We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
$426
$319
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$264
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$498
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
$341
$275
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
$214
$181
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$342
$114
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$115
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Virgilios(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
$672
$554
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,749)
Filter reviews
3,749 results
Traveler rating
1,910
1,212
371
147
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,910
1,212
371
147
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubfirst clubla haciendale buffetitalian restaurantmall across the streetadult poollounge barsmaller resorttime sharevacation clubthe general managerspecial thanksocean viewrecommend this resortall inclusive resortnightly entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
2,545 - 2,550 of 3,749 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went in July, which of course is hot and humid ! Rain every night, but the days were nice and sunny. Only the one pool which was a little on the small side, and very warm - but even the ocean was warm. Stayed in a ground floor room facing the tennis courts , nice to have a small patio - only the ground floor has them. Hallways were really noisy, kids running up and down them in the late evenings. Drinks were good, service in restaurants was ok - but then hotel was very busy and not enough staff. Liked the Mexican ala carte the best.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor if you like to have the option of a sliding door.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed October 20 to 27 and were very happy with our stay. Rooms were very nice and clean. Food was excellent. Our waiter, Eric, was fantastic. He made sure we had everything we needed and went out of his way to ensure one of our party got some special items she required. Other staff were friendly and helpful. Beach and pool were very nice and the waiters made sure we were always well supplied with refreshments. A great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LlyBCBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We just returned from a week at the occidental,our check in was quick and courtious.we were suprised to see our room was located on the 7th floor on the club level,with a spectacular view of the ocean.spacious, modern, with a king size bed. stocked fridge,beer, pop, and agua re stocked every second day.hot water in the shower all the time! and nice cool air conditioning.free safe in the closet.the pools were nice ,clean , and activity staff were alot of fun,always had something that most could participate in, water polo, water and beach volleyball. frisbee tosh,also nail days for the ladies sitting by the pool, thats right free nails. the pool also has a bar located close by ,with friendly staff that can make you any drink you want. there is also staff that come by the pool regularly to take drink orders,tips make it more regular.there is also a snack bar located next to the pool , with a small buffet, but also offers a small menu that you can order fresh made pub like food and very good staff. the beach is really nice,the water was warm as soup, nice sandy bottom, and nice calm surf most of the time. the main buffet was great, good food ,great staff. both the mexican and the italian were very good,more so the italian,lots of choice and very good quality.the hotel is the real deal, and the staff really make what it is. i would reccomend this hotel to anyone. and iam sure we will return to enjoy another awsome week at the occidental.

Room Tip: room 755 has a great view of the ocean, but remember no balconies?
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ride0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed there in March, 2012 for 1 wk and we wished we could have stayed longer. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms we all beautifully finished and everything looked brand new. Very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were a party of 4 and we all enjoyed the food and service. It's a small resort but it had everything we needed. The weather at that time of year was perfect....not humid and in the evening it got a little cooler. It was a very enjoyable time for us.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite and found it to be very quiet....
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruby049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We bought an all inclusive package for 4days/5nights at this resort.
First, the staff was great! They were helpful and was always on the lookout to help and assist.
We upgraded to their royal club, and we're glad we did. We got great food, great beverages and great service.
They had an "on-beach" massage which was great, just don't expect an A1plus massage therapist.
The place was nice and clean. Our room was cleaned everyday, and the bar fridge was stocked every other day.
Only down sides are the nightly entertainment can keep you awake depending on where your room is located; and the fact that bottle water wasn't available during buffet meals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews