We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were a pleasure to be around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a much smaller resort that we are used to. There is one adult pool and one family/kiddy pool that are both nice. It’s very close to the beach. At the buffet, the food was good, but I personally didn’t find it spectacular. I wish that there were more options of restaurants to eat at. We ended up getting a room upstairs in the "Royal Suites" after a few days and the food upstairs was amazing! It was like night and day compared to the buffet downstairs. It was gourmet food, absolutely delicious. When we stayed at the resort it was very quiet so we had the Royal Suite restaurant all to ourselves. We had our server Daniel who was just a pleasure to be around. The staff at this resort were all super friendly. We travelled with two one year olds and everyone knew them by name and would always come to us to say hi or asked us if we needed anything special for the kids.

There really wasn’t much for entertainment at night, but going down to the bar.

One thing that I didnt like was getting off the elevators and being harassed by the "Occidental/time share sellers". I dont want to spend any of my vacation time listing to a selling speal. If Im going to invest in vacations/time shares, Im personally going to do my research at home anyway. So that for me was annoying, but you get that at every resort.

Overall, I think that I have been use to much larger resorts, but this was nice. Staff was super!!! My only recommendation to the hotel would be to have some sort of pizzeria or food available for late night snackers.

Room Tip: Note: the is not many balconys at this resort, so request ahead. If you get a chance to book in the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine NM N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,197)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 3,197 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been traveling to Mexico all-inclusive resorts for over 10 years with all of them being on the Rivera Maya side. This was our first time on the Pacific side of Mexico. The area is more relaxed then Rivera Maya with many locals come to the area for vacations. When the locals arrive for their long weekend getaway, the service declines very much in the resort. We saw locals cutting their toenails in the pool and the resort not enforcing little children wear swim diapers which there was an event of poop in the large pool. We felt comfortable riding bikes around the area to see some sites. Across the street from the resort is a Starbucks where you can get American coffee and free internet which the resort does not have.

The Pacific ocean in this area does not have the typical clear ocean blue we were used on the Rivera Maya side. The sand is dark brown/gray which is grainy as we typically like the white powdery beaches on the Caribbean side. The waves are large enough to surf but not good for snorkeling as the water was dark.

The resort lobby is beautiful with ocean views and breezes. Many travelers on trip advisor comment on the time share representatives in the lobby. This is very true and annoying as they sit in front of the only elevator bothering you daily. They all have Occidental Grand name tags so do not get caught by them. We found the front desk is the only safe place to go when questions needed to be answered.

The room was average and was nothing more then a hotel room with no balcony. The views were beautiful of the Pacific ocean. The air conditioner was a bit weak and the rooms have no ceiling fans which seemed unusual for Mexico.

There are only 2 restaurants which are excellent but you are limited to eat there only a few nights. In Rivera Maya we are used to eating at ala carte nightly. The evening buffet variety did not change as it appeared we were offered the same selections each night. So if you are going to Occidental for the food there are better places.

There is only 2 pools with one of them an adult pool. When the locals come for their vacations, there is no place to sit at the large pool. The temperature in the adult pool is similar to your bathtub and is not refreshing. Unlike Rivera Maya, you have to wait in line at the 1 bar to get a drink. There is no swim up bar which we are accustom to. Again when the locals come, the Occidental staff will wait on the locals first therefore you will wait a long time to be waited on as there is typically only 2 bar staff.

We did see one incident with the security staff which was concerning. On our last evening we heard a lot of activity at the pool bar around 9pm. There was a group of young ladies dancing on the bar with many on lookers with one of them being a security guard. At the end of the dance the young ladies walked up to the security guard, pulled out some cash and handed it over to the guard where he in return gave them a joint. The girls lit it up as the guard turned around and walked away. We were very surprised to see this and at that time felt uncomfortable to say anything as the guards have master keys to rooms. We then went to the lobby bar and discussed this with the bar staff who was not surprised by this event. We did not feel comfortable going to the management about this concern during our stay so we sent them an email about our observations upon our return and have not heard back from them which begs many questions.

We will not be returning to this resort nor would I recommend a family going to this resort especially with teens. We will be returning to the Rivera Maya resorts and would recommend many others to do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMedia_Ctor, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Dawn G,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Our priority is the satisfaction of our guests, which we strive day to day to achieve it. Please accept our deepest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We shared your experience with our management, please rest assure the necessary measures will be taken.

Once again we regret your stay was not pleasant and we truly hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ok. I got a pretty good price booking through Groupon. I have been to all-inclusives before. First impression: pretty terrible. 1. I was accosted by a "vacation club" representative. I feel tricked into talking to him, as I normally avoid any type of time share pitches. We were waiting for our room (it wasn't ready), and the rep said while we were waiting he could talk to us about the amentities available at the resort. He was fairly pushy, it was hard to disengage from him, and he tried to guilt us into attending the presentation so he could get paid.
2. Our mini-bar was stocked with already opened/obviously half-drank bottled water. I tried to call several numbers from the room phone, but could reach no one. So I walked down to the lobby to complain. No one was particularly concerned that this happened, and the only resolution was to send more water up to the room. Here's the disgusting part. I ACCIDENTALLY DRANK ONE OF THE USED WATERS. ugggggg
On our first night there, the resort was so dead they didn't open the buffet at all.

Beyond those poor initial impressions, it was actually a pretty ok vacation. Average in terms of food. The rooms are nicely decorated (no balcony), though sound really travels in the hallways and the noise kept me up at night (and I'm a heavy sleeper!) Most staff was friendly, and very encouraging in my attempts to speak Spanish, though everyone speaks fluent English. They could improve things by maybe having pool side waiters/waitresses. There was literally no one coming around to offer drinks or snacks. At another resort in PV, we were regularly served poolside, and tipped our servers accordingly.

I would not return to this resort. It was cheap, but there are other comparably priced resorts that are better. Also, it is very hot and humid in September. The air conditioning could barely keep the room cool enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stewie_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is great if you're into all inclusives. The lobby is grand, the service is very good and the rooms feel modern.

Upon arrival you're greeted with a jasmine water drink. The staff is very helpful. I know that some of our group forgot to print their reservation which was required of them and the staff helped them by providing a computer and a printer.
The rooms felt very modern and were comfortable.
The food was just okay. We ate in the cafeteria buffet most days and didn't get a chance to go to any of the sit down restaurants because we were late in making reservations every time. Anyway, the service was good in the buffet as the waiters would bring you whatever you wanted to drink and continue to do so throughout your meal.
The snack bar by the beach was also very convenient if you wanted something in between meals. To be honest, they probably had better food than the buffet.
The beach front was very nice! Sure you got hounded by workers trying to sell you stuff but hey, it's Mexico. If you tell them nicely you don't want anything, they are sure to leave you alone.
The water was great to swim in as well.
We didn't even go in the pools because the ocean was so nice.

Room Tip: The hotel provides taxis, use them! There is a mall across the street with free wifi. Very expensi...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lets started of the positive : the room was phenomenal. By look or by design, we had a bed room, dining room, leaving room and 2 bathrooms with a balcony over looking the Pacific Ocean. Similar to other comments, our experience at the ''Los olivos'' restaurant was great waited upon by Arnulfo. Our dinner was always what we look forward to everyday. We've been there 4 days on 5 because it was very quiet. The rest : we honestly believe that Internet access should be readily available. We found it very irksome to have to paid for it in a all included hotel. The pools although tentatively clean or disapointed in as much as they were small. They were no shaded area and just a poor design. The checking process was extremely weird (as first club member) we were driving to a club house in the rain received very well later to be told that we were in law to be back. The food was horrible, sad is the worst word to comes in my mind when thinking in the Mexican thing restaurant, bastardized Mexican fair with sub par ingredients. The buffet was disgusting. We will never go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julieandthomas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMedia_Ctor, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Julieandthomas26,

Thank you for sending us your comments. We are glad to read you enjoyed our facilities. Otherwise we regret the lack of service and quality you encountered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor impression you had of the Mexican Restaurant. We shared your experience with our Food & Beverage Manager. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We hope to have the opportunity to demonstrate our high standards for quality during your next visit.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I began our two week honeymoon, starting with this resort. We actually won this week free at the Occidental with a bridal show.

The first three days we were a little unsure of the resort. It was very quiet, not everything for eating was opened because there was not enough guests etc... (which we expected as it's slow season). The locals selling things on the beach do walk through all the beach chairs trying to sell you things as their is no restriction in this area. There is a large area roped off on the beach unless you are a royal club member and there is no room service unless you are a royal club member.

We are very down to earth people and don't complain much about anything, but don't go here if you are all about the food. The mexican is okay, the italian restaurant is very good however the buffet was not so good. There also seems to be some weird gaps throughout the day that there is nothing open for food.

It was Mexican independance day weekend when we were getting ready to leave, so the resort turned into about %90 locals and got a little too wild for our liking however it was neat to see some of their celebrations.

Not a resort we would just leave our bag at our beach chairs at... however there is alot of security walking around to make sure everything is okay...

Good beach for body surfing though :)

Some very special people work at this resort:
Carlos- the bartender in the main lounge, he is definitely a reason to return. He was very very very friendly.
Inulfo- Waiter at the italian restaurant, also amazing and made our dinner fabulous, I think out of the six nights we were there, we went to him for italian three of those nights.
Eduardo- He is a daytime bartender down by the beach. Every time I finally got to the front of the line, he already had my drink made for me. They don't walk around the beach or pool taking drink orders, but he even brought me and my wife a drink down to the beach- we didn't even ask him to!

I think if there was a great deal on this resort and we had some fun people to go with, we would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tychristiaens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived on a Thursday and the place was almost deserted! We had reserved a room with 2 king size beds. They tried to give us a room with one bed. They finally got us what we asked for...but we had to wait awhile "while they made sure the room was ready". While waiting in the lobby we approached by an employee who said he had our "packet" ready and would go over it with us.
We fell for this one. Actually a time share pressure. He actually asked my daughter (in her 30's) what her age was. She became upset and told him he was rude in asking that. He said he asked because their demographics were for divorced females over 35. Possible "couger town: haha
When we got to our room, the bell boy was showing us the room and noticed no drinks in the mini fridge. He said he would take care of it.
We went to check out the pool bar and came back to find the fridge stalked. But looking closely we noticed out of the 4 water bottles, three had broken seals on the lids. You could see the water level on one was about an inch lower than the others. Daughter went to front desk to complain, and they said it must have been a misunderstanding. WTF? Said they sometimes "refill the bottles in the room",,,ewww. Be sure to check your water bottles before drinking! We never had a problem with this after that.
First night (Thursday) the buffett was closed and had to eat at Mexican restaurant. Service was great and food was good. Only one other couple in the restaurant. This was the only night the buffett was closed. We thought the buffett was quite good and the service was great.
My daughter did notice an old contact lens stuck to the wall in the bathroom. Didn't have any conditioner in shower. Did have shampoos and a small bar soap.
After the first day we had no other problems and and had a great vacation and would probably go back maybe in Febuary. Sept was extremely hot and humid!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
5.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,772 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,181 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,888 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $150 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Barcelo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing