We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Pacifico
Nearby Hotels
Marival Resort & Suites(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$199
$161
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
$672
$554
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$265
$223
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
$466
$319
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$210
$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
$341
$275
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
$238
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$353
$129
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Riu Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,322)
Filter reviews
4,322 results
Traveler rating
2,436
1,221
418
131
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,436
1,221
418
131
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla toscanaspecialty restaurantssports barguacamolekrystal restaurantpeninsula buffetjacuzzi suitepartial ocean viewmichael jackson showthomson replarge poolgarden viewcaribbean sidebreakfast and lunchentertainment staffmake reservationshotel is beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
2,807 - 2,812 of 4,322 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Where do I start! From the moment my wife and I walked into the bar beautiful lobby to the sad cutting off of the AI wristband to go home every minute was just about perfect. The resort is just beautiful and extremely well kept, there is always someone cleaning up. Some reviews have said that the pool is like a washroom but we didn't find that at all, OK so maybe the actual restrooms are a bit far from the beach but they certainly aren't from the pool! And anyway we saw quite a few times the staff taking samples to test. We found all the staff to be very attentive, friendly and helpful, but special mention should go to Ana, an amazing pool waitress who always remembered our drinks; Teddy in the buffet restaurant and Roger in the piano bar. The food was also extremely good, we ate in the buffet restaurant for the majority of the stay and always found it to be tasty, hot and plentiful. Most nights there was a different theme. It was quite difficult to book the specialty restaurants but we did get into the Steakhouse one night, and although is was good the menu was limited and anyway to be honest the buffet was so good we would recommend going there. The best place we ate was outside overlooking the pool. Our rooms were spotless and everything was replenished at least daily! We had a partial ocean view from the 4th floor and could see down to Puerta Vallarta, it was stunning. The beach is gorgeous and we saw dolphins and whales from a distance! We would recommend the 45 minute walk to Bucerias and take a look around the flea market, the vendors do pester you a bit but they generally go away when you say you are not interested. I have stayed at many AI resorts in Europe and the Caribbean and would rate this resort extremely high, maybe not quite Sandals standard but not too far off! We would definitely recommend a stay at this paradise!
I will be writing separate reviews of the excursions so search for Adventure Vallarta but all were great!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adrian_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our first Riu experience and I am so glad that we chose the Riu Palace Pacifico! I have been to plenty of all inclusive resorts and this RIU Palace was by far the BEST!

Pros:
-Mini bar (with liquor + beer + water + soda) restocked daily
-Room service was exceptional
-Rooms were beautiful and spacious (sitting area + king size bed)
-Very clean hotel, every where you went there was someone wiping up your footprints ;)
-Food and service were incredible --> prior to our trip we read that we may have a hard time book dinner reservations but we had no issues at all and got into all restaurants by the end of the week. We accidently mixed up our dinner times but they let us in anyway and we were sure to tip him for the hospitality! we enjoyed the Japanese cuisine the most!
-Servers for breakfast , lunch, and dinner were exceptional.
-Pool service & and swim up bar
-Beautiful pool area
-we watched a show for entertainment everynight (Michael Jackson, Mamma Mia, Grease...)

Cons:
-far away from the downtown shopping area in Puerto Vallarta, but the resort is so beautiful who would want to leave?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler985324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Palace is perfect for relaxation in paradise. Loved this resort and would absolutely go back. It's about a 20 minute drive from the airport, not bad at all. It's north of Puerto Vallarta and right on the beach (and the beach is very nice, clean, nice waves, and you can walk for miles). They really cater to you at this all inclusive. The people working here are super friendly and work incredibly hard (hola Bruno). Most speak incredibly good English too. The place is immaculate, and they are always cleaning. The food is decent (loved the omelettes for breakfast and fresh guacamole), and the specialty restaurants on the property are good-definitely try them.
The swim up bar and the entertainment team made for a fun atmosphere with activities during the day. They have an infinity pool here built into the main pool, very cool. The grounds are gorgeous, and there are plenty of palm trees and beach chairs available on the beach (and they have beach drink service! They work very hard to make you feel relaxed). Pool chairs are a little harder to come by when people claim them at 7am.

The nightly shows on property are decent and the dancers and entertainment team work very hard to make you have a great stay (Michael Jackson and Ideal Couple were very good).

By staying at the Palace, you can visit the other 2 sister RIUs (Jalisco and Vallarta) with a 7 minute walk on the beach or on the street in front of the buildings. We had lunch at both and enjoyed their pools. Definitely go check those out (the Palace resort is a little quieter and more mature guests, which was perfect for relaxing, the Jalisco had many kids but has a traditional colorful style Mexican charm to its decor, and the Vallarta is a little more lively-mixed ages).

Vallarta Adventures was a good company for excursions, did the Las Marietas trip, boat trip was an hour and a half in wavy waters, got a little sea sick, snorkeling was too murky to see anything so we did kayaking around the island. Liked the private beach. We were lucky and got to see whales and dolphins and rays jumping out of the water.

Walk about 30 minutes on the beach into a town called Bucerias. Take a camera to get shots of the AMAZING sunsets around 7:10pm local time. Bucerias is closer than Puerto Vallarta and more traditional Mexico. Fun bars there, and you can get souvenirs. TIP: Bring small dollar bills (1s and 5s)-resort only exchanges in pesos, and so does town.

They have a few little shops right on the beach at the property, you can bargain with them on prices. They don't pressure you, if you don't want it, they walk away.

You will have a fantastic relaxing vacation and time staying at the Pacifico. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up, on 7th or 8th floors have great ocean views, and the sunsets here are unbelievable. Just Amazing.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BostonGalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Riu Palace is a complete paradise for an all inclusive. Amazing service in all aspects. I have never been waited on by such a caring and attentive staff. The beach was gorgeous, pool was beautiful. The Riu Palace is immaculately clean. Book some excursions while there. Adventure Vallarta is recommended. The resort is far away from downtown for those who want to party will pay a lot in taxi costs. Remember you can walk to the Riu Jalisco down the beach and get into their club. We will return in the future.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view! Gorgeous!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beachbummin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The resort is beautiful, the grounds are emaculate (workers were trimming the bushes by hand) the shows we went to were fun and the service was amazing (thank you Julian for everything). That being said we paid for an oceanview jr suite, the "oceanview" from our 2nd floor room was more of a building view with the ocean on the horizon beyond the building (I put up pics taken from the balcony). We had 2 double beds pushed together instead of a king bed. I do not understand why the Riu Resorts do this. I imagine more people want a king bed and if they do want double beds they do not want them pushed together anyway.
The food is wonderful, had no issues with not getting what we wanted and service was always above expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tknepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews