We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I decided upon this hotel as it was the closest to where I needed to be for business, and it didn't disappoint! Though I would imagine if you wanted to do the tourist stuff it's location wouldn't be for you.

Clean, modern, well appointed rooms .... mine beautifully dressed and cleaned by Erica, very attentive dining staff, enjoyed the food, great mexican breakfast buffet, and the ladies at reception were super helpful.

Be aware some of the taxi drivers have no idea where this hotel is, so have the address and a map printed out for them.... but that was the only downside I found.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out of the hotel, those that overlook the atrium are much warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    81
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
47
24
9
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for business and was very disappointed in the food quality especially room service menu. Comfortable but service overall was really lacking.

Room Tip: Upper floor is better but all windows face inside atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAXWILLDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear MAXWILLDESIGN,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are happy that you found the room comfortable. We are sorry you were not 100% satisfied with the hotel staff service and food options. I truly value your comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Its kind of a full circle for me. My first business travel was in a priority club affliated hoted in Niles ohio, where i received the best customer services. Stayed faithful for 10 years with this chain cause of this.. I think I finally met the hotel that will cause me never to stay at this chain again. This is a nice hotel, but unfortunaltey the management just doesnt care. Various stays with various problems, with a managment staff that doesnt even apologies. Its really your fault is their answer. Ive stayed a total of 240 nights at this hotel, with my staff staying way above that, but we will be looking for a different place going foward. My advice for business travelers, look elsewhere the headaches and non responsiveness of the management staff is just not worith it. If the chain wantsto contact me, I will be more than happy to them. I've tried talkign to the staff here, but they just dont even care to hear it..

Room Tip: Pay for it, just like comments below.. loyal customers are never upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwestrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
lwestrada,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Leon, Mexico. I am so sorry to see the service was below expectations. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Leon.

Sincerely,

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for business. The hotel is nice (even though there were some broken security doors and ice machines), but the service is definitely lacking.

I had to request a room upgrade when I noticed that my traveling companion had a nicer room. This is an issue because I'm a member of their Rewards program, but the traveling companion is not. When asking, the Front Desk clerk was rude and defensive.

The food was mediocre and lacked selection. Don't order any steaks as they're horribly prepared.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 10CJM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear 10CJM77,

Thank you for writing your review, The feedback we receive is very valuable. I'm very sorry to hear the service you received was not satisfactory. we do our best to upgrade our Priority Club members when upgrades are available. I apologize if there were not any available at the time of your stay. You comments about the food quality will be passed on the our food and beverage department. These comments let them know where they can improve. Once again thank you for your review and I hope to see you again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Leon, MX for one week.

Room: My room accommodations where satisfactory.

Food/Room Service: I have no complaints about the meals I ate there (I didn’t try their sushi restaurant so I cannot speak for that). My Spanish is quite poor but I had little trouble finding someone who could speak enough English to understand my requests.

Other: The only complaint I have is that my room key frequently didn’t work. In one week I went through three key cards.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
379 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Good locaton in one of Leon's nicest areas, just by the Plaza Mayor mall, near cinemas and restaurants. Architecture is not that great but it feels new and clean. Breakfast buffet at a good price and good variety of mexican food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel is simple and clean but, nothing particularly special. I found the location to be inconvenient for traveling around the area. The reservations were not done correctly, mixed up names in the party and the front desk was not particularly helpful or friendly. Service was a bit slow at the restaurant but, the food was pretty good. Overall, I don't see any reason to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotsson Hotel
Hotsson Hotel
#3 of 56 in Leon
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Suites Leon Plaza Mayor
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Leon at The Poliforum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Radisson Poliforum Plaza Hotel Leon
4.3 mi away
NH Collection Leon Expo
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leon
Holiday Inn Leon
#13 of 56 in Leon
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto
Address: Blvd Manuel J. Clouthier 245 | Col. Jardines, Leon 37128, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leon
#3 Business Hotel in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Leon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Leon, Gto Mexico - Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing