We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Well Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castelo Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Boca del Rio
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Clean & Well Located”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a newer hotel in the area between Veracruz and Boca Del Rio. Clean and very centrally located to those two destinations. The mall is right across the street. The rooms are very well lit with a small balcony. The elevators are a bit slow, but you will want a room on the upper floors if you are on the street side facing south. While noisy, those rooms get the most sun. The hotel has a rather Spartan gym on the top floor and a small pool outside with a Jacuzzi. Breakfast was included but was only a continental. The full buffet is extra and quite pricey.

Room Tip: The elevators are a bit slow, but you will want a room on the upper floors if you are on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCastelo, Gerente at Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear John R,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and that you liked our rooms. We will use your feedback to continue to improve our services.
We hope to see you soon in your next stay in Veracruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
12
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, central to the heart of little Boca del Rio, reliable staff, good food, clean rooms, not far from the beach, across from a major shopping mall, etc., but as a business traveler I highly value a fast, reliable WiFi connection in my room. I had a terrible time with WiFi during this visit - it was slow, crapped out frequently, etc., etc.

If WiFi is unimportant to you, you'll be happy at this hotel. But if you need a reliable WiFi connection 24 hours a day, this may not be the right hotel for you.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel might be a little quieter than on facing the highway, but my roomed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TilEulenspiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCastelo, Gerente at Castelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr. TilEulenspiegel. Thank you for staying with us in your visit to Veracruz and for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants as well as our service. We want to take this opportunity to let you know that we have a specialized team for wireless internet support which can be contacted trough our Front Desk Team. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The rooms are clean, the bed is average, the shower lacks preassure and the restaurant is just ok, but in general staff is not well trained. A simple change to have all meals included just never happenned and it meant to bring a member of the senior staff 3 times in a 1 night stay.
The excercise room is terrible, no air conditioning, no towels, old machines.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd number room or ask specifically not to face the street which is in front of a mall wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPM_WORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Good Hotel price if you booked via travel agency, the walk in price is too high for what this hotel offers.

The hotel has a very poor quality in customer service, we were 4 people in the room and we received only 2 towels, when we asked for more towels the lady who delivered them complained about it in a very bad way, when we complained about this situation in the front desk, they didn't even care.

Also upon our arrival, we had to wait about half an hour for our luggage to be delivered in the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel_Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boca del Rio hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boca del Rio Veracruz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Veracruz-Boca del Rio
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Veracruz-Boca Del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galeria Plaza Veracruz
Galeria Plaza Veracruz
#1 of 28 in Boca del Rio
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Veracruz Boca Del Rio
0.9 mi away
Camino Real Veracruz
Camino Real Veracruz
#9 of 28 in Boca del Rio
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo Hotel

Property: Castelo Hotel
Address: Av. Las Americas 241 | Fracc. Las Américas, Boca del Rio 94299, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Boca del Rio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Boca del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castelo Hotel is the perfect option for their business, holiday or Conference and Meetings in the port of Veracruz and Boca del Rio. 141 comfortable rooms and two special rooms that can be adapted to the needs of each client with excellent facilities. We have cafeteria, restaurant, gym, library, free Wi-Fi pool and palapa. Each room provides a welcoming, relaxed and stylish atmosphere. Enjoy our service and feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo Hotel Veracruz/Boca Del Rio, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing