We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When Looking for an Excellent Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sechelt
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“When Looking for an Excellent Vacation”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

For the past 9 days my wife and I have stayed at this resort. We have learned that Jesus runs a unbelievable, clean, warm, and friendly place. Jesus, the General Manager, and staff, like Laura, always ask, "How can I make your vacation even better?" and they seek to always follow through. The chef, Yann, is dedicated to make the meals excellent with great variety, quality, and freshness. His pastries are superb!!! Idali, the Concierge, will do whatever she can to make your stay the best and her smile and sense of fun will brighten any day. Andres, Carlos, Daniel could work in any first class hotel anywhere in the world. They are kind, open, and skilled. Our room attendant, Christina, maintained a clean, well-stocked room. She gave us a different towel animal every day, left us chocolates when doing our turn-down every night and greeted us warmly each morning - even when we slept in. We have been to many resorts in Mexico, Bali, and Belize. None have it ALL like this resort has - especially in terms of the warmth, friendlness, and helpfulness of the staff. Gracias to all!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    1,023
    320
    123
    88
See reviews for
1,117
1,331
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

A very clean, cozy hotel that included everything our family could possibly need. The workers were very kind and friendly to us, especially waiter Misael and souvenir tent worker Javier (hope everything is well with you guys). The beach was stunning, with majestic mountains everywhere you looked, and the waves were a lot of fun to swim in. The hotel grounds were small and well kept. The food was good, if you're not expecting fancy cuisine then you'll be perfectly satisfied with it. The evening shows were very hit and miss, the traditional Mexican shows were excellent while the more "American" shows were, well, let's just say you're better off taking a walk on the gorgeous night time beach instead. Speaking of the beach, there were waaayy too many guests spending all their time in the pool and never even setting foot on the beach or in the ocean! Come on guys, you're in Mexico, not your rich friend's back yard! Enjoy the natural wonders that you don't get to see back home...
We would certainly recommend this hotel and return there ourselves :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svetlana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

W travelled frmom March 23 to March 30.We started by checking in @ 930pm. We were the last of three busloads. We were very surprised at how fast it was.

Or room was nice.

The food was good(.Real orange juice too)The drinks were good (brand names)

The service was great.

Time share was not an issue. A piece of paper with a welcome gift was under our door. I asked at the front desk and he told me it was time share and I was never approached again.

We were very impressed with the grounds ; the lobby; cleanliness of everthing.

If you see a lady in the lobby by the name of Norma; give her a hug from the two Canadians who went to Starbucks every morning. We have stayed at many resorts over the years; but few were as nice as this.Our only fear is that this was a one time thing and standards will slide. Please keep it this way and all four of us will be back.

We went to Puerto Vallarta and felt completely safe. It was nice.

The people were great at this resort. . Obviously we had a great time.

Room Tip: If you enjoy your coffee in the morning ; ask for ground floor ; pool view. This hotel has few balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4putter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My wife and i just returned from the occidental grand and i have never had a more perfect vacation in my life.We travel alot and have stayed at some of the best resorts from the Real resorts to the Riu resorts. This resort as far as i am concerned out did them all.Before we left saskatoon we advised the hotel we wanted to upgrade to the royal club.When we arrived we went to the front desk and were immediatly advised we were to go to the 7th floor to the vip desk. when we got to the desk a young lady was all smiles and happy to see us and welcomed us to their hotel. the upgrade to the royal club was more than worth it. we were given a junior suite and later found out our gold bracelets were top of the line and we were the only ones in that category. made us feel more than special. Their are no balconies but for the amount of time we spent in the room who cared. best room by far.
We got up the next morning and went to breakfast at the royal club restaurant. no lines,no noise. excellent food and service. they have a small buffet and a menu for you to chose from. and the view is perfect. after breakfast as we were walking out we heard our names called. well it turns out the general manager Jesus was sitting there waiting for us to welcome us and aking if we were satisfied with our room. He also advised us our vacation was in his hands and he would personally make sure we have a perfect trip. I want to say thank you to Jesus because it was. We never went a day without someone smiling at us and calling us by our names.
The beach..what can i say. it may not be blue water or white sand but it was beautiful. you could walk for miles and miles.
The food. again we ate in the royal club restaurant most of the time mainly beacause it made us feel special but the times we did eat in the main buffet the food was good and the service was top notch.Granted we did have the gold bracelets but we never saw a waiter just standing around. always asking someone if they needed anything or cleaning the plates.
We were invited to a cocktail party thrown by the GM where he personally greeted every guest who attended.and then introduced his managers. This he does everyweek.nice touch.
There are activities to do and shows to go see . we watched 2 of the shows but prefered to sit in the lobby bar with friends because it was quiet to talk and relax.
One nice touch which impressed us was we arrived back at the hotel at 1am after going on an excursion. everything was shut down in the lobby but there sttod a bellboy who opened the taxi door and said welcome home. that was a classy touch.
The only drawback i have is 2 things. they allow the vendors to walk through the chairs selling things and its one after another. the second is the outdoor royal club chair section. Twice we had to go inside and advise them that we could,nt get a chair because everyone else had taken them. 5 minutes later security was there asking them to leave. i think they need to have a staff member check the private chairs for guests who cannot read it is for exclusive members only.
We were so happy that we asked the front desk to order a dozen roses for the royal club staff and have them delivered. the look on their faces when they arrived was worth every penny. we are of the thinking that they worked so hard to make our trip memorable why not spoil them abit.
we could not have wanted for anything. this resort may not be a 5 star resort but they sure act like it and we were treated like it.
Check out...What can i say. perfect. they gave us our room for free until 3pm due to a late flight. we kept our bracelets so we still had the service. we were also told that the GM was waiting for us in the restaurant and wanted to see us before we left. sure enough there he was hand out to shake ours and we were not to leave until he made sure our trip was all they promised. I immediatley told him we would be back in 2 months, same place same upgrade.He looked at my wife and told us to email him before we leave saskatoon to let him know when we would be arriving and he will ensure everything will be set up. It just does,nt get any better.
There is a sales pitch but once you say no your left alone at the hotel. in town is a different story but we just said no thank you over and over.

I cannot say enough good things about the Occidental Grand and its staff. They made sure our vacation was top notch and worth every penny.
I want to say thank you to Jesus and all his royal club staff. you are a 5 star resort and this will be our new mexican home because we felt like family. Like i have said we stayed at some pretty fancy resorts and some big resorts but the service and size beats them all.Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you in a few months.

David and Particia Blue

Room Tip: Upgrade to the royal club..private quiet floor and beautiful views from the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank saskatoondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delmar
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I read the good the bad and the mediocre reviews but we chose to stay here anyway. It is an average all-inclusive, and sounds a little better than it is. The food is NOT horrible, BUT not at all memorable, so be sure to eat at the specialty restaurants for some variety, but you are limited as to how many meals you can reserve...only once every three days. The staff was wonderful, especially NORMA! She went above and beyond and I hope the manager reads this!
Take note: be sure to request a King bed the doubles are really twins, there are only a few rooms with balconies, request one...our room was like showering with your clothes on, no fresh air or ocean sounds. Also the hotel architecture allows for a alot of noise in the rooms; the shows were not great at all, even for all-incl style, but the showers were very cool, great views! A/C was minimally effective, and the repairman did not help. The beach was great and the water was cool and refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DelmarCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We spoke to the guest services manager; laura I think was her name… the front desk associate's name was Yazmin Garcia

When we checked into the Hotel we asked about having a guest at the hotel as we had a couple local friends that would be stopping by. We were told we could have a guest during the day but they couldn't stay over or use any of the all inclusive benefits. This makes sense and is fair. The front desk told us it was no problem to socialize in the lobby or in our room during the day. We even asked about having a guest over and what was involved if we would like them to participate in drinks and or meals. They said (as was described in the hotel paperwork when we arrived) that we could pay for a "Day pass". This was acceptable to us. We had a guest over for 2 days, some of the time in our room and in the lobby. We were vigilant to no go outside of these areas and even left the hotel for meals and drinks with our guests. On the 3rd day we were stopped by security and were told our guest wasn't allowed in the hotel because he didn't have a wristband. We talked to the front desk as they had told us. They informed us that we could only meet with our guest in the hotel lobby during the day and they wouldn't allow him in the hotel because he was a local Mexican citizen and not paying to stay at the hotel. One of our paying party members hotel issued wristband was not visible at any time. He wasn’t stopped at all for any of the days we were there because he was Caucasian, even though his wristband wasn't visible at all. We made a deal about it because they were obviously just profiling him because he was Mexican… and asked to speak to the guest services manager, who promptly told me that they would allow him to stay (as I was told earlier) as long as we purchased a day pass… We agreed to buy one, and the front desk associate spoke to her in Spanish and then handed the phone back to me. The Manager proceeded to tell me they wouldn't sell me a day pass anymore because "they didn't have day passes". All of us in our group speak some Spanish, and our local friend is fluent in Spanish. The associate was telling the manager that the guest was a local person and that we were being annoying and she didn't know how to get rid of us. We don't appreciate a front desk associate at a hotel we paid money to stay at telling her manager that we are being "annoying" because we want to have a guest in my room that we paid to stay in for 20 minutes… nor do I appreciate the condescending tone that she discussed the situation in (believing that we didn't understand because we are white) So we decided that we weren't going to stay at the hotel anymore since we were not allowed to have guests as originally we were lead to believe. We walked upstairs, packed our bags, and told the front desk we were leaving the hotel because they were being racist and weren't treating us with the respect that we should get as paying guests in the hotel. At that point they stated “You cannot leave early!” We were shocked and stated back to them “Watch us as we walk out the door and not return.” They then tried to make us sign a form that said we were leaving because we wanted to leave early and it was no fault of the hotel. We refused to sign the form as the entire reason we were leaving was due to their racism and discrimination along with rule changing and unfair treatment of guests.

Room Tip: I would recommend not staying at this hotel. Above was just the final blow to get us to leave. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik_G222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesly R, Quality & Control Manager at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Erik_G222,

Your review deeply concerns me. I am reaching out to you directly via Trip Advisor to discuss your experience in more detail.

Please know that we do not discriminate against anyone. However, we do have strict policies regarding visitors who are not guests, which are in place so that we can ensure the best quality service and security for all guests. We do offer all-inclusive day passes, based on availability, which are identified by a green wristband and provide access to all the amenities offered at the resort.

Regarding your experience with the front desk, please know that our Room Division Manager has addressed this and the staff is now undergoing more comprehensive training.

Again, I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and miscommunications.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton,ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Spent the week of Mar 23-30 at the OGNV.
We have travelled many times to Mexico over the last 12 years and have stayed at many different resorts on the Mayan side and Cabo.
Nice location close to the airport(15-20mins)Nice grounds and well kept. Beautiful modern lobby and bar area.
For the price we paid for this holiday it was OK. Some people paid $300.00 less per person then we did, and I would say they got what they paid for. I would not consider this resort a 5 star.
Food- The food was never hot, sometimes it was cold. My husband had the homefried patties at breakfast a couple of mornings and some of them were ice cold. I don't think they even baked them, but just set them out in the pans and put them on the warming stones, that really don't keep anything warm. On a couple of occasions we went for dinner around 8.00pm and the main meat was gone. One night they had turkey but it was gone when we got there, another night the beef tenderloin. I don't think everyone eats at 6.00pm. They need to have enough food for everyone including the late eaters. If you don't get there early you are going to miss out. I can't stress enough how they need to figure out a way to keep their food hot. Even if it was luke warm when you put it on your plate by the time you started to eat it , the wind was so strong that it was cold. It would have been nice if they had some type of screen or curtain to block the wind in the open air main restaurant.The week we were there, every night was windy when we were eating our supper. The food was extremley salty. We did not starve but definitly room for improvement.
The staff is very friendly and the service was good. They do try hard to please.

We did have to go out early every morning and reserve chairs with our towels. It seemed to be the thing to do and if you didn't you were out of luck for a place to sit. The Royal club area was roped off and there was no one in it. Lots of chairs and day beds in there not being used.
If you have been to the Mayan side of Mexico and enjoy the white sand and turquois waters, then this is not the place for you The water seemed brown to me.The beach is nice for walking and very clean. However, we walked a short distance to the left of the resort, the week we were there, they were dredging the boat canal and spewing the sludge and fowl smelling gray/black water into the ocean on the other side of the canal where people were swimming. The smell alone was hard to take.( I know this has nothing to do with the resort).
Drinks were plentiful but they did not have straws for the mixed drinks(pina calodas, daiqures, mudslides etc.) Straws did show up the last day we were there.(Maybe they forgot to order them)
The rooms are nice and clean, as people have said in other reviews. The bathroom counter space is limited and with so much wasted space behind the bathroom door, I am not sure why they did not have some type of cupboard or counter for putting toiletry items on. Always had fresh towels and the beds were comfortable.
The time share people do try and get you to do there thing by offering you a free gift. When we arrived there was a note under our door inviting us to come for our free gift. At the time we did not no this was a lure to get you in to their clutches so they could give you their speech. We opted out of this but even the last day we were there they wanted to know if we had picked up our free gift(NO!!)
Nightly entertainment is bad. The best night was Miss Occidental Grand. It was a laugh.
Cheers to Sonya for representing Canada.
The pool area is very noisy when the entertainment staff start to do their thing. Beach area to the far left near the hawkers shack is pretty quiet, except for the hawkers who ask you every time they walk by if you want to buy something.
For anyone going to this resort for a good price you will be satisfied. You won't starve and the drinks are plentiful. It is clean and modern. All in all it was ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princessbarbie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
5.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,700 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,126 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,852 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 12 in Punta de Mita
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing