We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed 7 days Sat to Sat. We did upgrade and our room was on 6th floor. Could watch sunset every night . The room was not as big as some other once we had but clean. It has a wonderful Beach and nice pools. We did like the adult pool the best and security did make sure it stayed and adult pool. The food was great, but never hot or you got it off the Grill.
The best service you can ask for, yes we did tip because it was well deserved. We went everyday to the same section that Francisco was working in the Buffet because he made us feel like family. Everybody is very nice and helpful. It is definitely on our go back to list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 3,338 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Smaller, well maintained resort; easy to get around. Comfortable clean rooms, with efficient layouts and lots of storage space. Never had trouble finding beach chairs. Staff were very attentive and friendly, especially in the buffet restaurant; they behaved like they were on commission, vying to serve you. Food choices were surprisingly good (considering the size of the place) with lots of healthy options; preparation was excellent - the chef is talented here. Don't understand the reviews that complain about the food!
Location is excellent - near a mall, ATM's, laundromat etc.
Only complaint would be cost of wifi; fortunately there is a cafe nearby where you can get wifi for the cost of a coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken-Linda-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have been going here for Thanksgiving for 10 years. The hotel was remodeled in 2011 and the rooms are quite nice. They have added an adult pool and built a new kids club and entertainment stage. All of the changes are welcome and have improved the hotel.

While they didn't bring back many of the staff that had been there for many years, there are a few. The staff overall is very friendly and speak English pretty well for the most part.

One of the things that drives me a bit crazy anywhere we go in Mexico is how random they are about doing room cleanup, bar stocking, etc. Some days you hang your towel up (like the little cards say to save the environment) and they leave them but give you 2 or 3 more. Other days, they take them and give you 3 new towels. The mini bar says it will get replenished every other day, but seemed to get replenished daily - maybe just not with the same amounts. It is just not this hotel but all over that these kind of inconsistencies happen. Don't they have a checklist?

The food is okay at the buffet. Again, things can be random. The olive oil and vinegars along with the sesame, sunflower, pumpkin seeds, etc. for the salads are clear across the room from the salads. Some things are in the refrigerators some days and others not. But again, staff is great and if you ask for something they will get it.

We love this place even with the inconsistencies and changes. And will continue to come back each year.

Room Tip: The side of the hotel away from the stage is best if you have small children or like to go to bed ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This resort, the Occidental Grand, Nuevo Vallarta is located next to Paradise Village Mall, a medical center, an ATM & bank, a church, and has the beautiful Nuevo beach. Excellent location. It has 3 pools; one for small children, one for activities and a quiet adult pool. Pool water temperature was always nice. Chairs were always available. Pools & areas were clean. This hotel has 3 fast elevators. We never had to wait more than a few seconds for one. A la cartes were excellent and fast. The Spanish coffee makers in both the Mexican and Italian a la cartes were very good at putting on a good show when making the coffee.The waiters in all the restaurants were very courteous and fast. Most spoke very good English. The dancers in the shows were very good. The activities people did an excellent job. The wine was good, and this is important to us, but they did not have any nice liqueurs.
The resort has good bikes to borrow. The seats are comfortable and bikes were in good condition. We borrowed them 4 or 5 days and rode all around Nuevo - a beautiful, safe area for biking. They also have kayaks, boogie boards etc. for guest use.
Negatives: The concierges - Basically a front for time share presentations. As soon as we were checked in, we were sent to their desk on the pretense of them giving us hotel information. First thing they do is try to get us to agree to go to breakfast the next morning to listen to their presentation, so they can hand you off to a time share rep. We had to refuse at least 20 times. We tired of their empty lead in questions. The concierge hang around their desk which is in front of the elevators and the walkway to the buffet & grounds, so you can't avoid them. This was the biggest negative to our stay at The Occidental.
The water in the shower was never hot. In fact one evening, there was no warm water even. We were there at a slow time of the year (last week in Nov. & first week of Dec.) and the resort was not even full. We stayed in room 446 and the air conditioning worked, but was not cool enough. The only cool spot in the room was by the table by the window, where the air circulated. The only place to get food on the resort after 11 pm was the snack bar. We are 60 years old, and the DJ played the music way too loud for us from 11 till 1 am. We tried to take our food out of the snack bar to get away from the blaring music, but were told we had to stay inside with food. The lighting in our bathroom in our room needs to be brighter by the mirror. The bed was comfortable.
The Buffet: We never went hungry, we never got sick and we never gained any weight. There were not enough labels for the dishes they presented and never labeled their salad dressings.
Waiters we found very courteous & good were Luis, Jair, Samuel, Francisco in morning/day buffet, Carlos Lobby bar, & Cristina our maid. Would we return? Yes, if the price was right, as there were more positives at this resort than negatives.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DustyRose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here Jan '13 & enjoyed it & decided to try it once more for 2 weeks instead of 1. Well we were not disappointed. IN fact we found it better. As my friend said by reading some of the past reviews (food complaints) amazing how many gourmet chefs travel here LOL. The food was not 5 star but very good & there was something for everyone on the buffet & the a la carte restaurants were good as well. The main complaint was beef & lets face it if you are from USA or Canada we have the best beef even if I do not eat it. When we arrived we found the AC was not high enough so we called asking if they could have a look at it the next morning but they sent someone right away!!! Any time there was a minor problem it was dealt with immediately. Staff are great & 1 waiter David remembered us . This is a quiet hotel with lots of daily activities but at night after the show it is quiet. The show are nice & it is not Vegas folks. We meant lot of repeat guest & the atmosphere was nice. The 2 weeks we were there 30 Nov-14 Dec it was low season but nice. One day the staff had their Rally games on the beach as it was quiet & had fun & great sports to watch them.

Room Tip: quiet rooms are facing east towards Paradise village, Free WIFI at the mall across the street in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notboring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This resort must be rated as worst food place ever. We were not expecting Vegas style buffet but the buffet here is a sorry excuse for edible food. In the standard package, Buffet was the only place where you could eat b'fast and Lunch as other restaurants were only open for dinner and "reservation" were required, really? Two things stopped us from taking a return flight to Seattle right away were the great ground/front desk/wait staff (management not included) and the location of the hotel. We paid $$$$$ for a "Royal Club Upgrade" just to get edible food and room service. We stayed in the same room as standard package as they told us that they gave us discounted upgrade. All bogus if you ask me. I am sure with those extra $$$$, we could have had few more better options in Puerto Vallarta. Enough said, if you really insist on going here and do want to eat something edible, book a royal package.

Room Tip: its luck of draw, higher is not better unlike other hotels. Check room and view before you start unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drive_fly_stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Drive_fly_stay,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to send us your review; our guest’s feedback helps us to focus our attention in the areas where we need improvement and to enhance our guest’s experience.
We are saddened to read that your overall experience, from your arrival experience to the quality of your room, did not reach your expectations. Please accept our apologies for failing your dinning expectations, we understand the importance of an incredible dining experience, and I’ve addressed your review with our executive chef as to enhance our quality standards.

Concerning our reservation system, please know our procedure is designed to ensure that all of our guests are able to enjoy dinner at least once in each of our restaurants. This means that sometimes we cannot always accommodate all guests at a certain time, but we do try to work to find a time that works for them. We do have a waiting list and if there is a cancellation, we will inform the guest immediately. We will speak with the customer service team so that they can be sure to make the reservation process a smooth one and ensure all guests their dinners. Thank you for understanding.

We hope that despite this experience, you present us an opportunity to show you the level of service you expect and for which our property is known.

Respectfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Occidental Grand in Nuevo Vallarta is a perfectly fine hotel. If you can get a good package or special low price deal to stay there then you probably should. We had a decent deal and were all in all satisfied with the services. Overall 7 out of 10.

Pros: Fast service in the restaurant, friendly greeting from all the staff, nice beach out front, clean, cool rooms, three restaurant options.

Cons: Several drinking glasses were served to me with lipstick on the rim, chipped rim, or chipped foot (wine glass). Plates weren't pristine. One time the maid didn't clean the room and put a "do not disturb" sign outside...we didn't put it ourselves. Charge for wifi or other internet usage was outrageous. Sound of AC/electrical generator would turn on in the night and wake us (and other guests) up.

Room Tip: Ask for "sea frontal" not just "sea view" because otherwise you will have to cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,952 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $166 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing