We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellente” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We made our reservations through Apple Vacations and was very pleased with the experience. No preoblems at the airports, no problem with the transfer, no problem locating the Apple Rep at the hotel. The grounds of this resort are exceptionally beautiful, clean, well organized and plentiful. The restaurants were terrific, we liked Portofino the best, followed by El Patio. The staff at the pools, in the restaurants and the lobby were friendly and helpful without being pushy.
On this vacation, we were treated like the customer is always right. I would recommend this resort for families,relatives and friends.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the end, but had a very private jacuzzi on our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24QueenBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,699
    962
    428
    146
    88
See reviews for
1,720
1,793
49
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

It was a nice hotel and great location. Food was excellent and so were the drinks.
Betty was the greatest sever I have ever had the pleasure of meeting on a vaction.

The hotel has more condos then it does hotel rooms and most of the staff in the front lobby is there to sell you either a condo or a Dreams vaction package".

They have coke, sprite and fanta along with corona in the fridges in the rooms.

We were at less then 50% capacity when we were there and I cannot imagine it with more as by 10 am all seats at the pool and beach were full of people/condo owners.
Rooms were nice and updated, but with a bit of an older look.

If you haven't been to a dreams resort before, you'll enjoy it. If you have, it not like the rest I have been too. You might be disappointed.
There is a very tiny lobby space to hang out at night and a nice bar upstairs, so if you're going to hang out and party at night - not the place to go either.
Overall I enjoed my stay there, but would not go back. For the money there is new places to try and experience.

P.S. If you have kids, great place to visit. If you don't want to hang out with kids, not the place for you.

Room Tip: My opinion: The ocean views are a view of more trees then ocean. Garden views are great views of par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My 14 year old daughter and I stayed at the Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta Monday Jan 20-27. I have to say I was extremely disappointed. This was our 4th time to this area and this was by far our worst stay! I asked for a quiet room when checking in, and Erika A. at the reception desk was super rude and would not accommodate me. We are not noisy and we like our sleep. That being said, I did not sleep good even 1 night! Our room was "OK" but definitely run down. it SMELLED so bad! I had to get a dehumidifier to make it through the week! I asked to be switched, but they would not. There is a bar on the 9th floor that was very loud til late at night, and the night time activities were right below our room.
I wonder if they even cleaned the room before we came- there was a dead spider in our bathroom.
The man that drove us to the resort stated we should tip on Ala cart restaurants. The first morning we went to the World Cafe buffet and Humerto "waited" on us. I did not tip (seriously EVERYONE expects a "tip" and I thought this was included in the cost of this trip!) Since I did not tip Humerto, the rest of the week he was so rude! We had ketchup and sugar, salt & pepper at our table (I had to go get my own drinks, condiments etc. they ignored us!) and Humerto just came and grabbed the ketchup & other condiments from us --which we were still using! and gave it to other tables! So rude! Not all of the servers were this way, but Humerto was the WORST!
As far as no bracelets, I do NOT see this as a "Perk" we were basically harassed constantly for our room number! SO ANNOYING!
I look young, and they definitely treated me like I was very young. They ONLY like people with $$$.
The time share people were so annoying! I hated even going in the lobby because of them!
The food was pretty disgusting and they basically served the same thing day after day with maybe a different sauce.
I stayed at the Dreams in Cancun, many years back, but that stay was 110% better than this stay.

I will NOT be back! I have definitely never been treated so disrespectfully at a resort in Mexico ever!

and if tips are *not included*, then they should state upfront and charge less! I could not believe the workers were so assuming that they should get a tip for doing nothing and treating me like crap!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaraLyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Gerente at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,
We truly apologize for the inconveniences you and your daughter encountered during your stay, there was never out intention to disappoint you on any way. It is important mention that your comments have been shared with our Executive Departments to act upon. Thank you kindly for taking the time to contact us.

Best Regards,

Ivetee Chavez
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

After a rough start at the airport--30 minutes in the TSA line, we were headed for Puerto Vallarta. Since the Seahawks were headed to the Super Bowl, Alaska airlines gave each of us a round of alcoholic drinks for free. That was all the nice I have to say about that airlines! We arrived and a taxi was waiting (we booked through Apple) and zoomed us 20 minutes to the resort. It didn't look very inviting when we arrived--the taxi drove through what looked like an alley, but once we got to the property, everything was beautiful. We were directed to the front desk--an out of the way seated area. Our room was ready--HURRAY!--and they brought us mimosas as we filled at the paperwork and learned about the resort. We were a quick elevator ride from our room. It was gorgeous. We paid for the upgrade to a view, and it was totally worth it. Our bags arrived and within an hour from the plane touchdown, our vacation had truly begun.

Good aspects of the resort:
1. very friendly staff--they went out of their way to help you. You only had to look confused and someone came up to help you.
2. the drinks really were top shelf. We didn't have a bad drink the entire week.
3. most of the resort was wheelchair accessible--many ramps and elevators.
4. the food in the restaurants was excellent--and you didn't need to make reservations.
5. no wrist bands--but you did have to state your room number over and over!
6. the beach was gorgeous--you could walk a little over 2 miles one way and pretty much endlessly the other way. No shoes needed on the beach--it was that sandy and clean.
7. the bike tour was fun and easy. We got to know our neighborhood better. Thanks Bernie!
8. room service was quick and accurate.
9. the maid service was quick and didn't inconvenience us once. I would much rather have her in and out than the origami towel art so popular in Riviera Maya.
10. sunsets were spectacular--whether from the balcony, the restaurant (Oceana and Seaside Grill) or the beach.
11. the paint your own ceramics guy made everything you painted a work of art.
12. the water was warm and the waves were great.
13. the 3 pools had 3 different temperatures.
14. there was always a lounge chair when we needed one--saving was not too rampant except on the front row of the beach palapas.
15. the bar service at the pool area was pretty consistent--the beach service was more spotty.
16. the front desk took care of most problems very quickly
17. it was quiet. The entertainment staff didn't feel the need to constantly blast your eardrums.
18. there is a sea turtle rescue place just a short walk down the beach. Most evenings at 6:30 they released hatchlings and for 28 pesos, you could shepherd your own hatchling to the ocean. It is a government sponsored facility. People go out at night on ATV's and find eggs that have just been laid and dig them up and replant them at the protected facility.
19. 3 of the evening shows were around the pool area--it was great to sit on our deck and enjoy the show--we even got room service!
The Bad:
1. room beverage service was more every other day than daily--twice we had to go downstairs and ask for water. The last time, none ever arrived.
2. there was inconsistency in food quality--if you loved something one day and ordered it again, it probably wouldn't be the same. Fortunately it was all good--some just better.
3. the menu often didn't reflect the food that arrived--for example the shrimp wrapped in prosciutto had no prosciutto and the walnut brownie smothered in whipped cream had no whipped cream. When I asked, the waiter said he would check, he disappeared and we never saw him again.
4. it is difficult to get coffee. The coffee bar is open limited hours and serves everything in a little paper cup. At dinner at the Oceana we asked for coffee and were told the machine was broken. We were there the next morning for breakfast and it was fine. As the room beverage service was spotty, we were constantly trying to find coffee. None of the bars were prepared to make coffee.
5. you have to request guacamole or you don't get it.
6. there is no snack bar open 24 hours like in most resorts of this type. Sometimes you just want a plate of nachos.
7. the buffet restaurant dinner was disappointing even on Mexico night. (it was consistently good at breakfast although they ran of bacon with regularity)
8. we took the hotel city tour--supposed to be 6 hours--lasted 8. It was a grueling day and we came home covered in chigger bites. I was lead to believe we would stop downtown to shop and at the flea market. We were 10 minutes downtown and it took 8 to get from were we were dropped off to where we were picked up. We didn't see the flea market. Instead we did a lot of bumpy riding on very steep streets. The guide decided to take us by an orphanage and we had to stop and a Targetlike store and buy groceries for the orphans. No one in the van was happy about this. The "on your own" lunch was one overpriced place in the middle of nowhere populated solely by tourists on buses. It was the worst meal of the trip. The beer was warm.

Overall, the good way outweighed the bad. We hadn't been to Puerto Vallarta in 20 years--the Riviera Maya was much more convenient when we lived on the east coast--and we loved it all. The weather was warm but not stifling, no rain, even the tourists (primarily Canadian, Midwest and Pacific Northwest) were nicer. We missed the easy access to snorkeling--you needed to take a boat to snorkel, but loved the sandy beaches. We will return!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view--totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lis137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Gerente at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your time, to express and describe your Dreams Vacation with us I am sure future guests would be glad to read your review and would help them as a guide to our resort.

Its a pleasure!

Ivetee Chavez
Quality Control Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Dreams Villamagna was just average. Here are some of my thoughts.

The GOOD:
1. The grounds were beautiful. Lush greens, well manicured, simply gorgeous.
2. The staff was wonderful. Happy, helpful, and they went that extra step.
3. The resort was clean in most areas.
4. The Oceana had the best food. The other restaurants were fair to poor. The Mexican was terrible and the Portifino was below par. It sure wasn't Italian.
5. The pools were wonderful. Three pools that were all different temps from cold to warm.

The BAD:
1. The room was very clean but…..the room had a STRONG musty, mildew smell.(my clothes all had to be laundered even the ones I didn't wear, because they smelled like the room)
2. The bed and pillows had a body odor smell. They needed to be replaced. The balcony curtain had mildew dots running up and down. The couch was soiled. The resort lets the guest have slippers for the week. Mine were not wrapped in cellophane, I think they were used!!
3. The shower was moldy and the tiles were chipped.
4. The food was not good at most restaurants.
5. The tall maitre d' in the Portifino was rude to us and had a real pompous attitude.(the only staff that was rude the entire week)
6. The lobby was strange. It had a street running through it. Not a place to sit and relax.
7. The Pacific Ocean is not the Caribbean. It was cold and rough.(I guess it's what
8. Yes, we were badgered by the vacation sellers in the lobby that we thought were the staff. I don't understand why Dreams would allow the harassing.

I will not return to this resort mainly because of the room. If I spend that amount of money, I want a bed with no body odor and pillows that don't stink.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 93vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Gerente at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience at the resort; your comments are very important for us as a tool for improvement, please be sure your observations have been shared and reviewed with our Room Division Departments to act upon.

As important to know you enjoyed our services and areas.

We hope you give us the oportunity to make ammends, truly live the experience every one of our guests deserves.

Kindly,

Ivetee Chavez

Quality Control Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our third trip 1/18/14 to 1/24/13 was just as good as the two previous times. I cannot stress enough how lovely the staff are. Every single person that we crossed paths with could not be any friendlier with smiling faces and a very helpful attitude. Just awesome! (The reason we come back)

The beach is fantastic, along with the pools, but the 2 closest to the ocean are freezing! Food is wonderful, especially Oceana and Portofino. Room service was very quick and very good.

I have always loved the rooms, with the huge bathtub inside and the jacuzzi tub on the balcony.
Kept spotlessly clean the whole time. We requested only beer and mineral water in our service bar and it was obliged, no problem. Mattress was a little hard, but we slept well anyway.

Their wi-fi app works great, we never had a problem with it, just a little tricky to download.

Just about everything in this resort is top notch. I always wonder when people say they get sick, we have never been sick here ever and I am immunosuppressed because of the meds I take. I think those people either eat and drink way too much or actually get a bug on the airplane on the way down.

As I say every time, we will be back. Our very favorite place and we travel quite a bit. Any questions, you can message me. GO!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayahibe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, E-Concierge at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,
It's so good to know your opinion, is always a pleasure to offer you the best service we can.

We hope to see soon and the Resort again.
Best regards.

E-Concierge
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Okay place.Weather was great.I hate cheese and even when I searched all the a la carte menus for items with no cheese, they snuck it in. Cheese, Cheese ,Cheese.The rooms were clean and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Room 1808 ocean view beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuevo Vallarta
6.7 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#41 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.6 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
13.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

Property: Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Paseo de lo Cocoteros, Lotes 32 y 33, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Villamagna brings Unlimited-Luxury® to families, couples and friends in a picturesque setting with the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nueva Vallarta Nuevo
Dreams Villamagna Nueva Vallarta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing