We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Express Junior Mexicali
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Mexicali
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I forgot shoes in my room and came back to get them and they were missing......I informed staff and no one claimed to see it. My shoes were expensive and obviously they weren't going to return them..... Never again will I stay here ....the hotel manager should be ashamed for hiring thieves..,.no one helped me out either....

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babydll161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Junior Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for contacting us, we want to apologize for what happened during your stay, we commented that the forgotten items are left on guard and can be ordered directly at reception

Waiting us the chance to have your preference and serve you as you deserve.
We are at your service.
GREETINGS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 284 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

City junior needs train front desk!
I made reservation on line, 1 room 2beds for 2 nights, March 6th& 7 th (2 people) and another room 2 beds for 1 night, March 7 th (2 people). I called hotel to reconfirm one day before to stay and also we double check reservation when we arrived first day.
But when 2 more people arrived second day another room was cancelled by hotel.
We were told by staff “Somebody hotel staff cancelled by mistake, but I will give you 1 room for 3 beds as same price, let me confirm.”
After we waited 1 hour and half we were told “We cannot provide that room but we can offer 1 single room (of course one bed!) for 2 people, as same price.” “?????? What are you talking about? We need 2 beds for 2 more people because we came for business trip! They are not couple”
Receptionist called different places but cannot give us solution. Even though no apology for inconvenient and said “Manager is coming to hotel so you need to wait.” “???????? How long we need to wait at Lobby???? Until Manager arrive at hotel??? We are so tired want to take a rest as soon as possible. ”
Finally 2 hours later, Manager called us by phone said “We will give you 2 single rooms as same price (as 1 room for 2 beds.)”
How difficult to make solution and recover their mistake!
On top of that, when we check out, there was no NOTE about mistake and staff tried to charge us for extra single room which supposed not charge. We needed to explain again and wait 40 min to check out.
Very inconvenient and no apology by staff. In my opinion, they shouldn’t charge 2 single rooms for 1 night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Cesar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlen c, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Junior Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest

First of all I want to offer you an apology for any inconvenience during your stay in reference with the incident with the service the reception as this helps us to identify our areas of opportunity and work on them to improve the quality of our services; we reported that we have implemented corrective action in relation to your comment.
Waiting us the chance to have your preference and serve you as you deserve.

We are at your service.
GREETINGS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

First off, I have stayed at this hotel on prior occasions and never had any problems until this last stay. I made reservations for the hotel through booking.com. On the day of our arrival, we were helped by the desk employee named "Silvia". To make a long story short, she did not honor the price I was given on my reservation so we ended up paying a higher price. To top it off, we got our room and the minute we opened the door, WOW! the stench of sewage hit us. We turned on the A/C thinking it would dissipate. it didn't, so I complained to Silvia, who instead of immediately giving another room, called the security guard to go up with me and check "my story". Once the guard told her that it did smell, she moved us to another room. I asked her if she didn't believe me to which she responded that she did but that she still had to check. In other words she didn't believe me. I was very disappointed overall about my stay this time around. My wife said she did not want to stay at this hotel ever again. We are originally from Mexicali and visit family often, so I guess we will just have to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of hallways are quieter and rooms with 1 bed are a little more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Junior Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Good afternoon George,

Thanks for contacting us, we want to apologize for what happened to her room and reception service Rest assured that corrective actions are being taken to prevent this from recurring. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us your experience. Which are taken into account in order to grow and take advantage of our opportunity areas.
Hope to continue with their preference in future occasions

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I just returned from a short trip to Mexicali for a graduation from a Bible school. I reserved two nights at the hotel upon the recommendation of a friend. I found the room to be very clean as was the restroom. The air conditioner worked very well (very important in Mexicali). I found the bed to be very comfortable. I have stayed at another hotel that had a nice bed but it was just too firm or hard for me. I was very happy to find this bed had a mattress that was not too hard...just right. Also I was happy that the free WiFi worked vey well. I had a little trouble finding the hotel so here are my directions that might help. If you are on the main street, Blvd Lazaro Cardenas heading east...as you are approaching a bridge or overpass take the ramp just before the overpass/bridge to the right. At the corner where you see a Burger King turn right or south. After you go by a casino you will see the hotel on your right. The security at the hotel was very good.
As for the area, just a short distance away is a nice indoor mall anchored by a Mega store with several restaurants around the area. The price was very reasonable and included an adequate breakfast. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyvacationer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Junior Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear guest.

Thanks for contacting us, it is a pleasure to know that your stay in our hotel City Junior Mexicali, meet your expectations and know that our service standards and quality made ​​him feel very comfortable during their stay.

We said goodbye to you, but first thank you for your preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was waiting for this hotel to be listed..... My families home got too crowded here in Mexicali & my cousin recommend this place. It looks rather bland driving up from the street, but I just needed a place to sleep thought night. The TV reception appeared to be from an analog signal as it was snowy at times, so the TV channel selection is sparse. I tested the public computer for speed, but lost my notes - I think it was at a 1.5 Mbps download. The room was quite & clean for what I think was about $40.00 American. The breakfast was free & consisted of orange juice, coffee, & pan dulce (Mexican sweet bread). It did not have the amenities the Crowne Plaza Mexicali has but for the money it was worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calfencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Junior Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to offer our services is our main motivation and commitment that your stay is pleasant and productive. Together with you we are taking an important first step in our path.
We appreciate the confidence you had in sharing their experience and this commits us to continue working hard towards achieving new triumphs and today we are proud that you are part of the story we're writing.

Thanks for visiting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Travelingon my own as an American woman in Mexico can be daunting, but this place made it easy. It's clean, safe, quiet, has security, a complimentary breakfast and is very reasonably priced. I felt safe at all times and the staff went out of their way to help me any chance that I asked! This seems to be more of a "business" type of hotel, but I also saw a young woman with a small child.

The rooms are a bit small and although adequately appointed with the necessaties, it would not be considered a luxury room. It had a queen bed, a small night table on each side of the bed with a telephone and a desk type shelf as well as a shelf under the window. The aire conditioning worked perfect, and the bathroom was clean. They give you a small bottle (16 oz) of water and plenty of towels. There was an extra blanket on the shelf and I asked for 2 additional pillows which I received without hesitation.

There are vending machines and an ice machine in the lobby, as well as a computer for general use. They have a shuttle service available that is coplimentary, but I am not sure about the details.

All in all, this was a good choice for me. I paid $42 per night and tax which I thought was a great price. The fact that it felt safe to me was my # 1 criteria, everything else was a bonue really. If traveling to Mexicali again, I would use this same hotel as it did meet the needs I had for this trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaner921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Junior Mexicali, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest:
It is our pleasure to offer our services is our main motivation and commitment that your stay is pleasant and productive. Together with you we are taking an important first step in our path.
We appreciate the confidence you had in sharing their experience and this commits us to continue working hard towards achieving new triumphs and today we are proud that you are part of the story we're writing.

Thanks for visiting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexicali hotels
2.3 mi away
City Express Mexicali
City Express Mexicali
#2 of 20 in Mexicali
317 reviews
3.4 mi away
One Mexicali
One Mexicali
#6 of 20 in Mexicali
42 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
#1 of 20 in Mexicali
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial-Mexicali
Hotel Colonial-Mexicali
#11 of 20 in Mexicali
44 reviews
2.8 mi away
Araiza Calafia and Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lucerna Mexicali
Hotel Lucerna Mexicali
#3 of 20 in Mexicali
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Express Junior Mexicali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Junior Mexicali

Address: Calzada Manuel Gomez Morin 2120 | Col. Granjas Agricolas, Mexicali 21270, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Mexicali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Mexicali
Price Range: $40 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Express Junior Mexicali 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Express Junior Mexicali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing