We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding hotel in town”
Review of Clara Luna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clara Luna Hotel
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Xalapa
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“outstanding hotel in town”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

we were part of a group of 18 museum guides from the national hispanic cultural center and found this to be one of the outstanding hotels we've stayed at in mexico...very clean, modern and had a bit of the california sleek in its layout and presentation. the husband of the owner does much of the art work and rooms are named for Lara songs because the owner and her father knew him in vera cruz. location across from a beautiful park was ideal and easy walking to the central plaza...recommend the restaurant hidden in the little shopping mall next to the sunken park, sometime listed as the botanical gardens on the maps...Estancia de tecolote [sic]. a walking town but ask the owners for recommendations.

Room Tip: we stayed just up the stairs from the front desk overlooking the tv disc company and found it very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias S, Gerente at Clara Luna Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado kenneth f,

Agradecemos sus comentarios espero y nos visite pronto! Le comento que hemos construido nuevas habitaciones desde su visita al igual que abierto un spa donde puede consentirse de la manera que mas le guste. También próximamente estaremos abriendo un café donde podrá degustar café de la mas alta calidad. Esperamos verle en un futuro próximo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
13
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed there for a weekend, nice enough hotel, old tv but practical with free parking and internet. The hotel rate included breakfast but very surprisingly we were made to pay 65 pesos for the (buffet) "breakfast" of our two year old... First time that happens in Mexico, seems to be a strict policy of the owners... As to the location, ok I guess, except for the anthropological museum it is not a very interesting town...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias S, Gerente at Clara Luna Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Estimada ohhbedelia,

Gracias por sus comentarios esperamos y que en sus próximas vacaciones puedan incluirnos como su casa lejos de casa. Desde su ultima visita hemos construido un nuevo piso con suites que estoy seguro le encantaran. También hemos inaugurado un spa donde puede escoger diferentes tratamientos no solo reductivos si no también relajantes. La esperamos pronto! Reciba nuestros mejores deseos desde Xalapa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Clara Luna is fabulous and affordable. If you are visiting Xalapa for any reason I would highly recommend staying here. The staff was friendly and helpful, although mainly Spanish speaking. Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel's decor is gorgeous and unique with artistic touches added by Elfred Lee. Azul has amazing food...the breakfast was consistently delicious each morning we ate there. This hotel is also a very short walk to Parque Juarez and the center of town, as well as many other parks and sites. Most taxi rides from here to anywhere in Xalapa are 20-25 pesos. It was a great vacation and if ever we make it to Xalapa again, we'll be back at the Clara Luna!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ohhbedelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias S, Gerente at Clara Luna Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Estimada ohhbedelia,

Gracias por todos sus comentarios ojala y puedan contemplarnos como su casa lejos de casa en sus próximas vacaciones ya que hemos construido un nuevo piso con suites que estoy seguro estarán a la altura de sus expectativas. Por otro lado hemos inaugurado un spa que cuenta con el mismo toque de elegancia que usted merece al igual que un trato personalizado al que usted esta acostumbrado. Lo esperamos en sus siguientes vacaciones! Nuestros mejores deseos desde Xalapa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I had stayed here once before - and had nothing but praise.

My second three day stay just confirmed my initial positive impressions.

Elegant, comfortable, amazingly quiet - with great service especially in the great bar/restaurant.

Prices: a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rickywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias S, Gerente at Clara Luna Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado rickywheels,

Una vez mas gracias por sus buenos comentarios esperamos continuar estando a la altura de sus necesidades. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Very good location from nice restaurants and walking distance from down town.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armandofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias S, Gerente at Clara Luna Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Armandofr,

Gracias por su comentario esperamos y pronto tenerle de vista en nuestras instalaciones ya que contamos con un spa nuevo que estoy seguro disfrutara. Nuestros mejores deseos desde Xalapa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I had booked into another place In Xalapa which proved to be a dump. Thankfully, I had read of Clara Luna in Lonely Planet.
It is located an easy walk from the historic center, on a leafy main street with several good restaurants nearby (though that in the hotel is probably the best).
The lobby and rooms are elegant. It was very warm in Xalapa, but the ceiling fans were sufficient for comfort.
The service (both the front desk and in the restaurant) was first class.
From a tourist's standpoint, Xalapa itself was a disappointment aside from the superb Anthropological Museum and a lovely hacienda outside of town.
But Clara Luna was a real find!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elias S, Gerente at Clara Luna Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado rickywheels,

Gracias por su opinión, lamento el que nuestra ciudad no lleno sus expectativas pero me complace saber que el servicio y nuestro hotel pudo estar a su altura. Esperemos y la próxima vez que nos visite pueda conocer nuestras nuevas habitaciones al igual que pasar tiempo en nuestro nuevo spa. Nuestros mejores deseos para usted desde Xalapa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xalapa hotels
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Xalapa
Fiesta Inn Xalapa
#1 of 25 in Xalapa
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Xalapa
0.4 mi away
Meson del Alferez Xalapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Posada Del Cafeto
Posada Del Cafeto
#3 of 25 in Xalapa
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Colombe Hotel Boutique
Colombe Hotel Boutique
#7 of 25 in Xalapa
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mision Xalapa Plaza de las Convenciones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clara Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clara Luna Hotel

Property: Clara Luna Hotel
Address: Avenida Manuel Avila Camacho No. 42 | Xalapa, Xalapa 91000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Xalapa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Xalapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clara Luna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clara Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing