We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place, but sometimes they get too busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eddie's Place Nopal Beach

Eddie's Place Nopal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $235
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place, but sometimes they get too busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have eaten at Eddie's Place a couple of times befre, and really like it. Great food. Good prices. And usually very good service. We found out last week, however, that the place can sometimes be too popular. We had reserved a table for immdiately after sunset, and when we arrived, everything was perfect.

However, during our meal, more people arrived without reservations, and nobody wanted to sit indoors. To accomodate their patrons, waiters carried tables and chairs outside and set them up wherever they could find space. They squeezed one into the space between our table and one next to it. For the rest of the evening, the wait staff had to say "watch out" whenever they passed our table with trays of food. Our waiter ended up with more tables than he could handle, and staff fell behind because they had to move all these tables and chairs.

We like this place well enough that I'm sure we will return, but we will choose our table very cafefully next time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pvrlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    289
    129
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unfortunately less than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The only thing that popped this visit into average was the excellent food. The service was less than ideal, in fact we had to remind servers of orders, and never did get a second round of drinks. But, the camarones were very nicely done.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 57Duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Loved it here ... visited here 5 times during our week at The Grand Mayan. Food was always wonderful and the value was well, we'll worth it. Had both breakfasts and lunches and was never disappointed. Definitely go there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Owner in Nuevo Vallarta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been to Eddie's many times since he opened his first, small version of Eddie's Place. His success and growth are truly indicative of his consistency and great food. But beyond the good food is the man himself, which always makes Eddies a great place to visit. We were there on a crowded December night and Eddie personally made sure there was room for us by finding an extra table. As we enjoyed the music, a patron locked his keys in his car and set the car alarm off numerous times trying to get his keys. Although this was no fault of Eddie, he felt bad for his guests and walked the restaurant himself dispatching free drinks to all the patrons. Now that is a great owner! Cheers to Eddie!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank srichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service and nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Always a fun time. Casual, comfortable, nice staff, wonderful owner--who is always there! Don't miss it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendyGK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie's Place Nopal Beach also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Eddie's Place Nopal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing