We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property but terrible housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently did a trip to this resort. Everything about this resort was amazing with the exception of the housekeeping. Our sheets were changed only once during the entire week we were there. I called the front desk numerous times and was always told they would send someone to look after it - never happened. When we checked out, we were told that we had a $45.00 phone bill - when I asked to see the bill, it showed numerous phone calls to cell phone numbers in Puerto Vallarta. I advised the front desk clerk that the only time we used the phone was to call the front desk and we don't know anyone in Mexico - also we had our cell phones and the only calls we made were back to Canada. When they checked the times these calls were made they discovered that it was during the time our room was "supposedly being cleaned". Would recommend this property but would advise anyone staying there to check their room for cleanliness - paying special attention to the linens.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desiree r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, E-concierge at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your preference and for sharing your opinion, your comments are very important to us because it gives us the opportunity to improve specific areas on the resort, our mission is to give you the best experience and satisfaction,.

We hope we can host you in the near future,
Ana Gloriela
E-concierge & Social Media
Dreams Villamagna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 4,954 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Dreams was the best "All Inclusive" I have stayed in, the food was fantastic. It still is a buffet and I was there for 10 days, so even the A la Carte menus got a bit tiring, but what was served up was very good. Portofino was the very best restaurant on the premises. I would highly recommend Dreams, for a quiet holiday, couples or families. It is not for younger people wanting to party hardy. I enjoyed the fact mainly jazz music was played around the pool, rather than typical stuff like "Follow the leader, leader, leader" - it is low key, relaxing and top shelf. The staff were extremely hard working, very friendly and gave excellent service. When I arrived my patio door had no lock, I called the front desk and told them I was not comfortable being on my own, with an unlocked patio door - it was repaired immediately, even though it was 10pm. The resort is clean, well maintained and the staff are amazing.

Room Tip: I had the Tropical View, which I really enjoyed, I liked the quietness. My sister had an Oceanview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynG178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, E-concierge at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear guest,

We are so glad to receive your comments about your recent holidays, is fantastic to know that you left our resort with a memorable experience, and thank you for choosing us as your vacation destiny, Is a pleasure!

Regards
Gloriela García
E-concierge & Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The resort was wonderful, food terrific (especially considering it was an all-inclusive..!) and the staff super attentive and friendly. I have two quibbles that would preclude us from returning. The bathroom situation: not family friendly. There is a huge tub next to the bed, separated by a sheer curtain and the bathroom door was glass and didn't lock. I was told the resort, when opened in 2008, was intended for a honeymoon retreat, but later re-branded itself as a family resort. We have a 10 yo, which meant there was no private place to change - anywhere in the room. Secondly, the promised Explorer's Club was really for kids 6 and under. My 10 yo refused to go, except to the evening movie. Place would be perfect for families with younger kiddos or couples.

Booked this through Costco travel - not cheaper, but it did make it super easy and would use them again.

Room Tip: I think they are all good - we have a "partial ocean view", but it was a wide open expanse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, E-concierge at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear guest,


Thank you for letting us know your opinion, is very useful for all the staff, to improve the service at Dreams Villamagna Resorts and Spa, we are making the necessary adjustments to give entertaiment and fun for the guests of all ages; hope to see you soon back in the hotel.

Best regards,
Ana Gloriela García
E-concierge and Social Media.
Dreams Villamagna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We are frequent travelers but mostly to Riviera Maya/Cancun area. First time in Puerto Vallarta and LOVED the area. We ventured off into town 4 of the 6 days we were there (Feb 15-21) This was pretty far from town and when we return it will be a hotel much closer to the action. This was the ONLY AMResort owned that we had to deal with towel cards (which I hate) Was told its this way because of the residential condos.
Our room was very very nice especially with jacuzzi on the balcony. We were on the 7th floor which we really enjoyed. Our maid Miriam did a wonderful job and deserved the $5 we left for her daily. We also left a few dollars for the nightly turn down.
Food at restaurants was very good. Great steak at the Seaside grille and amazing food at Oceana. Gohan the sushi bar had the best sushi of any AI Resort we have been to including Secrets. the view from Gohan is very pretty to. Breakfast buffet was just ok for us...same food daily but it was good. The cheese Empanadas were the BEST!
There was a long stretch of Beach to enjoy. The pools were pretty but water was on the chilly side. The Jacuzzi which is Adults only is nice but its right in front of everyone. The location of it is all wrong. You weren't allowed cocktails in the pools or jacuzzi, had to stay about 2' away. There really isn't much action during the day..we like to at least hear music. Was told by many this is because of the condo's.
NO Swim up bar...very odd and my husband wasn't happy about that.
We aren't big drinkers, coffee is our alcohol. Coco Cafe was nice but its only open 7am to 7pm! Closes way too early. The bars didn't have coffee available either.
We ordered room service once, last night of our stay. Called in my order of Hawaiian pizza and coffee for 2 at 10:50 pm. Was told 20-25 min..waited close to an hour & called asking where our order was. Lady asked if I wanted to place an order for more food and I said No I never received the first order. She said let me look into it and call you back. She called like 10 minutes later and said it will be there ASAP. All in all it took close to 2 hours for room service.

Room Tip: Choose room on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyMexicoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, E-concierge at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your taking the time to give us yor feedback regarding the service and facilities of Dreams Villamagna Resort & spa, the opinion of all of our guests is very important, wa already took note about your observations and we hope that you visit us again in the near future and let us give you a better experience.

Thank you for your comments,
Best regards.

Ana García, E-concierge and Social Media
Dreams Villamagna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had no idea what a winter we were in for, but we somewhat spontaneously flew off to warmth the week before Christmas. We chose Dreams because we had not stayed with them before, but had always heard good things. We've been to Puerto Vallarta many times, so we knew about the gauntlet to be traversed before finding the Apple rep at the airport. Advice--do not stop, be nice, respond to anyone until you've reached the outside of the building!

The property was beautiful, about 20 minutes north of the airport. We had upgraded to the junior suite ocean front and were delighted to have a 7th floor special concierge, Marlon, who was smart and welcoming. This floor had offered a continental breakfast, snacks, and open bar--amenities that made the stay really terrific. We were impressed with all the staff's ease with English, which made the stay even nicer.

No bracelets!!

Even nicer, no reservations needed for speciality restaurants! We never found a wait at any restaurant. We were delighted to say the food was quite good to excellent, something we've had lots of experience evaluating.

This resort does cater to families, which we didn't know, but if you aren't in the mood for children, there is plenty of space for everyone.

All in all, this was a great spot and we'd happily return. Not everyone would opt for this week (12/14-12/21) but it wasn't crowded and the weather was lovely!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenkitty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, E-concierge at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

At Dreams Villamagna Resort & Spa, we appreciate all of our guest’s comments and suggestions regarding our services and facilities. we are very thankful for choosing the Resort as your vacation destiny and letting us offer you the best service ...
Until next visit,

Best regards
Ana García
E-Concierge,Dreams Villamagna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Overall, we had a great time at this resort and it met all expectations. I want to dismiss all the negative reviews of this resort as they can't be that opposite of 99% of everyone else's reviews. We saw some grumpy people there and they just seem like they will never be happy. I will point form the highs and lows and what we really liked about this place.

First of all it was our first time in Nuevo Vallarta and we loved the beach, the sand was perfect, the waves were fantastic for boogie boarding which we did every day. You could walk for miles on perfect beach. The swimming was perfectly safe and no undertow. It's in a bay and it is great for swimming of all ages. The only down side was a lack of beach sports activities and the place you got towels and boogie boards was up by the lobby, a far walk back and forth to return the boards. They should have a hut down by the beach and offer kayaks and paddle boards. That would be an expectation of 5 star resort.

The food was great every restaurant we went to. It is upscale and I can see where some might not like this cuisine. The buffet is great and people have to remember it is a buffet. I dare them to find a place with that variety at home and it is any better. The service was great everywhere we went. Did we have a favourite? There were 4 of us and we all had a different one we liked the most. I might add that the young couple that was accompanying us are both cooks training to be chefs, and they know their food. So if they are happy, it speaks volumes of the quality.

The service here is the best and friendliest we have experienced in a long time, if not the best ever. The bartending staff sure knew their drinks and they never hesitated if you asked for the premium spirits. The waiting staff were always attentive. Of course it helps if you tip a small amount right off the bat and they get to know you. If you never tip and all you do is complain, I doubt you would get any good service anywhere in the world.

There were wait times for each restaurant but what did we care, we always had a drink at the bar and met lots of great new friends each time. If you're unsocial and stick to your self, then you will find the time goes by slowly. We saw this and these people were always upset, we met new people and the time flew by. We liked the idea of no wrist bands and no reservations.

I could go on and on, but you get the point. This is a great place to vacation. They had all ages from new borns to people quite old and the hotel looked after everyone. The hotel did not have a night club but Puerto Vallarto was a cheap cab ride away and our two young adults that were with us went into town a couple of nights and had a blast and felt totally safe the entire time.

We will be back for sure, one of our best vacations ever.

C&C

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigSwede62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, E-Concierge at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guest,


Is a pleasure to receive your enthusiastic comment, we really appreciate your taking the time to give us your feedback regarding the service and facilities of Dreams Villamagna Resort & spa.


Best regards,
Gloriela García
E-Concierge, Dreams Villamagna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was not only our first experience with Mexico, but with an all inclusive. And what a great one it was. To be greeted when we first go there with a very cold towel and a mimosa started everything off with a bang. A cold towel never felt so good! Staff were attentive and friendly, but not in the way. Jhonny, Ivan, Ricardo and Frank were great!!! Just to name a few. We never felt pressured about time shares, and were always assisted when needed.
The room was clean and our balcony with the Jacuzzi was amazing. We had a mountain view, but being on the 7th floor, we only had to look to our left to see the ocean as well.
The food was great, except for one steak that I had at Seaside grill which was extremely salty. I should have sent it back, but didn't. Staff were always attentive, and we only had to wait for a table once and only for a short period of time. The woman who cooked the eggs in the morning was amazing!
The one suggestion that we would make would be to replace the loungers on the beach. Many were so saggy that they were uncomfortable to lay in for any length of time and hard to clamber out of.
We liked that the resort was smaller, so we never felt crowded, and met many interesting people from all over. We can't wait to return next year for a longer period, 7 days was just not long enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, E-concierge at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guest,

In the name of all the Dreams Villamgna staff, i want to thank you for writing a comment about our service, this is very important to us, is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay, we will be waiting for your next visit.

Regards
Gloriela García
E-concierge, Dreams Villamagna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,622 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
#6 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
#13 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,996 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.2 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de lo Cocoteros, Lotes 32 y 33, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $249 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Villamagna brings Unlimited-Luxury® to families, couples and friends in a picturesque setting with the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nueva Vallarta Nuevo
Dreams Villamagna Nueva Vallarta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing