We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was my first time to Mexico, so I didn't have much to compare with. I went with my sister for a girls get-away, and found the Occidental Grande to be perfect for us. There is some wear and tear on the hotel, as is expected with a beachfront hotel that is likely full most of the year. But the staff were amazingly friendly and very patient with our limited Spanish. They are all fluent in English, but seemed tickled that we'd at least attempt to speak their language. The food was ok in the Mexican restaraunt and the buffet. The fancier restaraunt on the top floor was empty the whole night, so we were confused about why they made such a big deal about having a reseravation. But the service was excellent and we enjoyed the yummy food while looking out over the ocean as the sunset. As an added bonus, just a short walk down the beach and you can watch baby sea turtles being released each afternoon. There are alot of vendors walking around, but they weren't pushy. We relaxed a majority of the time on the beach, but there were plenty of programs and outings offered for people who want more excitement. The programs at night were fun as well. My sister even won the "Miss Occidental" pageant one night. Fun memories!

Room Tip: The walls are thin, but we didn't have any neighbors, so it didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,153 of 3,256 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Weather was fantastic,food very good,service excellent! Entertainment so-so, time share pest's should be exterminated!The beach may not be the nicest but it's adequate. Area shopping isn't too bad either. Taxi's are too expensive but the bus system is ideal to save money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waterplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at this property for 10 days in January and had a great time. The food was very good especially the tortilla soup in the buffet restaurant. The staff went out of their way to do anything for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A group of 8 (4 couples) stayed at the resort from Dec 14 tp 19, we do that every year because my brother owns a timeshare , the hotel has 4 stars , I don’t know how they got the 4 stars the most is 3 stars hotel , Since they renovated the hotel about 3 years ago they cut a lot of amenities , no soap or shampoo in the shower we had to call almost every day requesting refill, no small toilels for your hand or face , the food is very basic, the best think is the staff very friendly try to please every guest. My brother is a royal club member he had special treatement , great food on the upper floor with a great ocean view, but he paid about $100 per person per night , for that rate I did not think is worse the price.If you want a relaxing quite vacation in a very basic hotel , then you chose the right one.

Room Tip: The upper floors are alot quiter then the lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dkhedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear dkhedr,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we value all guest feedback as it helps us to improve.
I’m happy to read that you enjoyed our friendly staff and the Royal Club restaurant. However, I’m sorry to hear that your overall stay with us did not meet your expectations. All rooms should come stocked with shampoo, soap and washcloths and all toiletries are supposed to be replaced daily. I have shared your feedback with the housekeeping team to ensure that they are meeting these standards.
I was surprised to read your feedback about the food being basic as our executive chef strives to offer a wide variety of cuisine in each of our four restaurants. I have relayed your comment to him and he is reviewing the menus.
I am so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience here. I do hope you will visit us again so that we can show you the incredible time we are accustomed to providing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently stayed for 1 week at The Occidental in Nuevo Vallarta. Our room on the 6th floor was very good. We didnt mind the fact there was no balcony, we had a great view of the courtyard, pool, and ocean. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping our room clean and keeping our fridge stocked. The buffet was quite good, lots of variety. You can get your eggs cooked however you like, or in an omelette. We had the same server the whole week at the buffet for both breakfast and lunch, his name is Erik. I cant say enough about him, outstanding. The snack bar down by the beach was also good, it has a small buffetwith pizza or you can order from a small snack menu, it has burgers, chicken burgers, and a few other hot items. The snackbar changes into the Mexican ala carte restaurant in the evening. I heard lots of good comments from other guests on the Italian ala carte on the property, we never tried it, we got our reservation days mixed up and missed our reservation. There was some renovation construction going on while we were there, but it wasnt really any bother. The beach is very big and goes for miles and miles past other hotels along the coastline. We have stayed at several all inclusives in Mexico and in some other countries and we would put this one near the top of our list. There isnt really anything negative to say about it. All of the staff throughout the property were very pleasant did a great job. It is not a 5 star hotel but I would say a strong 4 star. The one thing we did find annoying was the time share people in the lobby. I will give them credit on their persistence. After about 3 or 4 days they left us alone. Overall a great vacation, a little more sun would have been nice. We will look at going back in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank calgarygoneholideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

First of all, I have been going to Mexico for 24 yrs.at least once a year sometimes twice. We just returned Jan. 24th. and am looking to go back in May. So I have stayed at many resorts. The Royal in Cancun being top notch.Nice location, the resort is small, easy to get around.The pool and beach area were great. Chairs always available, which is a nice change from having to get up at the crack of dawn to get one. The food was pretty good for all-inclusive.As far as the rooms go, it was neat and clean. The bed was very hard and the pillow was mush. Stayed on bottom floor so we could have a patio, good view of pool and ocean. Impressed by the staff, very friendly.A special thanks to Raymundo the bell boy for help when our room flooded. Long story and my falt. My husband and I would stay there again if the price was right and we could have a bottom room with a patio.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We returned to Occidental after seven year absent trying other locations in mexico and were really so happy to see some things never change.The resort was totally redecorated and renovated the place we loved before was better than ever.We renewed some old relationships with Generald Manager Jesus Aguirre and new to us Rooms Manager Laura Nunez and the Concierge who made our holiday with our Son and his Wife(new to this resort) very special. Our rooms with the new decor better than ever,the quality of the food was great(not sure why some of the reviews complain) The only disappointment was the theater was being rebuilt we remember great shows which with the new theater will happen again.also a new pool is being built.All the staff were all willing to make sure we enjoyed ourself special thanks to the pool bar staff especially thanks to Carlos.It was like going home again and realized we missed nuevo beautiful beaches.thanks again for a great vacation we will be back again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank l-b_Baverstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
5.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,546 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#18 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,887 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#11 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $153 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing