We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“lovely oasis in the heart of a very busy commercial area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Estancia Hotel

La Estancia Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Estancia Hotel
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Leon
Chambersburg, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lovely oasis in the heart of a very busy commercial area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Four of us (2 couples) spent a night at La Estancia, in order to take advantage of a concert, a MetOpera simulcast, and the opportunity to shop in the best outlets in Mexico for leather goods. The staff of the hotel were all extremely gracious. We had executive suite rooms (for $92USD per room), and there were indeed executive level. Two TV's, sitting room + 2 double beds, spacious closets, very spacious & elegant bathroom with separate toilet, sunken bathtub, and easily enough space for two people's toiletries (much more expensive hotels don't always provide this). Very elegant decor as well -- the first wall-to-wall carpet I have EVER seen in Mexico, anywhere! Breakfast is a very generous buffet; excellent food, omelets made to order ($168 Pesos p/p I think). Very convenient to Forum Cultural, too. Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: executive suite rooms are only a few dollars more; worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    15
    9
    1
See reviews for
14
5
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is located on a main road, the historic center is nearby as well as shopping malls. Urban transport station opposite the hotel.

The hotel has old furniture and outdated decor. The rooms are small, the bathroom is large but also with very old decor. The bed is fine. Long dark corridors.

I felt a slight smell of sink that followed up the room.

You can find something better, it cost me 850 pesos a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joselo527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Hotel rooms are large but ridiculously outdated, old tv's and appliances. The rooms are dark and musty. The bathrooms are a redeeming feature but also in need of a serious update.
My rooms was on the first floor with no elevator and endless corridors. All the common spaces felt even more outdated, restaurants etc not worth your time or money.
Though the hotel should be renovated it should also remove the lazy and unhelpful staff- not impressed.
There are better options in Leon than this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmterheegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leon hotels

Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed here 4 nights in Sept 2011 because my company had a corporate rate. The rooms are large and must have been nice 20 years ago. By today's standards the rooms are in need of refreshing. The beds are hard, the bedspread had a dark stain, the furniture is worn and the carpeting in the room is at least 10 years old. My room was on the second floor (no elevator). I ate one breakfast buffet and one supper in the restaurant and have nothing good to say. I did see a lot of locals arrive for Sunday brunch (which I didn't try) so maybe that meal is better. Next door is the hotel NE New Estancia, which looked much newer and nicer. This hotel is next to the leather district which is loaded with shopping opportunities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b1v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon gto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

i stayed here for three nights with wife and kids, the room is very big with a huge bathroom with tub and plenty space to move in. the staff is very friendly, the food excelent, have parking lot with no extra charge,close to all amenities in town,the only thing to improve is the pool, the water is very cold, need to heat it up.this hotel doesnt belong to any chain,but beleiveme you will get best offer than fiesta americana or holiday inn. tip ,ask for master suite , you could get for just 100 dolars an apartment of the size of any one in manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank contador70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2005

I really liked this hotel, it was clean, the people were attentive, and the room was the size of a suite--it came up to $750 pesos per night, and I thought it was a good value. There is the shoe district around the corner, the bus station that will take you to Guanajuato and San Miguel de Allende, a bus that runs in the middle of the main drag right in front. It's a good location! The airport is about 20-25 minutes away, and I was charged an average of $160 pesos for the one-way ride. The locals seem to think that next door's "La nueva Estancia" is even nicer (it used to be one hotel, but gossip has it that 2 brothers divided it into two seperate hotels). La Estancia has several little pools that look like would be fun for kids during the summer.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melovechocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.1 mi away
NE Hotel Nueva Estancia
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Plaza Stadium
0.1 mi away
Hotsson Hotel
Hotsson Hotel
#4 of 54 in Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand River Plaza
0.2 mi away
Eco Express Hotel Poliforum
1.0 mi away
Entre Patios Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estancia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estancia Hotel

Property: La Estancia Hotel
Address: Blvd Adolfo Lopez Mateos #1311 Oriente, Leon 37270, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Estancia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
La Estancia Hotel Leon, Mexico - Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing