradise Village Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing