We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nuevo Vallarta
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,077)
Filter reviews
6,079 results
Traveler rating
3,375
1,734
538
239
193
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,375
1,734
538
239
193
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal club first club la hacienda le buffet tokyo restaurant lounge bar italian restaurant adult pool smaller resort the general manager time share special thanks recommend this resort specialty restaurants great beach all inclusive resort ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 6,079 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed so many aspects of this vacation spot. The beach for walks, the many palm trees to provide shade at the ocean front, the soft fine sand and great ocean swims, the beach beds provided for Royal Luxury Level clients, the great restaurants. . . especially the Tokyo Restaurant experience. Our room was modern and beds very comfortable. Service was excellent all around. The staff seem to be under great management, and were very pleasant, motivated and helpful to make our stay so positive.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank eposch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELOPVR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Erna,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We also would like to thank you for your highlight on the comfort of our beds because at Occidental we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Nelly Sánchez / Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is not an exclusive high end hotel with exquisite food and highly personalized attention to detail. But it is a very comfortable hotel that does most things right. Great beach, great location, good variety of food options, and the feeling of being in a significant place from an architectural point of view. In other words, the hotel "feels" good. The Royal level is definitely the way to go for a special menu and more personalized service. The nightly entertainment is perhaps the weakest point as it takes place in a small room with loud music and poor acoustics. Construction on a new wing was a bit disturbing at times but this should be finished soon. Overall though a good choice!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank EddieNaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELOPVR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers.

It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates. We also are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Riviera Nayarit.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Cordially,
Nelly Sánchez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were sent to the Occidental to pay to enjoy their tennis courts. When we arrived, the staff didn't know what to do with us; apparently they don't have many people that play tennis there based on the condition of the court and net. We did complain about the condition but nothing was done about it. The concierge acted like it wasn't their issue even though we were paying to use the court. There is also construction going on right across from the court so it was even hard to hear. And the court is located at the front of the building so their was absolutely no view of anything inside the facility at all. We did use the restrooms to change clothes and they were always clean and tidy.

Room tip: Away from the construction
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELOPVR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Linda,

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your visit in our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Nelly Sánchez / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All the staff we met were amazing! I had a perfect and relaxing prenatal massage by Lupita. The wait staff pool/beach side remembered my group and drink orders (Julio Larios, Eric, Miguel, Augustin Loeza, and Maria). Food was not good and bland. Very "Americanized", I took offense when I saw hot dogs in the beans. Room was mostly clean as our bathroom ceiling started to leak and you could see previous evidence of issues in the same spot (mold growth and staining). Bed and pillows are very comfy. Showers were hot. My biggest complaint is really the food.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mperez1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELOPVR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Megan,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. Moreover, we do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Nelly Sánchez / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This vacation was our first all inclusive, and my first trip to Mexico. I have to say that this property and it's staff far exceeded our expectations. We opted for the Royal Level option and I'd strongly recommend it. From a dedicated concierge to free Wifi to an exclusive restaurant and bar with top-shelf liquor to an exclusive pool also with a bar featuring top-shelf liquor - it's well worth the extra cost.
The property is beautiful and the beach and surrounding landscape are gorgeous. From the bellmen to the housekeeping staff, everyone was so friendly, hardworking, and accommodating. Special thanks to the Royal Level concierge Belen. She's amazing!
The food was very good with a variety of restaurants. We enjoyed each that we dined at. Service was great! David in the buffet restaurant and Romeo in the Italian restaurant were excellent.
The Royal Level restaurant was our favorite - and the staff was a big part of that. Thanks to the morning/day staff Tito, Yesinia, and Maria. The evening staff - Alberto, Ricardo, and Carlos (Charlie) - were so kind to us. They quickly became friends and made our meals so enjoyable. I'm grateful to have met these new amigos.
The canopy beds - on the Royal Level pool and beach - were our favorite spot! Muchas gracias to our new friends Julio Larios and Augustin Loeza who were amazing. They anticipated our every need and truly made us feel like VIPs. I feel blessed to have met these gents and I'm so grateful for the great care they took of us.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELOPVR, Gerente at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Hotel. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

I am truly happy to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality and service delivered and will not fail to pass your comments to those team members whom you have personally mentioned. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future for second visit to Riviera Nayarit.

Cordially,
Nelly Sánchez / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews