We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
$806
$665
Bookit.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$226
$199
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
$245
$211
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
$461
$368
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marival Resort & Suites(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$243
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$81
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia del Sol Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$351
Elvoline
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,708)
Filter reviews
3,708 results
Traveler rating
1,888
1,197
371
146
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,888
1,197
371
146
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubfirst clubla haciendale buffetitalian restaurantmall across the streetadult poollounge barsmaller resorttime sharevacation clubthe general managerspecial thanksocean viewrecommend this resortall inclusive resortnightly entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,446 - 2,451 of 3,708 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We've been to this resort four times and have enjoyed it each and every time. The friendliness of the staff and their eagerness to please and help vacation-goers is what makes it exceptional, but the grounds, the facilities, location are also tremendous assets. It is simply gorgeous at this location. Being on the west coast, the sunsets are paintings in oranges, pinks, yellows and golds.
The resort is directly on the beach, so you have the opportunity to walk the beach as much as you like. It is quite expansive, so remember you have to go back the same distance you walked initially. Of course you will have the chance to explore from above by parasailing, and you can shop at various places along the beach. There is also a mall across the street! Nice!

Room Tip: Request an ocean view. It's more than worth it. The higher up,the less you hear from the shows on ground level. We opted for a one bedroom unit with two baths.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

There were several shortcomings with this resort, including the inability to take food from the snack bars or restaurants back to your room or to eat on the pool deck. Also there was a great deal of construction so the “Kid’s club” was limited to a tiny room off the restaurant. On the positive side, most of the staff were kind and tried to make things better. The worst part of the vacation began on Feb 6th when one person in our party came down with a horrible stomach virus. At first we thought that it might be a result of overdoing it... but within 12 hours the next fell sick (a nine year old with an Intellectual Disability). We told the front desk and also had specially called room service more than once to clean the room after children not being able to make it to a “bucket” in time. By the time we checked out 9 of the 13 travelling together had fallen ill. Within the next day or two 11 were sick and many, many others from the wedding guests. We also heard many people vomiting in our hall way who were not associated with our wedding group. The staff tried to blame this outbreak on the wedding, but we knew other guests were affected and strongly suspected the Noro virus. I asked that a Dr be called in to determine the cause and was refused. After loud complaining we were able to extend our check out time from 12 noon – 6PM to accommodate us while we waited for our flights (since people were still vomiting). Again I requested a doctor to visit and they refused (although had earlier made the offer stating that if we were seen by a Dr they would know if it came from the resort but had no way of knowing in absence of a Dr visit).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shananigan154974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Shananigan154974,
I am extremely concerned and surprised by your comments, and will contact you directly on Trip Advisor to follow up about your experience with us.
Please know that Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta follows strict procedures to ensure proper food handling and the safety of our guests. Also, we work with an outside company that performs hygiene and quality reports in which we haven’t received any anomaly. We do not allow guests to bring food to the rooms or pool area for safety and hygiene regulations.
The Front Desk staff informed me that they received the food poisoning report when you and your companions checked out of the hotel and that at any moment you asked for medical assistance before that time. Your late check-out request was honored since your WestJet flight back home was delayed and your travel agency requested it.
Please know that the welfare of our guests is our top priority and in case that you would have requested the assistance of a doctor we would have called one immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Really enjoyed our two weeks at this resort. Love the fact that it's small. You don't need a shuttle to take you to the beach from your room or villa like the big mega resorts. Didn't appreciate the attempt at time share sales as soon as you arrive but just say your not interested and they won't bother you again. Resort was clean, nice rooms, (a balcony would be nice), and the food was all very good. The Mexican and Italian a-la-cartes were very, very good. Were surprised they don't include wi-fi, but you can just sit near the Hard Rock hotel, enjoy the view and pick up their wi-fi for free. The best part was the staff. Because it's small they get to know you quickly and are always friendly, extremely polite, and happy. GREAT service everywhere. From the desk staff, to the room staff, to food and beverage. Even the security personel are very friendly and do a very good job. Eduardo, the bartender at the beach bar was especially friendly, always asking how your day was going and if everything was good. Poured great drinks too!!!!! Have already recommended this resort to others. The new adult pool complex when completed will be very nice. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Where to begin, it was around 10pm when we arrived. Since we did not have a reservation we paid full fare. There are a lot of options in that area but this one had an impressive facade, however the service was slow. When we finally had our keys a timeshare seller gave us an introduction of the hotel which we declined and was approached again every time we went down an elevator. We ask for a fridge in both rooms since we had medicine that needed to be cold, only one room had it so we had to share. Upon entering the room it was a conference center, so we had to call the reception, after waiting around 15 minutes they came with another room key....no apology was received! Then in the room there was no soap or towels, again waiting another 20 minutes and no apology was received! All this waiting and I was 8 months pregnant. My father´s room had a balcony but no soap or towels either, when calling to complain, no apology was received! Had to wait another 20 minutes My dad had slippers and a bath robe but we didnt and our room was more expensive. Called to complain and was told that it was a "loyalty guess" and asked them to give the internet complementary only then "sorry cant do." At his point the excuse was that they were at full capacity and that´s why we had to wait so much and the trouble with the rooms, but if they had no staff why take more guests?...Anyways my dad used the Hard Rock´s Wifi for free. You would imagine that after paying around USD$150 there would be Wifi included but no.
Next, the food was awful for this kind of money they should give more than sausage and potatoes, the fish available smelled not a great selection of fruit either. There are two or 3 other restaurants but they are limited times you can book ahead and the restriction is that you have to be at least 3 nights in this nightmare. Food was greasy in the common chow and even though it was an all included they charged for bottle water and had time slots for the food....yupi
The bathroom door was fit for a prision with spaces above your head and feet.
My husband was watching a soccer game and it went dark, when calling they said it must be down or a cloud. yey
My husband asked for a drink and it was terrible not even for pigs, we saw the brand of rum used and is not even good alcohol to clean toilets.
Upon leaving we had to wait another 15-20 minutes for our car, unbelievable. Will not return to this place even if it´s free.

Room Tip: Ask for one with jacuzzi or balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank prosignia300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear prosignia300,
I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lack of service that you encountered throughout your stay, as we strive to offer personalized, high-quality service to all our guests. I’ve discussed your review with our manager to see what can be done to improve in all areas. .
Regarding the Vacation Club representative you mentioned, their purpose is to assist guests and show them all that the resort has to offer. I will share your experience with the Vacation Club Manager as we never want our guests to feel uncomfortable.
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta follows strict housekeeping standards which ensure that all rooms have the amenities that we offer before welcoming guest, but clearly we fell short on this during your stay. Also, please know that we don’t typically have refrigerators available for our guests. However, I’m happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your request.
Concerning the extra cost for the Wi-Fi service, unfortunately this service is offered by an external agency and we’re unable to control the cost.
We strive to offer a variety of dining options including: L’ Buffet (which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner) where our guests find a large fruit salad bar, omelet station, carving station, dessert station, and Mexican specialties), the Snack Bar (which features light lunch options and snacks) and for dinner we have two a la carte options: Los Olivos and La Hacienda (most popular among our guests). We’re always looking to improve, so I’ve shared your review with our Executive Chef. I’m concerned by the inconvenience you encountered with the reservations for the a la carte restaurants, please know that for guests staying three nights we guarantee one dinner at the gourmet restaurants and more if available.
I also want to reassure you that all the alcohol served in the resort is certified and we constantly have inspections that verify the quality and service we offer; our cocktails are prepared with recognized brands and our staff is well trained for the preparation of beverages.
The satisfaction of our guests is always top priority. We appreciate your feedback.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

1st time to this side of Mexico,usually travel to Caribean side. We we a little aprehensive but the only real difference is the color of the water,as warm or warmer than the Caribean side and the beach at this resort is fantastic.
YES! they do try and sell you a time share on check-in,but if you tell them you are not interested that is the end if it.
Rooms were nice but a balcony would be nice.
Buffets are ok,not great, but the selection changes daily.
Service staff in the buffet is great,Thanks to Jair and Jorge!
Beach is great but could use cleaning,people seem to think it makes a good ashtray!
Overall it is a solid 4 star resort.Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rictur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews