We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach....no balconies!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice beach....no balconies!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at the Occidental Grand Feb 22-Mar 8th. It was a last minute second choice for our group of six so we weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. Nice property in a great location. The beach was perfect for an afternoon walk. Loved that the pool was heated as so few in Mexico are. The staff was very helpful and the bartenders were a lot of fun. Many of the waiters went out of their way to spoil us cater to our love of churros etc! The food was consistently good but somewhat salty. The Italian Al a Carte was a nice change from the outdoor dining as the evenings tended to be quite chilly and windy. The rooms were small but nice and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Loved the smaller size of the hotel. It was easy to get to and from your room, ample amount of beach/pool chairs and no lineups for anything. We had no problem booking the Al a carte restaurants for six for dinner. The lamb was very good (I had it twice!)

The downside was the time share sales people swooping down on you in the lobby. You have to be very clear to let them know to leave you alone, which unfortunately meant being rude. The lack of a balcony was a huge detractor. Big mistake to build without them. It seemed like a big part of the vacation was missing because there was no outdoor space to enjoy privately. The construction noise was all day everyday of the vacation but that is understandable. It was interesting to watch the progress. The new area will be very nice. The restocking of the fridges was pretty hit and miss. We had to call for water and finally went down to the front desk and convinced the concierge to get us some. He told us it wasn't the hotel's job to refill the fridges?? If not you then who is responsible Senor? We might come back to this hotel in future if we could get a room with a balcony/patio.

I recommend a local restaurant called Titi's. It's a 70 peso cab ride in a local working class neighbourhood aka "nothing fancy". The garlic shrimp were divine and the Coronas ice cold! I will definitely return there on my next trip to PV.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHanna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    925
    292
    106
    76
See reviews for
892
1,226
54
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PHX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a wonderful trip. As always the staff were awesome, the food was excellent and the property is looking great! We can't wait to come back for our 12th time and enjoy the new adults only pool :).
Special thanks to Jesus, Gabby and Priscilla; you guys are the best!

We have been at this hotel with a group of 20+, family of 4 and just my wife and I. We have enjoyed it every time!!!

The beach has a perfect slop in front of the hotel, great for kids and boogie boarding..

My wife is a vegetarian and very picky with food.. Never an issue and several choices for her to enjoy her meals. If provided proper notice they can accommodate many special food needs.

The bar on the beach is perfect and is one of a kind. You won't find a bar on the beach like this on any other property.

Room Tip: The Royal club is worth the extra fee, not to mention the best rooms but it will allow great seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were at the Occidental from Mar 1st to 8th, 2013. While this hotel was very nice, newly renovated and the beach was lovely, we were somewhat disappointed with some aspects of it. There are very few rooms with balconies. You may not think that this is much of an issue, I didn't either before I left, but, while there, it was definitely an issue. I realized that part of the joy of a vacation is being able to step outside, smell the fresh air and hear the sound of the ocean whenever I was in the room and this was sorely missed! Every other hotel on the beach had balconies for every room and I feel that this was a great mistake on the part of the Occidental to not provide these.

It is also, just a hotel on a beach. We have been spoiled for the last few years in Cozumel as it is very lush there with winding pathways through trees and gardens taking you through the grounds with wildlife showing up regularly and this was a great addition to our enjoyment of the place.

Staff was very helpful and polite, food was good and plentiful. The Mexican and Italian restaurants were okay but not great. My husband did rave about the Lamb at the Italian restaurant and it was delicious but my pasta was tasteless and the shrimp and calamari appetizer was tough and a bit dry. The Royal club dining was REALLY good. Best food on site for sure.

Weather was perfect, hot with a great breeze all the time but we will not likely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony but had no luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our family has been coming to this resort since 2006. It only gets better everytime! This Resort deserves a A+ for customer service. The entire staff treats you so wonderful-from the bellboys,maids, waiter staff, bartenders,to Jesus the General manager and Laura Nunez the rooms division manager. Our family consisted of my husband and I ( age 50 group) and my parents and my Aunt. We have no complaints and cannot wait to come for our next visit. Each year I plan, I am asked by friends why I always go the same place. Every time I plan our vacation I say that I may consider trying somewhere new. At the end of our week we are all so sad to leave we just know there is no place like this Resort. These wonderful people remember you. Some of the staff has changed since the renovation which is to be expected . It was awesome seeing some of the old Allegro staff and yes they remembered us also. The renovations look beautiful, all tastfully done. We really loved the Lobby Lounge as it seems like alot of others did also. I noticed alot of people playing cards, cribbage or just relaxing. Just a thought that maybe it would be nice to open the Lounge Bar a little earlier (? 3pm ) for those that may feel the need to get out of the sun or enjoy a hand of cards and enjoy a cocktail. The beach is awesome, goes for miles. We did the Pirate Cruise this year and had a blast! Food was great, especially the specialty restaurants. We did have the privledge of dining in the Royal Club also which was delicious. If I can add one thing, show these people that you appreciate the extra mile they go for you. A dollar or two tip means alot to them and brings such a huge smile and "gracias". We could learn alot from them. Take the time to meet Jesus if you see him-wonderful man is seen walking the grounds and cares about making his guests happy and bringing them back. He and his staff make the difference. Cannot wait to return!! We miss you all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

There is not enough I can say about my stay, I am a hotel manager in Canada and likley pickier than most travllers, the resort is amazing, clean, safe, staff will blow you away. Laura, Italy and Sergio in the front office along with all the bar staff, wait staff and housekeepers. Nothing was too big or too little a request. Staff took the time to get to know their customers, by the time we left they knew I like tea in the morning and would keep the one I liked ready for me and have it on the table when I sat down. They are more than knowledgeable about activites, shopping and site seeing making sure outing was made just for their guests. Book this hotel and you will not be sorry you did. I can not wait to bring my family back again.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view, worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna-Marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

A little late to put this in,we stayed between Feb.23 to March 2 .Nothing but good things to say about the accommodation and the staff.
Special thanks to Carlos (front desk), Miguel (Lounge Bar), Raymundo (bell boy),
Alejandro(Waiter) and All Entertainment Staff. The group of you made our stay special .
The food was awesome ,never the same food everyday.The room and the hotel was very clean and well kept.
Would recommend this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Upper level 4th floor and up (even number rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our vacation at the Occidental Grand in Nuevo Vallarta was absolutely Marvelous; we (my mother, sister and I) arrived February 12 and enjoyed 10 spectacular days of sunny and hot weather. After the first night we upgraded to the Royal Club on the 7th Floor for some additional space and privacy for the three of us. The amenities and the additional perks one receives far out weigh the upgrade fee. While the resort is incredibly lovely, it is the outstanding and amazing employees that truly are worth their weight in gold. Gabriella, Sol and Jasmine at the Reception on the 7th floor were extremely helpful, beautiful, caring young women with hearts of gold. They went above and beyond in accommodating our requests and helping us out with our Mother. Your kindness was genuine and will never be forgotten. Thank You ! Gracias ! Grazie !

Julien, Daniel and Riccardo at the Royal Club Restaurant were equally exceptional. The food exquisite and service impeccable, thank you so much Julien for all the wonderful variations of delicious Marqueritas you introduced to us. The special meals were terrific and of couse delightfully scrumptious. Benji, Heriberto and Michael at the Olas Bar were wonderful and we enjoyed the conversations and of course Heriberto's Spinning Bottle Show.

To our wonderful housekeeper Carmen, Gracias for the daily Towel Creations that we looked forward to and of course your warm heart and lovely gentle smile. You are a Gem.

The size of the resort was perfect for our needs, petite and cozy with exceptional service and amenities. Great beach, beautiful, colorful flower gardens and green space. The beach party on Wednesday nights was fabulous as were the shows on the outdoor stage.

I will definately be back to the Occidental Grand and have already recommended it to all of my freinds and my travel agent too ! Heartfelt Thanks to all of the amazing people that made our stay at the Occidental Grand a memorable one. It is just over 2 weeks since we returned home but you are all still thought of with great fondness. Mucho Gracias for a Wonderful Vacation.

Anna (Anita) Tina (Conchi) from British Columbia, CANADA

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior suite which suited our needs perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
5.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
2.9 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,317 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,417 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing