We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, friendly staff, horrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, friendly staff, horrible food”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

upon checking in do not, i repeat do not, accept the welcome drink. this is from the time share desk and once you have completed check in they draw you over to there desk and state it will take 2 minutes and they will give you a private tour of the resort. it's all a ploy, they want you to sign up for their time share speech. it was so frustrating, what we went through to just get to the resort and then all we wanted to do was change into our swimming suits and go to the beach! although the welcome drink is good, it's not worth the 30 min of the start of your vacation that you won't get back!

The view is amazing, the resort has a lot of amazing qualities and positives. however, the lack of the good food doesn't make up for it. we loved puerto vallarta and will be going back soon, but never again to this property. being an all inclusive resort the food is a big part of your stay. we were so disappointed with the food that we left the resort to eat a lot which cost us more money. they do make the drinks very strong so if your into that sort of thing, getting drunk, then this is the place for you. we just aren't into that lifestyle anymore and didn't see the opportunity cost in the stiff drinks. oh, also the location is good because the bus stops right in front of the resort.

if you have other comparable options i would definitely look into something else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsking2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    924
    292
    106
    76
See reviews for
887
1,226
54
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just spent 7 days at this resort and we absolutely loved it ! The room was very clean and modern . The service from all the staff was so exceptional it was hard to say goodbye .There was many activities on the beach boogie boarding and kayaking . You could also pay a little Extra for parasailing and jet skis .We loved it here and will defiantly be returning !!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

It's a wonderful smaller resort for those looking to enjoy kicking back on the beach and the pools.
Everything is close - no long walks to any part of the facility. It seems designed for children and adults looking for a quieter, friendly experience. Staff are very helpful - kudos to Jorge at the Activity Centre, Carlos at the Lobby Bar, Daniel and the others at the Beach Bar. The food was very good, and the service was superior. There were lots of daytime opportunities to participate in a wide range of activities. The best of the evening entertainment was the Las Vegas show which is full of high energy and fun - for both the audience and the entertainers. Our room was very comfortable and our housekeeper, Carmen, kept the room in great condition.
We had an opportunity to meet with Jesus Aguirre, the General Manager, and Laura Nunez, the Rooms Division Manager. Both individuals care deeply about the Resort - about their staff and about their guests. We had a wonderful time and we will return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkm1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosthern, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We returned yesterday from a seven day stay at the Occidental Grand. We travel every year to an all inclusive resort and I have never felt compelled to write a review before. I will start with the dislikes since this is why I felt it necessary to share our opinion. We are not negative people in anyway and maybe this is why we were targeted so hard.

Dislikes: Time share!! They really need to not let this atmosphere rule what could be a pleasant resort. We were dropped of at the door, checked in and actually handed over to the first person who held us up for twenty minutes before I caught on that it was a sales pitch. We finally got up and left with the bellboy. The same person approached my husband the next day. We were approached at least 2-3 times every day to attend 90 minute presentations, even while we were getting our towels outside. It got the point we trusted talking to no one. We have stayed at Riu's and Palladiums and have always left completely happy and relaxed. Staff go out of the way to make sure you are happy. We could approach anyone with a question and be helped with a smile and not a sales pitch. One employee at the Occidental even begged my husband to go to a presentation so he could get 75 dollars!!
In our first room we had some issues, but they moved us the next day and that room was fine.
Entertainment needs some work.

Likes:
The beach was amazing! The weather was beautiful!
The pools were nice and there was plenty of room for both children and adults.
The food was adequate. The omelette stations were fantastic with the sweetest young ladies making your breakfast to perfection!
Juan, one of our waiters was a very pleasant and professional gentleman who always went out of his way to make sure his guests were well cared for. Carlos, the bartender in the lounge always had a big smile and a warm greeting!
The resort and the rooms were kept very clean.

We were still determined to have a good vacation and we did. We just did not know we would have to say no so many time a day to the sales pitches. For this reason alone we do not recommend this resort.



Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Overall we had a good time. Our room was beautiful and comfortable except for the odor from the bathroom sink and poor functioning a/c. The food was plentiful and good, especially the Italian. Most of the staff were extremely friendly especially Carlos at the lobby bar. It's a nice place for older people who just want to go there to relax. Nightly shows were disorganized and needs more creativity and also there was nothing to do after that, sooooo boring. We would return to that area but a different hotel. It was however worth the price we paid and met some wonderful people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I spent a very relaxing 10 days here, celebrating our anniversary and gearing down after a busy year with almost no time off. We are in our mid-fifties and do not look for a lot of organized activities or night club options. We like to lie by a pool or the ocean, reading books, playing backgammon and having a few drinks, occasionally wandering into the water to cool off.

This is a nice, compact resort, with a great beach and well-maintained grounds and facilities. It has been extensively renovated in the recent past, so everything is clean and in good repair. If you search Google Maps for the resort and zoom in on satellite view, you will not see a new addition - an adult pool that is located just south of the main pool. This is a fantastic feature of the resort and a great place for those of us who do not want to listen to the sometimes over-exuberant happiness of children - or the inevitable melt-downs!

The staff in the hotel are very nice. We should highlight specifically the concierge, Idaly, who helped us on several occasions. We also need to acknowledge Esmeralda, the assistant manager who responded promptly to our advance email and ensured we got a nice room, with gifts!

There were two downsides to our experience, although neither of them spoiled our vacation. The inevitable sales people trying to get you to buy a "First Club" membership nabbed us when we arrived, tired and hot from our long flight. We are experienced Mexico travelers and it took us at least 15 minutes to extricate ourselves politely from the clutches of the lady who cornered us.

The other downside was the presence of manta(?) rays in the shallow waters. Several people got stung by these - a very painful experience by all accounts. This meant that after our first foray into the sea (when we were oblivious to the risk) was also our last.

This is a comfortable resort, great value for money and ideal for people on a budget. The buffet had very good quality food and a wide variety for most tastes. The a la carte restaurants are both very good - Italian and Mexican. If you like "special coffees", make sure you ask for one at the end of your meal in either restaurant. The staff put on a real show! You can make advance bookings for the a la carte restaurants by email. You just have to confirm the reservations with the concierge after you arrive.

We would definitely go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Send an email to the hotel in advance if you have any special requests. We asked for a room with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_M_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Hotel has been remodeled. clean . food was good and also the drinks. Staff was friendly and helpfull, specially our waiter Erik. the beach was kept clean and was not rocky. Hotel was better than expected. we planned a two week vacation, one week in Samba hotel but after one night we moved back to Occidental, Sabmba was horerible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
5.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,227 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
2.9 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,401 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Barcelo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing