We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“asthmatic air condioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

During our 7 days we spent time in 3 different rooms, all of them had the same problem.
The air con controls appeared to have been disabled and the air flow set at a very slow rate and at a temp which was only slightly better than out doors.
The control were similar to many hotels fan speed, no change in any position, off/heat/cool again no change.
When the mech. came to view the problem he made no attempt to adjust the controls just stood in front of the vent where a slight air flow could be detected and announced the system to be OK.
I assume this is the managements idea to reduce energy cost!!

It still is a great location and the front line staff are great.
The management should spend more time running it as a hotel and less as a timeshare scam (or whatever is the current PC description)

Room Tip: North is closer to the entertainment area, but that does end at 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUAN R, Channel Manager at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Iain M

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your experience at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta.We are very sorry to hear that your stay fell short of your expectations.Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lack of service that you encountered during your stay with us. We shared your experience with our general management, we can assure you that one of the main goals of our respective teams in all departments is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,128 - 2,134 of 3,585 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was a nice smaller resort right on the beach. Easy access to everything. Long clean beach perfect for long walks. They had 3 pools, main pool, kids pool and Adult pool (which was great). Down side, there was no swim up bar. Rooms were nicely decorated, and very clean with nice showers. Missed a balcony, but I was aware of this when I booked the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food at the buffet was okay. Mexican was great for lunch, right on the beach. Italian had good food. All in all, I would go back.

The strong points: Beaches were clean, and perfect for long walks. Hotel was clean, nice smaller resort, so easy to get around. Adult Pool was a big plus!
The weak points: No balcony, and extra charge for internet

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongToedMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is a mixture of really good and really bad.

The really good:
- great service at the buffet
- excellent food at the buffet
- most staff members are quite friendly (reception / front desk excepted ... in some cases)
- nice property

The bad:
- plates at the buffet (and a la cartes) did not seem quite clean
- half-consumed beverages in the mini-bar fridge
- lots of noisy children at the hotel (we were woken up at 7 am almost every morning)
- some front desk people.

Here is the story of why we will not go back:

When we arrived, we were put into a room that we did not like. We were told that, if we did not like it, we could move the next day. We did not like it because it was a smoking room, there were screaming children across the hall and it overlooked the staff area and petroleum tanks (or something of that nature). Also, the mini-bar had partially consumed beverages in it. However, we did not mind staying for one night.

The next day, we spoke to someone at check-in. They told us to come back at 3 pm. We did. At 3 pm, we were told that the hotel was still quite full and that we should return the next day.

We went back the next day and one other room was offered to us. It was not quite clean. (There was yellowing water on the shower floor). We went back to reception to discuss this and the person we were speaking was with incredibly rude. He said that the hotel did have a lot of rooms, but that we could only choose between the one that we were in and the other one that had been offered to us. Then, he answered the phone and began a lengthy telephone call. I stood there at reception waiting for 5 - 10 minutes while he talked on the phone and then just left. We stayed in the room that we were given, but were not happy about it. The room sometimes smelled of cigarette smoke (likely because it was in a smoking area of the hotel - though we are non-smokers) and sometimes smelled of sewage (no idea why). We were woken up every morning by screaming kids. I felt that the hotel let us down by telling us that we could move to a quiet non-smoking room, making us go back to reception again and again only to get told again and again that we should come back later and, finally, not following through on their promise. I felt humiliated waiting at front desk while Miguel (I think that was his name) took a call and then spoke for an extended period as if I was not there.

For that reason, I would not likely return to this hotel, and will not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask to be in an area where there are fewer families with young children and cross your fingers! Once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just returned home from a wonderful week at the Grand Occidental in Nuevo Vallarta. We had not been since the remodel and it looks great!
The lobby looked great and the new lounge is so spectacular! Carlos Flores in the new lounge is great, and so pleasant. He remembered us and gave us a big hug! He makes wonderful drinks and what a great place to relax.
Juan in the restaurant is great too! All the waiters work so hard! Be sure to tip...it goes a long way!
Everyone was so nice...Carlos and Rogelio at the bell hop desk were amazing getting us taxi's and making recommendations. Always pleasant and polite!
Watch out for the people trying to sell hotel promotions for another visit....VERY MUCH A PEST!
Just say NO!
Overall great!!!!! Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123Crystal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice location not far from the airport. When we arrived we notified the bag boy that we had a Royal Club reservation and he immediately tagged our bags and sent us upstairs to the 7th floor for a private check-in. This got us past the regular check-in line-up which was quite long. Process took only 5 minutes which was very nice. Room wasn't ready as we arrived early, so she pointed out the buffet and we endulged. As is quite often the case in an all inclusive resort, the buffet food was quite good, but more often than not the food was only warmish, and rarely hot, but very edible. The grounds were immaculate, the building very clean, and the staff very friendly and approachable. I was a little disappointed in the room as it was smallish for an upgrade, and no balconies anywhere to be seen. There was no where to hang wet clothes!! We had to use our private section's cabana as a clothes line for drying.
The Mexican and Italian restaurants were exceptional. Great food and service each time we ate there. As Royal Club upgrades, you also have a private restaurant on the top floor with exceptional views of the Bay of Banderas. Better quality alcohol and menu awaits you here, but food not always hot and service a little slow at times, but I hate to complain, so think of this as constructive criticism.
Beach is amazing, and water was the warmest we've ever had here, and we've been to PV many times. A few people got stung by sting rays when they stepped on them, and one day we weren't allowed in the water til the threat subsided. We could see them swimming between us.
People complain about the vendors, but hey, they have to make a living too, so you whiners out there, relax. A simple "no gracias" and off they go. Site is very secure with lots of security on site and they are very approachable too. Overall, you really can't go wrong at this resort. Royal Clubbers get free internet on the 7th floor, otherwise you have to pay for Wifi.
Other people have complained about the vacation club and timeshare pressure put on you, but we never had anyone approach us even once about this, so don't worry about what all the whiners have to say.

Room Tip: A couple tips....if you can afford an upgrade to Royal Club, do it. Lots of extras that are very ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We just came back from vacation at this hotel.
I think this was one of the best vacations of my life.
The hotel is good, the food it is so taste, a lot of varieties of salads; nobody got sick, how I read from other reviews.
The room was very clean, all the towel and linens white, very impressed.
The beach is very nice, very wide and clean. The water si warm and big waves, kids had so much fun..
Great entertainment team: Pat, Johnny, Chocolate. Mauricio, Vincente, great shows, volley ball, aqua exercise- thank you for the fun that I had (from Miss Occidental). This people work hard and they try to entertain people even at 45 grades Celsius.
The best waiter Francisco, excellent guy, he speaks English, very helpful; he has time to talk to everyone, the service EXCELENTE!!!!.
The best receptionist-Francisco. He always smile, even if he is busy he try to help other people waiting on the line.
The staff at this hotel is the best, I was in other hotels 5 stars, but I didn’t find so warm people like here. Thank you everyone for making me and my family happy; we had a great time.
I am planning to have my 25 wedding anniversary at this resort.
Thank you and all the best to everyone at Occidental Grand Hotel!
Anca (miss Occidental)

Room Tip: The rooms on the wings, far away from elevators are the good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AncaVancouver2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The resort was great. Everything about it was amazing.

My only downside to the resort is that the hallways are tiled and enclosed. This can cause a lot of echoing in the hallways and subsequently you can hear more while in your room compared to hotels I have stayed at that have rooms that open to a courtyard like hallway. Overall I would recommend this resort. We had a great stay!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank SRIndy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.6 mi away
Villa Del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.6 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#15 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $172 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing