We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the T with Taheima”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Taheima was a pleasant surprise. The resort itself was gorgeous. It looks exactly the same if not better in person than it does on the website. Our room was spacious and luxurious, however the view of the golf course from our patio with private pool was not so appealing and would have liked it better if it were heated. We would recommend they add shrubbery or drapes like they had on the cabanas to make the private pools facing the golf course more private. This was also a sentiment we heard from other guest facing the course as they felt golfers could look right into our rooms. The restaurants were all located within the same area. Overall the food was great. It was fresh and there was a a good selection. (The breakfast buffet was probably the best).

All-inclusive includes exactly what they say it does within the resort. It covers both food and drinks (non-alcoholic and alcoholic). At the beach club outside of the resort it only covers food and drinks. You have to purchase your own alcoholic beverages at the beach. We felt they did a great job explaining this to us at check in.

If you want stiffer drinks we would suggest buying your own alcohol. It really varied with who was making them. Some drinks were really good and some not so much.

Nuevo Vallarta vs. Puerto Vallarta. This resort is located about a 45-minute taxi ride outside of downtown Puerto Vallarta, which is where the majority of the nightlight and shopping that some tourist might want (i.e., like we did!). They did not do a great job of explaining this. Nor did they provide any shuttle services to Puerto Vallarta.


Back to the resort…. the service was good. Towards the end of our stay, the maid service seemed to slack a little. We had to request our room to be cleaned, and new towels on our last day. Poolside service is hard to find, as there is only one staff member that primarily stays in the family pool area. Also note the difference in the pools. The “family pool” is heated and the “adult only pool” is ozone regulated (Which means Not Heated, lol).

It was somewhat frustrating the layout of the resort. Walking back and forth towards your room requires you to walk all around the both pool areas. This may seem like a random critique but on several occasions we would joke with other guests about the long walk to get from our rooms to the lobby, bar and restaurants.

The wireless was spotty. Though it was free, I would have paid for better wireless.

The attendant booking excursions was very pleasant and did not hound us into purchasing anything we didn’t want. She offered her suggestions and then let us decide. We booked the Canopy River Tour (Zip line) and Rhythms of the Night. They were both awesome and we appreciated her arranging our taxi transportation to and from the pick up locations.

The Spa is hidden on the third floor among other guest rooms. We are guessing this is temporary though not what you would expect from a “Health and Wellness Resort”. Our massages and facials were relaxing and the staff was professional.

For our fellow GLBT community, the resort and PV in general are accepting and we did not feel uncomfortable as a gay couple. The “Gayborhood” is located deep in downtown PV. Most taxi drivers did not know the names of the bars and clubs we wanted however, they knew the location as the “Gay area.”

Overall experience at the resort was relaxing and fun! Would definitely recommend it .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 191 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

EXTENSIVE REVIEW: We stayed 7 nights all-inclusive at this property in Feb 2012, my husband and I with our 22 month old son. The grounds are beautiful, the heated (kids) pool is fantastic, dinner is excellent food. However, I would never return here.

There were check-in issues; even with a printed copy of our confirmed reservation sent to us by Taheima itself they couldn't find it. They don't communicate with you as you are standing in front of them at the desk; only after I asked if there was a problem as it was taking forever did she say she couldn't find our reservation. Eventually, they found it, not sure why it proved so difficult.

On day two we returned to our room after the cleaning had been done in the afternoon to find a a piece of our property had been stolen. My husband had a silver chain with a Mayan Calendar medallion - it was in a dark mesh zip bag on the bathroom shelf. The only conclusion is that the cleaning staff took it. We put our passports, electronic devices and valuable gold in the safe; the $100 necklace we left zipped in the toiletry bag in the bathroom never thinking they would steal it, our bad.
We went to the front desk immediately, the girl opened the drawer before we even finished our sentence to pull out paper and pen as though this was no news to her and it was instant reflex to reach for the paper so we could write a report. We said, we don't care what happened, but if someone admits to having it we'd just like it back, no questions asked. We wrote the report and were advised management would contact us in the morning.

By noon the next day no one had contacted us, so went back to front desk. All mgmt was in a meeting; the meeting time had elapsed and they should be here any minute, we waited an hour and then left. No one contacted us that day at all. Perhaps we weren't in our room to accept the call, but no one came to the one and only pool (there are two but only 1 is heated, so no one is ever at the adult cold pool, at least not for the duration of our stay) to look for us or to the one and only restaurant. (there is only one restaurant choice for each meal time, though there are 2 restaurants).

Another day goes by and we again consult with front desk staff who seemed surprised to hear the housekeeping manager Fidel or the GM Daniel had not contacted us yet. The front desk supervisor informs us they spoke to the maid who cleaned our room who denies it (obviously) and reviewed the computer to see who swiped their card to enter our room without our presence and there was no one other than the maid and us. She assures us that mgmt will contact us.

In the meantime we carry on trying to enjoy our trip. We asked for a change in maid staff. At breakfast on day 3, my son, 22mos old was eating the black beans that accompany the breakfast burrito (great burrito and avocado sauce) and I hear him crunching loudly, strange for beans, so I look in his mouth and he spits out a stone the size of my pinky nail. We call the waiter (Francisco) and he replaces the beans. As he brings us the new beans he chuckles about the stones and that it is impossible we'd find more...before touching them, I stir them up a bit and sure enough another stone. He takes them away again and we say we'll pass on the beans for today, I actually have the impression he just brought the same beans back, but who knows. Oscar, who is a kind soul and fabulous waiter apologizes on the chef's behalf.

On day 4 since the theft, my husband observes a man in the restaurant at breakfast who seems to be supervising, checking things out; he approaches him to see if he might be management. Indeed, it was the general manager, Daniel. As my husband starts to speak he stops him to say they know all about the stones and the theft and there is nothing he could do because the maid says she didn't take it. End of story. My husband explains he understands this and asks what he, as the general manager, intends to do as compensation for our misfortune at the hands of his hotel...the manager says, "Nothing, what do you want from us?" My husband, suggests that a gesture of anything would be nice to show he was sorry for what happened to try to make us feel better about our stay there..."perhaps a massage for me and my wife. "The manager, without much hesitation says, ''sure, fine, I'll give you a massage, go to the front desk when you want it and there will be a note ready for you from me.' We were still very upset about the theft and didn't really expect anyone would fess up, but the manager's attitude was cold, uncaring and matter of fact. He didn't apologize or express his displeasure for what had happened to us. But we were glad he agreed to a couple of free massages.

Later that day my husband excitedly heads for his massage as I watch our son. He is anticipating the 50 minute full body massage. He returns after barely 30 mins to tell me that after they massaged his feet (he thought it was odd they started with his feet) it was over, the "Free massage" was a $30 foot reflexology. My husband tipped the ladies and I went up for my turn. We thought, sheesh, could Daniel not have splurged for a real, body massage. Good grief. The Spa is actually one of the resort rooms, not a separate building. That means you hear the goings on outside the room. Not a great spa space, but they did make good effort.

The service everywhere is terrible. We have traveled Mexico before and expect this, but at this resort with all they hype themselves up to be, it is exceptionally bad. Everything is verrrry slow. Making it slower still is having to sign off on every single thing you order, (even under the all-inclusive plan) a bottle of water, fruit plate, after each meal, everything...

There is one restaurant choice for breakfast and the choices and food is good (except for the rocks!)

For lunch there is a different menu in the same restaurant as breakfast; lunch options get boring fast after 7 days. Lots of ceviche, a couple of sandwiches, burgers, no salad options besides the little you get with your meal, which comes undressed. This same lunch menu is all you are offered all day long at the pool until 6pm ish - it gets old fast. There is no bar at the pool, just a waiter who takes your order. Sounds lovely to sit at the pool and be served food and drink, but the novelty is short lived as it took an hour or more to get our food and/or drinks. By day 2-3 we started ordering 2 or 3 drinks at a time because we knew it would be an hour before we saw the waiter again. There is no way no beckon the waiter. Food often arrived cold as it took so long. Then you need to wait/find him to sign your bill...

Many times different things weren't available, particularly lunch and aftn; if you wanted fruit in the aftn it was unavailable as they only serve it in the morning. If you want guacamole, its not available, no avocados. (Really? In Mexico?) If you ask for chicken added to your quesadilla, they will likely bring it to you without chicken and have some weird kitchen excuse.

We were always on the hunt for towels at the pool. Never enough (even though there fewer than 12 people at the pool at any given time). There is no one to call...you have to wait to bump into the pool waiter and he would call for towels and 45 mins later they would arrive.

Dinner was the best part. The dinner restaurant is very nice. The options were great and always varied, the food quality and presentation were excellent. Jesus and Oscar were the best waiters we had during our stay...going the extra mile.

Rooms are great, clean, well-decorated and spacious. We were told there are no tubs in any rooms, anywhere on the property (we asked as it would have been easier for our son instead of slipping around in the shower with us). We later found this to be false as we spoke to a timeshare owner.

This resort is not on the beach but they shuttle you there and that all worked out just fine. Beware of the beach club food and restrooms - they are not high quality and someone got sick from the food during our week there.

The general vibe at this place was not fantastic, everyone complained about the service, the lack of lunch/daytime food options and the boredom with only one restaurant to choose from at each meal.

Not good for kids, the kids club was non-existent; there is a schedule of events and a kids room but there is no staff there; thus no events, because there is hardly anyone at this resort! Food options for kids is scarce. One high chair on the entire property.

The resort was dead, there might have been 10 couples/families for the week we were there. it is a great, quiet relaxing place, which is what we were after, but it felt desolate, like something wasn't quite right...why weren't people coming here. We met most people there on Living Social or other vouchers like us. It seems this place is begging for patronage offering great deals to try to get people here as rumor has it the owner is having financial difficulties and people aren't streaming here. If they make a few good solid tweaks this place would be fabulous.

All reviews are relative, so take what you will; but this was our honest experience here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AlexManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Taheima from March 4 to March 9. Taheima Wellness Resort and Spa is located off the beaten path in Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico approximately 25 minutes via cab ride ($20) from downtown Puerto Vallarta. It is a quiet place to relax and get away from the commotion of daily life. If you are looking for a party atmosphere, nightclubs, late-night dining or a wild time, look elsewhere. Taheima is a place of rejuvenation and relaxation. We purchased the package on Living Social and were not approached about participating in any timeshare presentations.
When we made the reservation we did not elect to purchase the $50 VIP service from the Airport to the resort. When you arrive at the airport you will see people dressed in white that are harrassing the tourists and offering rides to the resorts. Most of these people are timeshare salesman and will try to get you to sign up for a timeshare presentation. We opted to take a yellow national cab from the airport to the resort. There is a booth when you pass all of the timeshare people on the left that says taxi and that is where you pay for your cab. This service was approximately $22 and was quite the experience. The cab that we took was not very nice lacked air conditioning, a radio and seatbelts but it got us to the resort in one piece. Some of the guests at Taheima mentioned that they took the timeshare rides to the resort and were asked to show up for a presentation on the following day and later chose not to go.
As far as the food, the breakfast on the first two days was buffett style as the resort was full. This was nice as you could eat as much as you wanted and included, mexican dishes, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs and pancakes. On the third day the breakfast switched to a menu which included, breakfast quesadillas, burritos, steak and eggs, french toast, fresh fruit and yogurt. The lunch menu at the restaurant is the same as the lunch menu by the pool although the service is faster in the restaurant. It includes, hamburgers, ceviche, quesadillas, nachos and guacamole. Most of the days we ate at the beach club as the food was of better quality although it was a similar menu. The dinner menu has 2 choices for Salads, 1 choice for Soup, 4 main entrees and 6 dessert options. The salads, soups, and entree were different each night. There was usually a fish, beef/pork or chicken choice and a vegetarian option.
Although the food was tasty, the portion sizes were small.
The service at the restaurants and pool side was extremely slow which is typical for the culture as they expect meals to be a slow moving experience. The dinners took approximately 1.5 hours from start to finish. I would suggest ordering your dinner and drinks at the same time in order to speed up dining.
The pool side service was also extremely slow requiring us to order multiple drinks at a time. I would suggest bringing a thermos that will keep your drinks cold so that the margaritas don't melt in the sun.
The late night bar that is open from 6 PM to 1 AM and is the only public place to smoke was our favorite part of the trip. David (the bartender) makes the most wonderful margaritas, pina coladas, Miami Vices and Daquiris that we have ever tasted. All of the blended drinks are made with fresh fruit right in front of you. The service in the late night bar was the best at the resort as he keeps your drinks full and is an excellent bartender. The rest of the staff at Taheima could really learn from his style and his service. A pool table or other entertainment at the late night bar would help the guests enjoy the time spent in the bar.
One thing that was nice about the resort was that each unit contains a mini fridge, stove, microwave and blender. Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort but is very choppy and difficult to connect to. We had the best luck connecting in the lobby area but the connection in the rest of the resort was terrible. In the back of the resort is a business center which includes three computers that are all connected to the internet.
There is a shopping center 20 minutes walking distance from the resort called Paradise Village where you can purchase beer and groceries for late night cravings and faster pool side drinks.
One of the days we took a cab to downtown Puerto Vallarta which is where all the action is. I would recommend going at least one day for a few hours as this is where the shopping, nightlife and restaurants are. It is very safe and the crime is minimal. I would even trust taking a cab late at night to the nightclubs as the area is extremely safe. Although the American media states that the cruises are no longer stopping in Mexico, we witnessed three cruise ships docked at the port during the day. The Canadians and U.S. citizens that live in the area will tell you that they feel safer in the area than they do in the larger cities in North America.

Overall we had a wonderful, relaxing experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the golf side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omar-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Ok. I just loved this place! I was really nervous that it would not be "as advertised", but the minute we walked in, it met and exceeded every expectation, plus some. The big plus was the staff! My daughter lost her passport before we ever checked in and the staff there made it their personal mission to help us find it...and they did. The concierge(s) went above and beyond and were so sweet about it!. The food was unbelievable! A different menu each night, the meals were healthy and delicious, but dessert was always the best part! The room was exactly as pictured, clean, comfortable. Nothing over the top, which was indicative of Taheima in general. Because Taheima is small, we felt more like VIP's than typical tourists. The beach is a short shuttle (free) ride away and we had complete access to all of the beach amenities. We stayed at the resort most days - yoga in the morning. reading by the pool (not crowded at all) during the day, massages before dinner, and peace and quiet at night. Heaven! I cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our room looked exactly like the on-line pictures. I don't think you can go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

March 2012. We were very lucky that we went during a slow week and the place was less than half full. We found out that if the number of guests was over 100, they served breakfast and lunch buffet style. Being a la carte, the food was top quality in terms of freshness, presentation, taste and efficiency. The drinks were made to your liking and when you wanted a strong drink, it was "Strong Like Bull". Dinner was exceptionally good, even for an upscale pricey restaurant. For the level of service, quality of food & beverage, and service we were worried if everything was in fact All Inclusive.

As of now, they only have one restaurant openned at any one time plus the pool side food and beverage service. The breakfast and lunch restaurant is open for breakfast from 7 to 11:30 am and lunch from 11:30 am to 6 pm. Dinner is in the restaurant next to it and is open from 6 pm to10:30 pm. A bar is open from 6 pm till 1 am.

They are slightly understaffed as tourism is slow and the high season March break stretches their services thin but the try their best and stay very pleasant throughout. Tipping is not mandatory but they deserve to be tipped well since their salaries are low and very hard working. I suggest at least 20 pesos for the room cleaning lady per day, 5 - 10% for food and beverages. They have a system where they give you a bill of the food and beverages ordered to sign (if All inclusive) or pay. So you can use the bill to judge how much tip to pay. Most guests do leave a tip.

Taheima is a Timeshare, Full ownership and Hotel resort mix. As a hotel they offer the option of All inclusive which is well worth every penny. I haven't had so much good food and drinks ever.

So if anyone wants to go to a safe quiet place to lounge and pig out, this is it. Well worth every penny.

Final note on the safety of Puerto Vallarta. The place is safer than the place you are coming from for sure. I'm from Vancouver BC and for sure PV is safer and friendlier. All the negative news is hyped for the purpose of retaining tourist dollars within US. We went just about anywhere and everywhere. Safe and friendly rings throughout the place. We went to Walmart and shopped. Great place to get Tequila. It's about 1/3 the price compared to Canada. 750 ml Don Julio Anejo for about 38 cad.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My family and I just got home from a five-night stay at Taheima. My entire family loved this place, including my three teenage daughters. The highlight of the trip was our morning yoga class and afternoon relaxation class with Mariano! A truly wonderful and inspirational teacher! The food was outstanding and we appreciated having such a wonderful wait staff, especially the ever-pleasant Carlos! Temazcal was an experience not to be missed, but not for the faint-hearted! Marciano was a wonderful Temazcal guide as well. And, of course, we can't forget the mascot of this resort, the grey cat named Taheima. Don't forget to offer him a little snack when you see him! The Beach Club was beautiful, the food there was great, and the shuttle was timely and took only a few short minutes to get there. Not a hassle at all. The rooms were clean, the pool was lovely, and the massages were heavenly. The only thing that we can really say could be improved would be to have a larger variety of classes, and faster service time for food at pool and at dinner... but we were in Mexico, and so we took it with a grain of salt, the same way we took our delicious margaritas!! The staff all worked very hard! I did not enjoy having to sign a receipt every time we ate, and it seemed to be unclear whether gratuities were included in the all-inclusive or not. I would prefer having gratuities included for certain and not have to worry about that at all. We tipped a bit extra just in case, as the staff was so helpful and friendly. It is indeed a very relaxing and healthy vacation... it is not a place to be if you want the loud, nightlife/party atmosphere. For us, it was different than the usual vacation -- It was real, wholesome, quality family time! It is a welcome change for a family to all do yoga, temazcal, massages, and relaxation class together rather than the same old vacation stuff. We met many interesting and friendly people there, and we would love to go back there someday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2thbeach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Just writing in to tell you what a nice relaxing time we had at the resort. We were there the week of February 25-March 3. There were 6 of us travelling together and each couple had our own rooms with outdoor pools. We would have liked the pools to be a little warmer so we could utilize them more but other then that Taheima was a great spot to stay and just relax. Food was very good.. and coffee was the best that I had ever tried!! Service could have been a little quicker but that's expected when you're there to relax...not being rushed by any means. Elaina was very gracious and took care of our needs..keeping our group close together with our rooms. David our bartender in the bar was the best!! Carlos did a great job in the dinner restuarant and Francisco in the breakfast restuarant....we loved it. I'd really like to get some of that coffee sent back to me!! Missing that and all the great employees!! I would enjoy returning at some time! Marla L.(Fort Wayne, IN)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuevo Vallarta hotels
0.7 mi away
Bahia del Sol Resort
Bahia del Sol Resort
#27 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Boutique
Marina Banderas Suites Hotel Bou...
#21 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
31 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Virgilios
Casa Virgilios
#1 of 9 in Nuevo Vallarta
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa

Address: Near El Tigre Golf Course, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range: $82 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa Hideaway Retreat Defines a Holiday Experience With a Meaning and Purpose for Body, Mind and Soul. Taheima, located within 10 minutes of Puerto Vallarta International Airport, offers convenience and ease-of-access, all within its own tropical oasis. Taheima offers its own landscaped lagoons and Infinity swimming pools, beach club, Taheima artfully unites shelter with nature within a tropical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Taheima Wellness Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taheima Wellness Resort And Spa
Taheima Wellness Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing