We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are so looking forward to our upcoming stay October 26th for 9 nights to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. We have had communications with Jesus Aguirre (General Manager) to confirm our reservation and details. Jesus provided outstanding customer service and follow up, and has instilled great confidence that this will be a fabulous anniversary vacation. We have visited this area before, the OGNV has an ideal location on one of the best beaches Riviera Nayarit has to offer. The entire property has been renovated about 1 year ago with a modern and upscale feel, providing one of the finest accommodations in the region. We are extremely excited to experience the Royal Club with it's private beach area, restaurant, lounge, and luxury suites on upper floors....this should be a "Grand" experience. The resorts location is also very conveniently located across the street from a casino & mall, as well as a short commute to Bucerais and Puerto Vallarta. We look forward to using the OGNV bicycles for exercise and riding to Bucerais for short day trips. We are frequent bloggers, tripadvisor members, as well as consulting within the travel industry. We plan to post reviews and pictures during and after our stay...so stay tuned!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MS2INV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,003 - 2,009 of 3,393 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Check in was smooth the room wasn't ready but that was ok went to the pool for some sun and beer!
The room was very nice updated, cable has only a couple english channels but your in Mexico. The main pool was crowded with families so the adult pool was great for us to relax at!
The food at the buffet was so so, so we started going to McDonalds for breakfast. We like the burger fries and the chicken nuggets at the Olas resturant by the pool. Dinner was like breakfast but we found things we liked. We did go out for dinner a lot at the mall across the street on the second floor is a good Mexician restuarant. Also at the mall is free WiFi.
All the people were very nice took very good care of us. Like to give a shout out to Carlos, Tony, Gus, Sandra and Roger who took care of our bags. Thanks you made our trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ttolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from PV last week, had a blast. Travelled as a family with a 3 and 8 y/o. I have stayed at 2 other all-inclusive resorts before in Los Cabos and Cancun and I would like to state that the food quality was the best here but the food options are more limited. It only has 2 restaurants, and they limit reservations for families with children to either 6 PM or 9 PM. That was probably one of the few things that irked me. 6 PM is too early for dinner especially since even the West Coast of America is 2 hours behind, plus who wants to get out of the pool or beach early to dress up for dinner when on vacation and by 9 PM its seemed a little too late for dinner. The second most annoying thing is that they did require long pants and closed toe shoes to eat at the restaurants, it would be too bad to do that except for the 90+ F temperature with almost 100% humidity.
Other than the above, it is well run, has excellent food and premium drinks. The staff is friendly and efficient.
My wife did get suckered into a timeshare presentation (she said the lady who signed her up was very nice). We were then handed over to a obese, arrogant and obnoxious american BS artist, who made a big show of tearing up the presentation papersheets once we declined. I am not sure why the hotel chain places faith in such an obnoxious individual who is clearly on a power trip when they have respectful, personable and perfectly competent Mexican subordinates who can do a better job at selling their timeshares. The era of fat, arrogant gringos who think that everyone else is beneath them because of the color of their skin is long over, apparently Fat B****** (reference to a character from the Austin Powers movie) has not discovered that yet.
Overall, I give the hotel 4 stars because of the limited eating options, odd rules about the restaurant times and dress code. Food though is excellent. Beach is swimmable but the water is muddy (maybe from the rains), they have kayaks for free use, have a pool that is on the smaller side but is clean.

Room Tip: Get the 1st floor (ground floor to the europeans) rooms, the even number ones face the pool. These a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cali_dream75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came as a member of the occidental timeshare, but a bit disappointed with the hotel. We feel no different between a member and a guest, didn't feel like at a resort at all. The room is small.
The check in process is a joke. You spent almost a whole day to get there, started at 4 am, get there at 4 pm, and they made you wait again, there was only one and ya..only one people can check. Disappointed that there is no internet service. You have to pay.
Another thing is there were too many locals come by busses all the time. Noise day and night sound the pool, in front of your room and every where. Don't feel like at the resort at all. Is lot of crowd at the buffet, around the pool downstairs, good thing that now they have adult pool although once in a while you 'll find kids there too.
They only have 2 restaurants, Mexican and Italian, the food is okay, but nothing special. You have too make a reservation, because they only open every other night, if they messed up your dinner reservations like Raul did with one of our reservation that you waited 3 days ago, that's a mess, they made you dressed up for nothing, but good thing Edgar, the captain from the buffet, helped us by switched the time from 8 pm to 9 pm, he really put his efforts to solved it. Employee like Edgard deserve a recognition.
Food at the buffet seems to be the same every day, need more varieties. But the server here are all excellence, expecially Edgard, Francisco, etc.
One thing I don't understand, people from time share still wanting and looking for us to come to a meeting, "upgrade meeting", when they suppose to appreciate the membership we bought and time spent when we attend the 6 hrs presentation last time, instead they still want you to upgrade this and that, come on...., quite annoying.
Overall is okay, lots of nice people, and the hotel is by the beach.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Hardolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Our waiters were fantastic. The service was great. The food was awesome. I didn't like how pushy the vendors on the beach were it was downright annoying after awhile. If you plan on parasailing don't go on your first day, their prices are directly proportional to the time you have left. I had them down to 40 dollars the first day we arrived. The last day they were willing to let me go for 20.

Cab rates for the most part are set which is nice, the odd cabbie will get you lost even though he says he knows where he's going. Don't pay his full price.

Had a good time overall.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a much smaller resort that we are used to. There is one adult pool and one family/kiddy pool that are both nice. It’s very close to the beach. At the buffet, the food was good, but I personally didn’t find it spectacular. I wish that there were more options of restaurants to eat at. We ended up getting a room upstairs in the "Royal Suites" after a few days and the food upstairs was amazing! It was like night and day compared to the buffet downstairs. It was gourmet food, absolutely delicious. When we stayed at the resort it was very quiet so we had the Royal Suite restaurant all to ourselves. We had our server Daniel who was just a pleasure to be around. The staff at this resort were all super friendly. We travelled with two one year olds and everyone knew them by name and would always come to us to say hi or asked us if we needed anything special for the kids.

There really wasn’t much for entertainment at night, but going down to the bar.

One thing that I didnt like was getting off the elevators and being harassed by the "Occidental/time share sellers". I dont want to spend any of my vacation time listing to a selling speal. If Im going to invest in vacations/time shares, Im personally going to do my research at home anyway. So that for me was annoying, but you get that at every resort.

Overall, I think that I have been use to much larger resorts, but this was nice. Staff was super!!! My only recommendation to the hotel would be to have some sort of pizzeria or food available for late night snackers.

Room Tip: Note: the is not many balconys at this resort, so request ahead. If you get a chance to book in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine NM N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been traveling to Mexico all-inclusive resorts for over 10 years with all of them being on the Rivera Maya side. This was our first time on the Pacific side of Mexico. The area is more relaxed then Rivera Maya with many locals come to the area for vacations. When the locals arrive for their long weekend getaway, the service declines very much in the resort. We saw locals cutting their toenails in the pool and the resort not enforcing little children wear swim diapers which there was an event of poop in the large pool. We felt comfortable riding bikes around the area to see some sites. Across the street from the resort is a Starbucks where you can get American coffee and free internet which the resort does not have.

The Pacific ocean in this area does not have the typical clear ocean blue we were used on the Rivera Maya side. The sand is dark brown/gray which is grainy as we typically like the white powdery beaches on the Caribbean side. The waves are large enough to surf but not good for snorkeling as the water was dark.

The resort lobby is beautiful with ocean views and breezes. Many travelers on trip advisor comment on the time share representatives in the lobby. This is very true and annoying as they sit in front of the only elevator bothering you daily. They all have Occidental Grand name tags so do not get caught by them. We found the front desk is the only safe place to go when questions needed to be answered.

The room was average and was nothing more then a hotel room with no balcony. The views were beautiful of the Pacific ocean. The air conditioner was a bit weak and the rooms have no ceiling fans which seemed unusual for Mexico.

There are only 2 restaurants which are excellent but you are limited to eat there only a few nights. In Rivera Maya we are used to eating at ala carte nightly. The evening buffet variety did not change as it appeared we were offered the same selections each night. So if you are going to Occidental for the food there are better places.

There is only 2 pools with one of them an adult pool. When the locals come for their vacations, there is no place to sit at the large pool. The temperature in the adult pool is similar to your bathtub and is not refreshing. Unlike Rivera Maya, you have to wait in line at the 1 bar to get a drink. There is no swim up bar which we are accustom to. Again when the locals come, the Occidental staff will wait on the locals first therefore you will wait a long time to be waited on as there is typically only 2 bar staff.

We did see one incident with the security staff which was concerning. On our last evening we heard a lot of activity at the pool bar around 9pm. There was a group of young ladies dancing on the bar with many on lookers with one of them being a security guard. At the end of the dance the young ladies walked up to the security guard, pulled out some cash and handed it over to the guard where he in return gave them a joint. The girls lit it up as the guard turned around and walked away. We were very surprised to see this and at that time felt uncomfortable to say anything as the guards have master keys to rooms. We then went to the lobby bar and discussed this with the bar staff who was not surprised by this event. We did not feel comfortable going to the management about this concern during our stay so we sent them an email about our observations upon our return and have not heard back from them which begs many questions.

We will not be returning to this resort nor would I recommend a family going to this resort especially with teens. We will be returning to the Rivera Maya resorts and would recommend many others to do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMedia_Ctor, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Dawn G,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Our priority is the satisfaction of our guests, which we strive day to day to achieve it. Please accept our deepest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We shared your experience with our management, please rest assure the necessary measures will be taken.

Once again we regret your stay was not pleasant and we truly hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
3.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $172 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing