We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Occidental Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Loved the Occidental Grand!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was worried about what we would find when we arrived on Sunday, the 8th but there was nothing to worry about! The rooms are very nice, with lovely tiled bathrooms. The food was wonderful, especially in the Hacienda for lunch (the shrimp burritoes are delicous!). The buffet for supper was fantastic. I mostly had rice, veggies and fish, with many desserts, including ice cream and cheesecake. The service was excellent, with the exception being the Italian restaurant. The Manager's Reception was a great way to personally chat with the general manager of the resort. After meeting him in person, we noticed him many more times in the resort having a definite presence at the resort. If anyone is worried about the past negative reviews, please feel confident that these problems are in the past. You will have a fantastic time! I would go back tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: 448 was a fine room. Ocean view, no noise even though it was a connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Calico98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    944
    300
    107
    78
See reviews for
929
1,258
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We truly enjoyed our trip this past week, Jan 7 - 14th to this beautiful resort. Our experience was nothing but Exceptional!! The staff was superb with attention & detail to our every want. We loved the facilities & were made to feel Very welcome. We especially enjoyed the Welcome Reception our first night there & the Manager's Cocktails in the Lounge Bar the second evening. What a delight & priviledge to meet the man behind the operations!!

Ricardo was a waiter in a few restaurants & was Amazing, Friendly, Extremely Helpful & just a Wonderful man. Always made sure to get our group of six everything we asked for, as did many other waiters as well.

I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Our room was on the sixth floor & very elegant. We had a see thru shower from our bedroom part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Wanda099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Like Rena said the lobby is beautiful, there are still a few minor kinks to work out like room service isn't offered unless you are in the royal club, stocking the fridge in the rooms needs to happen everyday. Maybe add tea bags in with the coffee in each room. Like I said these are minor and can be fixed. Nothing wrong with room ours was perfect, we had a balcony. Meals were also perfect, could maybe add more specialty restaurants, but the buffet had a good selection every meal. Staff was great, we will be going back for sure. We were there Jan 7-14. Love walking on the beach.

Room Tip: Get the balcony if possible, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Despite the fact that this resort opened recently, the kinks have been ironed out very well.
The hotel is beautiful including the lobby with lighted marble everywhere. The beach is wonderful with plenty of chairs in the shade.
The staff are top notch(Idaly and Laura especially) and catered to your every need.
Service in the Italian restaurant left a lot to be desired, but in the Hacienda Mexican restaurant both the sevice and the food were superb!
Rooms were large and lovely, but the lack of balconies was a disappointment.
All in all, I would come back to this resort in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Rena6357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Like others who have posted online recently, we were concerned about whether the OGNV would be truly ready for guests after their renovations.As we had signed up for a "roulette" deal (where you are not assigned a hotel until 3 days before departure), we had no choice in the matter.

Fortunately, by the time we arrived on Jan 7th, it appeared to us that the major concerns (room deficiencies, staff competency, timeshare salespeople, variety of food items) had been addressed. Overall we found the OGNV to be elegant yet without pretense. This is a difficult balance to achieve but particularly appreciated by anyone traveling with children.

Our standard deluxe room was tastefully appointed and complete, down to a functioning albeit empty mini-bar fridge. Their policy at the time was to replenish once every 3 days, which at first seems somewhat insufficient but given that this is an all-inclusive resort, it's no big deal. They stocked it with a few cans of pop and beer after we arrived but we used it mostly to cool drinks and snacks we purchased at the mall across the street.

Contrary to information on the OGNV website, there is only one adult pool and there is no swim-up bar. At 4'3" (130cm) the adult pool is a tiny bit deep for kids under 10 unless they're good swimmers. There is a kid's pool for toddlers. The beach is absolutely perfect - far better than the one in Puerto Vallarta to the south or Bucerias to the north. Sandy and gently sloping, enough surf for boogie boarding yet safe enough for kids - once they understand never to turn their backs on the waves.

Poolside staff are friendly and attentive - we never lacked for a drink. I was delighted to discover they had Modelo Negra - my favorite Mexican beer - on tap. A well-stocked bar both beach-side and in the lounge for those who prefer mixed drinks. You can bring your kids to the bar where they'll be plied with all kinds of fruity concoctions - our 8-year-old discovered the pleasures of a virgin margarita with salted rim :o) You can also take drinks up to your room for a nightcap or whatever.

The animators (activity organizers) are enthusiastic and do a good job of organizing guests for poolside and beach activities. However, the Kids' Club is suitable only for the 6 and under crowd, The evening entertainment is earnest if somewhat hokey, although the dancers are very good and costumes are wonderful. Warning: sit near the front and you'll be recruited onstage to dance at the end of each show.

Given that this is an all-inclusive, we found the food at the buffet to be quite varied and tasty although a bit bland for our taste - we like a bit of heat. However it was not hard to find something tasty. Breakfasts are particularly good - they make a mean omelet and the french toast with Nutella is pretty awesome too. The à la Carte restaurants (Mexican and Italian) require reservations one day in advance. We only did the Italian which is quite elegant and features a well-executed menu.

Overall, we find little to complain about. About 1/3 of the guests were Mexican, often large families and we liked the vibe they created. Noise was never a problem. The evening shows are a bit clamorous but they wind down by 10 or 11 and the family orientation tends to keep the singles party crowd to a minimum. However, the hotel was probably at 1/3 occupancy when we visited, so the dynamics may change significantly as the numbers go up.

In summary, for a casual, relaxing and no-stress family-oriented vacation, we think the OGNV would be pretty hard to beat.

Room Tip: As the rooms are newly renovated as of the date of this review, check all amenities as soon as you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanc0uverIslandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Our group of 6 booked from Jan 7-14. We had read the reviews and were a little hestitant as to what we were going to get. This all inclusive greatly exceeded our expectaions! The hotel is beautiful, the beach is specacular! The service and food in all the restaurants was exceptional! Juan Carlos and Omar in the italian a la carte did a great job- our wine glasses were never empty! The rooms were cleaned vey well, with towel animals left each day, and our mini bar was stocked regularly. Any issues were addressed immediately (the very minor ones we had!).

We had a great time, and our only complaint is that we had to come home! I would highly recommend the Occidental!! :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jjmc0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland Landing, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I, my wife and 18 year old son spent the week of Jan 6 here. We had read the previous reviews and worried about what we'd find. The experience was much better than expected. It was clear general renovations were still underway but the room was finished, modern, clean and very good. If you're used to a premium bed and pillows, the mattress might seem a little unforgiving but was okay. No bath tub but the shower was hot and clean. One small problem with the room was quickly resolved.
The view and beach was amazing. Even in the winter, we enjoyed the water and warmth of the Pacific. A very mature and service-oriented staff that never once failed to busily look after our needs. These people are role models and it's a shame we don't have this level of commitment in Canada. They all speak English well yet retain their Mexican charm and spirit. The food was okay to good and perhaps the one area that can and no doubt will improve over time.
The hotel is located in Nueva (new) Vallarta which is an enclave north of the city and airport. Lots of big hotels and big boats in the nearby marina. Not much to do in this area. The "real" Mexico is in "Centro" (downtown) and is a must see for understanding the culture and the people. The resort makes a sincere effort to provide some entertainment and generally succeeds with live dance shows, karaoke, etcetera. Younger visitors may get bored with the absence of night life and energy.
We traveled with Sunquest who had a small kiosk in the lobby. They were outstanding at providing information, booking trips and giving sound advice on local tours and events. Make sure to avail yourself of this service if possible. Avoid anything to do with timeshares unless you have a real interest. They provide discounted services but take way too much of your valuable vacation time with pressure sales tactics.
During the seven days we observed an energy and momentum that promised good things to come. The management were both present, available and appeared fully committed to the customer experience. This hotel had been closed for 9 months and no doubt the reopening is causing some short term training and execution issues but the organization and focus is clear. In a very short time this resort will achieve and probably exceed the 4 star expectation.
Recommended.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms face the beach. Rooms on the extreme west side both face the beach and have privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
5.2 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
2.9 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
14.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
#9 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18 | Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico Turistico, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Occidental Nuevo Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Occidental Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing