We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirkily little cottage in idyllic surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property
Gate Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gate Cottage
Double Bedroom Sofa bed in Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Gate Cottage
Double Bedroom
Sofa bed in Living Room
Gate Cottage Living/TV room
Gate Cottage dining room
Gate Cottage kitchen
Pekes indoor Swimming Pool from the orchard
Pekes Swimming Pool
Pekes Tennis court.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chiddingly, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tracy d
1 review
“Quirkily little cottage in idyllic surroundings”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Location excellent for a quiet get away not too far from Brighton & Eastbourne. Swimming pool, jacuzi and sauna fantastic. Being able to bring our dog was an added bonus. House warm & cosy, we will definately be back. Would totally recommend staying here.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
All I can say is that Tracy was a charming guest, and being from North Yorkshire you can certainly trust what she says! Kildare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
witheny
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming cottage in rural setting on estate with lots of amenities”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautiful setting, quiet & rural. The cottage was charming & quaint. The furnishings were dated however once we got over the shock of time travel to the 1970s we found it was extremely clean. The estate that the cottage is part of is idyllic & had everything we needed for a weekend away. We enjoyed walking the dog in the adjacent fields, playing tennis & subsequently retrieving the balls from the walled garden (we scrumpped a few raspberries, sorry) and swimming. The housekeeper popped over on Saturday morning to find out if we needed anything, and told us we could make use of a jacuzzi. We had an issue with the washing machine and the handyman was sent over within the hour to sort it out. We walked to a great real pub, the Six Bells in Chiddingly for a pub meal on Saturday night. It was a thoroughly lovely weekend & we'd love to come back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
What a lovely review. Yes Pekes is a bit of a time travel and always will be, but we ARE updating things all the time! Kildare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midase225
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little cottage in a great rural location to explore the surrounding area.”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed at the gate house to attend the local Chiddfest Music festival which is held close by. The cottage was lovely and clean with all facilities readily available. It is situated just at the entrance to the Pekes Manor estate and is a perfect spot for some peace and quiet with great scenery thrown in.

Would definately stay here again as a base to explore the surrounding area.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2017
How nice that Michael came all the way from Wales and got the noise of the Festival and the quiet of Pekes at the same time. A really welcome review; come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing