We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best restaurant in Mexicali”
Review of La Piazza - CLOSED

La Piazza
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 25, 2014 via mobile

I cannot name a single negative point. I had the piazza salad to start, which was really refreshing and a great combination of flavours. Then I had the fish of the day which was even better: three big fillets with perfectly baked zucchini, tomatoes and mushrooms, and I'm very picky when it comes to vegetables!

The restaurant itself has a great atmosphere, the music is excellent and the waiting staff was very friendly and helpful.

As a European this restaurant really made me feel at home, be sure to go here!

Thank ellbulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2014

When my husband and I, went to Mexicali, we enjoy a lot the excellent food, and the lovely atmosphere, is a delight be there. excellent service and the very reasonable prices. I remember the chef coming to our table !, is very kind attention . We can not wait to come back again

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mexicali09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

I visited this restaurant during my business trip in Mexicali on august 2014 every night for dinner and every time i was satisfied for the good food.
This restaurant is located in a very nice place, in a quiet location.
The food is excellent, and the restaurant is a real Italian restaurant like you can find in Italy.
The price is not too expensive for the quality of food and the service.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Few restaurants in Mexicali can say they have been in business for more than a decade. In a market dominated by chinese restaurants, corporate-chain eateries and dusty taco stands, La Piazza, stands out as a beacon of creative and original cuisine. The use of locally-sourced ingredients, fresh seafood (from Ensenada), Italian technique and Mexican love for asertive flavors, highlights its award-winning chef´s passion and aproach to food preparation. One must try the beef tongue-stuffed peppers: absolutely sinful. My other favorites include, of course the pizza a la diavola: spicy hot and delicious; the ensalada jardín or garden salad: fresh and wonderful; or the ensalada casino, I realy can´t deside. If the soup of the day is: Minestrone, clam chowder or the French onion soup, you must try it. Steaks cooked to perfection to your favorite doneness, but it I recomend medium rare to enjoy to the max, specially with a fine glass of wine from their ample selection, or you can bring your own favorite for a fair corking fee. Other favorites -you can tell I know the menu, right?- spaguetti a la matricciana; steamed clams in three salsas with toast made from their daily wood-fired oven bread. I am waiting for Chef Guillermo Barreto to bring back his coup-du-grace: his beef tongue tacos. A beautifully precise concoction of flavors and textures. These little things by themselves put him on the Mexican culinary map. All of this, and in a very nice setting, with a capable staff, and at a most reasonable price. For desserts -I almost forgot: flan or the guava parfait. These are my choices. I hope you enjoy your experience as much as I have for more than 12 years it has been in business. It is almost my home away from home. ¡Salud! JB

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This place has to be in my top 5 culinary experiences, the food, wines, atmosphere, staff, is absolutely perfect.
Owners know their kitchen and what comes out of it every single time.
For a special occasion or just to dine with friends and family a definitely recommend.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Francisco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazza also viewed

Mexicali, Baja California Norte
Mexicali, Baja California Norte
 
Mexicali, Baja California Norte
Mexicali, Baja California Norte
 
Mexicali, Baja California Norte
Mexicali, Baja California Norte
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing