We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bigger isn't always better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bigger isn't always better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at the occidental from July 12th-19th. We were very pleased with the size of the resort. It took no longer than two minutes to get anywhere on the resort from our room. Our room was on ground level with a small patio just off the theater. It was loud from 9 till 10 with the shows every night but after about 10:30 things got quiet. The room itself was nice and clean with no musty smell. Air conditioning worked too well to my liking so I was glad to be able to open the patio door. Maid service was great and the room was always cleaned before lunch. Pools are nice especially the adult pool. The beach was beautiful, big and clean with lots of lounge chairs and huts for shade.The ocean was warm like a bath tub. The food was the usual all inclusive resort food. The Mexican restaurant was quite disappointing. I cannot comment on the Italian as we cancelled our reservation to go off the resort to a great restaurant we discover a short distance away. There are lots of daily activities if one wants to participate. They have a "spa" but hopefully it will be moved into a better spot. I must say I had one of the best massages ever there though. The staff are all very nice and hard working and take time to chat. We had great service at the beach bar from Daniel Ramirez and Xavier from the buffet. There was some renos going on while we were there and I'd like to go back next year to see them completed. Would I go again? In a heart beat! Is it a five star? No, but it's at least a 4 or 41/2 and had everything we needed and more.

Room Tip: Rooms with patios are nice just avoid the theater side if you like quiet in the early evening. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2011wintersucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    792
    257
    91
    67
See reviews for
752
1,036
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Today is our first day at Occidental Grand Nuevo. Our room is so darn hot, we have had to walk across the street to the mini mall for cold air. We have complained numerous times and have been rest assured that the air is working. We have even paod extra for the Royal Jr. Suite. The room is beautiful, the hotel decor is beautiful on the inside, but with no cold air it just ruins the whole experience. At this point, I would most definitely never come back here nor would I consider a time share. I really hope something changes in the next 4 days I am here. The staff is super nice and seems willing to help, but I don't see how I am going to sleep with little to no air. -very disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slcrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANNEL MANAGER O, Manager at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear slcrawford,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Grand Nuevo Vallarta, also thank you for your kind words about our team.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experience due to the lack of air conditioned, we are sorry to read that your time with us wasn't pleasant completely; our maintenance team has been working and corrected this point.

We hope you give us an opportunity to welcome you to enjoy our improvements in a near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family of four were looking for an affordable all-inclusive holiday someplace warm and we ended up choosing the Occidental in Nuevo Vallarta based on the price, the pictures, and the reviews on Trip Advisor.

The accomodations were very nice, everything was a quick walk.

Meals were varied and excellent. We had a choice of a buffet that had no waits with a lot of seating. The buffet served breakfast/lunch/dinner and the selections would be changed up each day. There was also a beach side restaurant where we could order off of a menu. We were given the option of eating once at a Mexican restaurant, and once at an Italian. Formal wear for the men meant pants and shoes but the Risotto at the Italian place made it worth it.

The pools were nice, and it was great that there was an adult pool aside from the family pool. I really would have enjoyed music at the adult pool but other than that it was perfect. Without a swim up bar or food service, it mean a nice clean area that was well maintained.

The staff at the Occidental was what made the stay go from a 4/5 to a 5/5. Everyone was so fantastic, it is hard to remember everyone. However, Ricardo at the hotel bar, Benjamin at the beach bar, and Daniel at the pools went the extra mile (or in Canada the extra Kilometer) to make our experience an eventful and pleasurable one.

If I go back to Nuevo Vallarta, I would definitely stay at the Occidental again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LTPexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I went to Nuevo Vallarta for our honeymoon and stayed at the Occidental Grand! It was a great experience. Room was comfortable, food was delicious, activities were great! There are attractions and even a mall within walking distance. We highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: higher floors have greater ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajera4ever2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I just returned from a "girls trip" with a friend and our daughters. We booked a week at this all inclusive through Costco. It was our first experience with an all inclusive and it was nice to have a package with absolutely everything we needed all paid for in advance...air, airport transfers, room, food and drinks.
ARRIVAL - All the literature we received from Costco prior to departure warned repeatedly about the aggressive time-share salesmen we would encounter at the airport, so we were ready to avoid them while looking for our transportation from airport to hotel. However, what was unexpected was phase two of aggressive sales which came from the hotel itself. When checking in we were told our rooms weren't quite ready and were diverted to a hotel associate to get information about the resort, i.e. the restaurants on property, map, etc. which quickly devolved into a strong "invitation" to a 90 minute presentation regarding other Occidental properties and the sales of various activity packages. After a day of traveling, and adjusting to the heat, all we wanted to do was get checked in and get our kids to the beach, Not deal with pressure sales. Once we made clear we weren't interested we pulled away from the sales agent and got our keys, the friendly, attentive bellman got our bags right up to our rooms.
THE ROOMS are exactly as shown in the photos... bright, modern and clean although showing a bit of wear. The a/c is ice cold which was a benefit given the heat in July. The mini fridge held numerous bottled waters, two sodas and two beers which were replenished daily. The small room safe was convenient and easy to operate. The view from the room looks over the pool area and out over the ocean. It's my understanding that all rooms have basically the same view due to the configuration of the hotel building. There aren't balconies...however, with the heat and humidity, I can't imagine having spent anytime out there if there had been. You want to keep the cold in!
THE WATER - It's worth mentioning that all the water and ice are safe for consumption...no worries brushing teeth, etc.
THE PROPERTY - I was afraid that the hotel and property would be massive and therefore a bit of a pain to walk from restaurant to room, to pool, to beach, etc. However, it is not a huge place and everything is relatively close and getting up to the room is quick and the elevators are centrally located. 3 pools, one secluded, beautiful adult only pool and a kiddie pool and family pool are at the center of the property. There is an ample amount of lounge chairs and clean towels available at the pools. There is a small shop with sunscreen, a few medicines, gifts, snacks.
ACTIVITIES - There seemed to be several opportunities for exercise and pool games, but we only did the water aerobics at the adult pool with Ady. She was fun and energetic and is a great asset to this organization! The gym is small but has two treadmills, two elipticals, some free weights and a universal machine. It could use some more windows or distractions, but got the job done.
FOOD - There are several ways to eat at the hotel and all were more than satisfactory. Le Buffet is the largest facility, feeding the bulk of the guests for 3 meals a day. The selection is enormous and our group of 7 could easily find something to make everyone happy. Reservations need to be made for the other two restaurants for dinners, one with Mexican food and the other more formal venue serving Italian food. There is also a snack bar which was open a bit before, during and after lunch so you can eat a limited buffet or quick service burgers, tacos, etc. I need to acknowledge our waiters Juan and Erik who took great care of us at Le Buffet all week. All the wait staff are outstanding.
DRINKS - Two bars serve the lobby lounge and the beach pool areas. The bartenders and servers were exceptionally friendly and accommodating, especially considering the huge amount of smoothies and sodas that our small herd of children ordered! Carlos Flores and Ernesto were busy but always smiling, funny and kind. Our new best friend, Super Dan (Daniel Ramirez) was so attentive while serving drinks at the beach bar. Excellent service while also so witty and fun!
THE BEACH - Palapas and lounges are on the beach, first come, first serve, so you need to stake your claim early, but there are many available. There were body boards and kayaks available for use at the beach. The ocean water is very user friendly, staying shallow for quite a way out. There was a couple strong rip currents that popped up during the week and few "lifeguards" so you need to be alert and aware of your abilities.
CHECK OUT was smooth and easy, our bags were held from checkout time until it was time for us to leave to airport.
INTERNET - Unless you are very patient and absolutely have to have internet service, I would advise against purchasing the internet wifi. It is 10.00 per day or 30.00 for 5 days, however it faded in and out and trying to get days refunded through the company was a pain. Guest Services tried to facilitate communication between us and the internet company but in the end the refund wasn't very satisfactory. There is a small mall with a Starbucks just 5 minutes walk from the hotel where wifi is available, user and password printed on your receipt.
I would describe the staff at Occidental Grand to be the cream of the crop. Across the board, from housekeeping all the way up, the young people who we encountered all spoke great, I mean GREAT English, were super eager to meet all of our needs and run a very tight ship. We were extremely impressed. We came to an all inclusive for the ease and got so much more than we imagined. Outside of the initial hard sales and the spotty wifi and some ridiculous (even after 1:30am) noise from a large group in the lobby for two of our nights, we only have great things to say about our stay.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 443, 444 and 445. They all had great views and were easy access to elevators. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Overall the property was just "average" as there were a lot of upgrades that needed to be done, the cuisine left much to be desired, and the rooms were okay at best (unless you're an upgraded member).

We wanted to do a number of activities and we opted to attend a time share presentation in order to get a few free tickets. When the staff at the Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta became aware they literally hounded us. One woman followed us outside and other staff later on in the hotel treated us in a rude manner when they found out that we attended the time share presentation. (And just for future travelers to be aware, we got pricing from the time share folks at the airport on a number of the activities and the staff at the hotel always gave us a price at least $20 above what we were quoted at the hotel).

The room was only okay. We noted when booking that we were going to be on our honeymoon and asked for nice accommodations. The bed was not comfortable and the room had a constant musty smell to it, which only got better through our repeated sprays of Lysol. The bathroom shower door was broken (looked at though the handle wore off due to rust) and the water pressure was almost non-existent. The amenities in the room varied from day to day (one day we only got 1 towel and 1 washcloth, no soap and 2 bottles of shampoo). We were told that our fridge would be restocked every other day, however it was done only once in our week stay there. No room service was available, unless you were a Royal Club member, so when we wanted to have food we HAD to wait for the buffet to open.

The food options at Le Buffet were sub-par. Literally everyday the options were two types of chicken, a type of beef, rice, and potatoes served 5 different ways. We were hoping to get more authentic food and more of a variety but that didn't happen, there was always a LOT of food, but the same things over and over and over again. For breakfast there were choices from eggs, cereal, sausage links, french toast, pancakes, and various breads. For lunch the options were pretty much the same as dinner... Chicken and beef, rice and potatoes and sometimes fruit.

As I previously mentioned, the hotel needed a number of touch-ups. At least on the 4th floor there were a number of harmful objects protruding from the wall, one of which cut my husband's arm and when we called the front desk to ask about some alcohol or peroxide to clean it we were told that we would have to purchase it from the shop in the lobby area. The night entertainment left a lot to be desired.

The bonus was that the staff (other than the hustlers up front) were quite friendly, although we have repeatedly said that one member of the waiting staff at Le Buffet went above and beyond. We can't say enough about Mr. Oscar Rodriguez from Le Buffet (in the attached photo). After being there for 3 days we had the pleasure of having Oscar as our waiter and he went above and beyond. He learned our names and greeted us by name whenever he saw us whether we were in the restaurant or not. He learned my husband's preferred drink and had it ready when we sat for dinner. He was one of the few that would actually take the time to answer questions about the area and life in Puerto Vallarta. In our opinion Oscar should be utilized to teach others how to develop a positive relationship with the guests.

Room Tip: The higher you can get the better... Although the top floor is reserved ONLY for the Royal Club memb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHelms2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I spent 7 days (July 9-15, 2014) at the Occidental Grand for our anniversary. This was our 3rd all-inclusive resort but our 1st time in staying in Puerto Vallarta. First of all the property is beautiful and the location is fantastic. One issue we had was that there are no balconies unless you have a suite. But on the 1st floor there are rooms with patios, so I emailed requesting a patio and as luck would have it the manager I spoke to was passing by as we were checking in and got us in a patio room near the pool. They were undergoing some renovations to some of the rooms as well as the exterior by the pools, but they kept the noise to a minimum. The staff was awesome and any request/issue or question was quickly handled. Special kudos to our favorite waiter Daniel Ramirez! Very attentive and funny, and remembered our drink orders and kept an eye out for when we were getting low.
The Food was good at the buffet as well as the Italian and Mexican specialty restaurants. Seasoning is not an issue. Also ask for the Mexican/Spanish coffee after dinner at Los Olivos! I read reports about overly pushy timeshare people, but there was no real pressure. We declined and were asked in passing 1 other time about it but it was no issue. After staying at some of the larger resorts I would definitely recommend this resort to friends.

A few tips:
Pay attention to the dining and bar schedules. There are places to eat/drink all day til about 1:30 am, but in order to set up for the next meal the places kind of rotate serving.

The sand is HOT! Mid-day its like 90+ and the sand almost burned my feet the 1st day we got there so flip flops are a must til you get to the water.

Some other reviews complained about the reservation process as far as the specialty restaurants but I was simple and we got in the nights we wanted no problem. There were open tables and fast service both times we went.

If it's your 1st trip to Puerto Vallarta but you've been to other caribbean places be warned: The water is CLOUDY not clear, and the sand is dark, not white. But it is very warm and still good for swimming.

I gets pretty quiet in the evening at the hotel. All the bars and clubs (Mandala, Senior Frogs etc...) are in Puerto Vallarta like 30 mins away by cab. But they do a different show at the hotel every night at 9.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mello314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
2.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
#7 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
0.5 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#10 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 3,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#3 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing