We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Area but Mediocre for Naturists”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zipolite

Zipolite
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.99*
and up
Turtle and Crocodile Eco Tour from Huatulco with Mangrove Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just north of Puerto Angel, this beach is known as the most relaxing one around.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Great Area but Mediocre for Naturists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Zipolite is one of the few clothing optional beaches in Mexico. As a naturist destination, it is not the greatest place to visit. It's a public beach, so anyone can walk on, and almost no one goes fully nude. I'd say 20% of the women go topless. Men, of course, go topless but that's to be expected. If you do want to go nude, it will all depend on how comfortable you are in your own skin around textile people. I did go nude but I would definitely prefer a place where being naked was more common.

As a destination, my wife and I loved Zipolite. She actually did go topless, which is rare for her in public. As a vacation, I highly recommend it if you can speak some Spanish. Aside form the beach, there isn't much else. They have decent restaurants, mostly Italian or Mexican, and some touristy shops. Beware that amenities can be sparse: There is no ATM in town and our bungalow did not have hot water. If basic living isn't your cup of tea, I don't recommend it. My wife and I see basic living as a good thing: Hopefully, it will keep Northamericans from turning Zipolite into another Cancun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NomadicNudist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    32
    12
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Zipolite danger: you might never leave...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Zipolite energy makes you come back for more. Awesome place to relax - hang out in the hammock all day, go for a swim and read your favorite book. Yes, that's Zipolite - however I'm going to try giving you a bit of practical information:

To get here:
From Puerto Escondido, local bus from the main road in PE (1hour) apx. 30 pesos - get of in San Antonio and take a camioneta (back of a truck) to Zipolite, which is last stop. Apx. 10pesos. It's normally 8, but gringo prices are higher :)

From Patchutla take the camioneta 10pesos, but again you might get charged more.

To do here:
Relax, relax and relax.
For the active person, go running on the beach - boogie boarding and possibly surfing. It's not ideal surf spot though, waves are crushing super hard and undertows are dangerous. Are you experienced surfer, you might find it fun anyways.

To stay:
On top of the hill, there's a place called shambala that has amazing cabanas with overlook over the ocean and the beach - beautiful place to hang in the hammock or have your morning coffee. We loved it here! Price range apx. 150MEX and up for a single room and 250 and up for a double. No kitchen facilities or Internet.

Posada mexico is located right on the beach, has Internet and hammocks :) very nice place! We didn't stay there, but loved hanging out here because of 2 for 50MEX cocktail happy hour and Internet. Rooms here are apx. 300+ for a double.

Budget accommodation: Posada Carrizo. You get a bed for 50MEX, which is the cheapest accommodation in the area. Really nice French lady runs it, we really enjoyed it her! The place is super chill and has couple of dogs and cats, so you need to be okay with animals :)
Possibility of sleeping in the hammock, bed out in the open or a normal room. No direct beach access or Internet, but great budget accommodation with kitchen facilities.

To eat:
Pollos Asados! Best chicken - possibly ever! Carlos, the guy who runs it have been grilling the chicken for 12 years and he sure have mastered it. It's absolutely amazing. For only 40MEX you get a plate with chicken, rice and pasta. This place is well known with locals, because it really is GOOD!

Side by side with Pollos Asados there's a pizza place: Pizza a la leña. Makes good thin crust pizzas. We've tasted 5 different kinds and keep coming back to pepperoni and mixed meats one. Price range apr. 75-100MEX

Sal y Pimiento is our absolute favorite place! That's the place I would recommend to go for a nice dinner. Amazing fish dishes for reasonable prices (apx. 70-100+), the fish/prawns or squid comes with salad and choice of rice or fries. Several choices of additional sides, but the portions are large enough. Nice atmosphere with lights on the table as well. (Such a simple thing, but you'll be surprised how few places have it).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank Rejsefugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and locals.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

There are a number of good restaurants, some of which are run by Italian expats. Great beach-bars. I am returning this year.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank murphyranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crucecita, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Zipolite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Zipolite is a beautiful place with a magnetic energy!!! Enjoy...it is what you make of it!! A lot does depend on where you stay though....and what time of the year you come....we live here, we love it!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank stacymaliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a perfectly relaxing time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I visited Zipolite in January and April of 2012 and look forward to the next opportunity. This small village on the Pacific Coast in the state of Oaxaca, Mexico is absolutely beautiful, secluded and affordable. Both visits I stayed at Cosmico, a guesthouse consisting of cabanas. There are several such places in Zipolite, a village founded by hippies in the sixties I believe. Everything about this place is unassuming, laid back and fun...all at the same time. Excellent food is available to include delicious crepes, Italian, Mexican and numerous coffee shops. Zipolite is also recognized as the one sanctioned nude beach in Mexico, although nudity is by no means required. So, if you really want to get away from it all in a tropical paradise, check out Zipolite!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rjforlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zipolite also viewed

Puerto Angel, Oaxaca
Huatulco, Oaxaca
 

Been to Zipolite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing