We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
nanaimo bc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My spouse and I recently spent a week at the Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta with 8 other family members . We had a great time ! The hotel has had a recent reno/upgrade and the rooms were awesome!
Our room had a king size bed and it was very comfortable.
The food was only OK which is typical of most all inclusives. The real standout was the staff! Miguel and Elisabeth at the front desk were very courteous and efficient, Gaby at the pool was super as were Benji,Eduardo and Oscar at the bar. Eric in the buffet dinning room was also a real standout. I have been to lots of all inclusives over the years and the staff here were top notch. Thanks guys!
We did notice that some days the pool was overloaded.

Room Tip: The rooms above the ground floor dont have balconies so if you like access to the outside get a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanisleman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    821
    269
    97
    70
See reviews for
785
1,097
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went in July, which of course is hot and humid ! Rain every night, but the days were nice and sunny. Only the one pool which was a little on the small side, and very warm - but even the ocean was warm. Stayed in a ground floor room facing the tennis courts , nice to have a small patio - only the ground floor has them. Hallways were really noisy, kids running up and down them in the late evenings. Drinks were good, service in restaurants was ok - but then hotel was very busy and not enough staff. Liked the Mexican ala carte the best.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor if you like to have the option of a sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed October 20 to 27 and were very happy with our stay. Rooms were very nice and clean. Food was excellent. Our waiter, Eric, was fantastic. He made sure we had everything we needed and went out of his way to ensure one of our party got some special items she required. Other staff were friendly and helpful. Beach and pool were very nice and the waiters made sure we were always well supplied with refreshments. A great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LlyBCBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna B.c
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We just returned from a week at the occidental,our check in was quick and courtious.we were suprised to see our room was located on the 7th floor on the club level,with a spectacular view of the ocean.spacious, modern, with a king size bed. stocked fridge,beer, pop, and agua re stocked every second day.hot water in the shower all the time! and nice cool air conditioning.free safe in the closet.the pools were nice ,clean , and activity staff were alot of fun,always had something that most could participate in, water polo, water and beach volleyball. frisbee tosh,also nail days for the ladies sitting by the pool, thats right free nails. the pool also has a bar located close by ,with friendly staff that can make you any drink you want. there is also staff that come by the pool regularly to take drink orders,tips make it more regular.there is also a snack bar located next to the pool , with a small buffet, but also offers a small menu that you can order fresh made pub like food and very good staff. the beach is really nice,the water was warm as soup, nice sandy bottom, and nice calm surf most of the time. the main buffet was great, good food ,great staff. both the mexican and the italian were very good,more so the italian,lots of choice and very good quality.the hotel is the real deal, and the staff really make what it is. i would reccomend this hotel to anyone. and iam sure we will return to enjoy another awsome week at the occidental.

Room Tip: room 755 has a great view of the ocean, but remember no balconies?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ride0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed there in March, 2012 for 1 wk and we wished we could have stayed longer. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms we all beautifully finished and everything looked brand new. Very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were a party of 4 and we all enjoyed the food and service. It's a small resort but it had everything we needed. The weather at that time of year was perfect....not humid and in the evening it got a little cooler. It was a very enjoyable time for us.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite and found it to be very quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We bought an all inclusive package for 4days/5nights at this resort.
First, the staff was great! They were helpful and was always on the lookout to help and assist.
We upgraded to their royal club, and we're glad we did. We got great food, great beverages and great service.
They had an "on-beach" massage which was great, just don't expect an A1plus massage therapist.
The place was nice and clean. Our room was cleaned everyday, and the bar fridge was stocked every other day.
Only down sides are the nightly entertainment can keep you awake depending on where your room is located; and the fact that bottle water wasn't available during buffet meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I just came back from a visit at the Occidental in Nuevo Vallarta. What a wonderful, relaxing and well deserved vacation. We were greeted by our friends with balloons when we arrived from cold 27 degrees Colorado in paradise at 91 degrees. The check-in was quick and we treated with importance. Thanks Tanja and Laura.
Then off to a wonderful lunch with amazing services by Eric. There was such a variety of food, anything you can imagine, and our plates were carried from the buffet to our tables. Every day for every meal, the service was exceptional and the food great. We ate at the buffet, the snack bar, Italian and Mexican restaurant plus in the First Club. Shout out to the wonderful friendly waiters Juan, Eric, Ricardo, David and Alberto. Every morning I sat at breakfast with view to the ocean and Alberto had my coffee and shrek juice ready. What a guy!!!!!!
At night we hit the bar where Carols mixed us any drink we liked. HE went out of his way to please customers and make them happy, always with a smile.
The beach was very clean, there was always a lounge chair, the bar was close by. The rooms were clean and beautiful and well taken care of, always fresh towels, coffee and soap as needed.
My friends are going back there in March, I wish I could join them. I am already ready for another vacation at the Occidental in Nueva Vallarta. Thanks for a wonderful, relaxing vacation with amazing service.

Room Tip: I had a view to the ocean, balcony, coffee machine, hair dryer.....my room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoroH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#8 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,955 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#15 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,487 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing