We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Little Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Del Cafeto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Del Cafeto
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Xalapa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint Little Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was the hotel I stayed in when I first visited Xalapa. Xalapa is now my home. Excellent, very clean, well located near the city's colonial downtown, on a quiet street. There are several decent restaurants nearby. Please note that this hotel is downhill from the downtown centre, so it is a bit of an uphill hike to get to the main square. Taxis are cheap and abundant for those who don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    58
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
30
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The style of this hotel is lovely, a sort of rustic/monastic feel (in a very good way, if that makes sense). Very calm and tranquil. The rooms are lovely. A previous review said the rooms were cold. I wasn't cold at any point but the thickness of the walls do make the rooms cool. There were plenty of blankets in case you did get cold. The shower was glorious. The beds were comfy and lovely pillows.

Wifi in rooms which did drop a bit at times. Beautiful communal areas. Lovely little breakfast room with simple continental breakfast included in the price. Coffee maker in the room and free water dispenser in the foyer.

Reason for 4 stars not 5 is that the price was a bit higher than I have paid in other places for similar standard.

It is a little way from the centre of town (15 mins) and as a female travelling alone I was conscious of the quiet streets I had to walk along in the evening. However, I was perfectly safe.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor and was lovely. First/second floor rooms might get more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tequila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The big problem.... No parking available and lack of survilance. I parked my car right in front of the hotel on the street but the car thief tried to broke into my trunk and dostroyed the lock. This cost to me big bucks. Will not use this hotel any more !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a well located hotel, very clean, and reasonably priced. The rooms are very well-shaded which means that at times they can be a bit cold. I found the breakfast a bit mean, although you can pay extra for a more generous breakfast. It wasn't the most friendly place I have ever been to but the service was acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ubernaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The room was clean, had nice beds, had hot water, had international channels on TV, etc. However, noise from the room above could easily be heard (including the voices), the shower was so small that it was difficult to get inside and then close the door (which swung inward), and the room was absolutely cold at all times even though the temperature was reaching 73 degrees F (about 23 degrees C) outside each day. The courtyard areas were beautiful. The location was very convenient. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very simple, but good--go for the thick yogurt with fresh fruit and served with a bowl of muesli.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a window facing the south or southwest and let the sun shine through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dansktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

You say "Jalapa", I say "Xalapa" but don't let that discourage you - this is a charming university town with beautiful parks, gardens and walks. Lots of nice restaurants and hotels but the Posada Del Cafeto is best. On a quiet street, just a couple of blocks from the beautiful Jardine, this inn is spotlessly clean and very charming. Lovely and helpful staff, lots of hot water, good WiFi and a nice breakfast. We came by car and were prepared to pay extra for parking at a lot a couple of blocks away but ended up just parking on this quiet street in front of the hotel. We walked or took the many and inexpensive taxis that are everywhere in this city. Much easier than trying to find your way around town in a car, believe me. Don't miss the Museum of Anthropology. It is amazing. We also enjoyed the Botanical Gardens and just walking around the Centro.

Room Tip: All the doors of the unoccupied rooms were open today to let in the sun so I snooped in all of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margoandthecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel, visiting our daughter who was studying for the semester at Universidad de Veracruzana - Xalapa. The hotel was on a quiet side street with a wonderful courtyard once inside. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The room price included a continental breakfast and for only about $2 more, we were able to upgrade to a hot meal. There was no good parking when we arrived but hotel staff was accommodating and found us parking (at no additional cost) in the lot of one of their other hotels.

Room Tip: This street is very hard to find because it is small and just a couple blocks from the main road. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Retiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xalapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Meson del Alferez Xalapa
2.7 mi away
One Xalapa Las Animas
One Xalapa Las Animas
#2 of 26 in Xalapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Xalapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Xalapa
Fiesta Inn Xalapa
#1 of 26 in Xalapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Las Margaritas Caxa
1.6 mi away
Deluxe Auto-Hotel
Deluxe Auto-Hotel
#9 of 26 in Xalapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Cafeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Cafeto

Property: Posada Del Cafeto
Address: Calle Canovas No. 8 | Col. Centro, Xalapa 91000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Xalapa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Xalapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Del Cafeto 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and great value hotel located in downtown Xalapa, Posada del Cafeto offers quaint and bright rooms surrounding a neat garden, on a quiet street, at walking distance from the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada Del Cafeto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing