We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
$426
$319
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$265
$223
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$186
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
$341
$275
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
$238
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$353
$114
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$115
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Virgilios(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
$672
$554
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,749)
Filter reviews
3,749 results
Traveler rating
1,910
1,212
371
147
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,910
1,212
371
147
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubfirst clubla haciendale buffetitalian restaurantmall across the streetadult poollounge barsmaller resorttime sharevacation clubthe general managerspecial thanksocean viewrecommend this resortall inclusive resortnightly entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
2,555 - 2,560 of 3,749 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Now this is the place to go place when you are looking for fabulous service, great views, great food and a good time.
The services is exceptional, if it weren´t for a few of the old staff that wasn´t rehired after the Occidental Grand reopening (it was closed due to remodeling). We do miss some of the former staff such as Luciano and Juan Carlos, just to name a few.
Nevertheless, we are happy to still be greeted by the friendly faces of Carlos, the ´master´ barkeeper at the new bar.
Manuel at the buffet is another staff member that make you feel welcome in this wonderful tropical setting of the Occidental.
A stay at this wonderful resort is something you will treasure until you inevidably return.
Carefull, you will get hooked!
But then again, the Occidental, Nueva Vallarts is a great addiction to have!!!

Marie

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariechen_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

There were 4 of us that travelled to Nuevo Vallarta for a week long stay. We have stayed at other all inclusive resorts, including the one right next door to this one. This is a smaller resort, it's only real drawback is that it only has one pool. The reason this matters is that while we were there, a bunch of people were there with their kids. There was honestly 40 to 50 kids in the pool at any given time. We had no kids, so this was not too relaxing for us. The biggest plus at the resort is the staff. Everyone goes out of their way to be helpful. Our favourite though was Eric, the waiter in the buffet. He had an amazing memory on drink requests, and seating preferences. However it was another incident that shows his caring. I had been hit with the stomach flu so had missed quite a few appearances at the buffet, when he saw me finally return he was very concerned about my food options. He asked me specifically what I wanted, went into the back kitchen and brought it to me himself. He was amazing!

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevators, very noisy as this area is open to the lobby below.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Pros:

- Cheap
- Nice property
- Clean and updated rooms
- Friendly staff (most of the time)
- The food was acceptable (hit and miss)
- Nice fruit selection in the morning
- Central location
- Nice beachfront
- The bartenders were very fast, efficient, hardworking, and professional

Cons:
- Inconsistent quality of food
- Poor selection of beer
- Poor alcoholic beverage quality (but expected for the price)
- No free wireless (you have to go to the Starbucks across the street)
- Stingy pool towel service (you are given one towel per person and if you lose the towel or the card there is a $30 charge despite the fact that the towels are old and ragged-
- You can only eat in the restaurants that require reservations twice per week (excluding the buffet)
- The buffet seemed to lack the "simple" authentic Mexican food (e.g., tacos, enchiladas, burritos, etc.)
- The size of the pool was disproportionate to the number of guests and there was no separate adult section
- To use the hot tub, you were required to be a member of the hotel's exclusive "First Club"
- There were too many beach vendors which interfered with what should be a relaxing atmosphere

Conclusion:

We were extremely satisfied in the sense that we got what we paid for. It was better to eat at restaurants off of the resort once in awhile. The service overall was good. We were definitely treated pretty well.

On a side note, to those who visit all-inclusive hotels, please don't waste your food/drinks as this will increase rates for all of us. Remember to tip your server as well (even though they state that gratuities are included).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel was beautiful and overall very enjoyable, but we were asked over and over about attending the 90 minute presentation on purchasing a time share. I'm not sure if that happens at all hotels in Puerto Vallarta, as we were pressured/asked by multiple people all over town (especially the airport) about time shares. Rather than feeling comfortable and relaxed about going back to my room from the beach, I was tense because I knew that multiple people standing around and parked at the desk immediately outside the elevators would be asking me if I had attended the seminar or if I had reserved excursions and tours through them. I actually wanted to find alternative ways to get to my room besides the lobby and elevators because I felt like I was walking through a used car lot. It is certainly possible that other hotels in the area have this same scenario, as it seems to be a theme in PV. It was just uncomfortable for me because I was expecting a relaxing vacation without unnecessary stressors/annoyances. In addition, we were approached every 10-15 minutes on the beach to purchase local wares (set up in a building on the side of the resort-the sellers walked around with their items). This, too, may be par for PV everywhere.

Besides that, the hotel and resort was nice; food was good; enjoyed the special restaurants (though difficult to reserve; likely on purpose to limit; have experienced the same at other all inclusive resorts).

Assuming above issues are the same at other PV hotels, this one was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank meowdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a last-minute deal. The hotel is located in Nuevo Vallarta (about a $15 USD cab ride away from Puerto Vallarta and the airport). The hotel is very nice, all inclusive, with wonderful beach access and activities throughout the day. The food on the buffet and in the restaurants was better than average. Our room was clean, spacious, and everything we needed. The wine list was abysmal (they had one red, one white, and one sparkling - none of them tasted good to this wine lover).

Our chief complaint would have to be the "vultures" selling time shares and excursions. They are positioned right outside the elevators so you are stopped by them almost every time you go to and from your room. Despite the fact we weren't interested (we pre-purchased all of our excursions), they felt inclined to stop us several times a day. They were way to eager to show us a 90-minute presentation and simply couldn't understand why we couldn't commit the time (we're on vacation to relax... not to be subjected to an extended sales pitch). That being said, we learned sales pictures are the status quo in PV - we noticed these high pressure tactics in most public places (the airport, walking on the boardwalk, shopping in stores, etc).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews