We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Hotel Ceballos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Ceballos
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Colima
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed many times at this hotel, and never had any problems. The staff are very kind and polite. Not all of them are speaking english, so it can be difficult to communicate, but so far I have never had big problems which we could not solve. I'm from Denmark, so my spanish is very poor.
I always prefer to stay at this hotel when visiting Colima.
It's always clean, and the washing of clothes works very fine. You leave it in the morning, and it's ready when you come back in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
45
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HongKong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

That is a strong statement as Mexico does not do good hotels very often anyway but the whole combination of everything bad about this hotel earns the title in my opinion and I will be adding it as such to my own review websites.

As others have mentioned, location is nice and central BUT the bell tolling will wake you all night long.

Some suites are nice large rooms but very expensive and the remaining standard rooms are minute and depressing.

Upon arrival, help with luggage took ages.

Our reservation was not found at front desk for a long time and then we were told they were using 2013 prices so the rate had gone up (at Christmas?)

Finally we find a room (hotel was totally empty) but the wifi does not work. No signal.

We change room and find the safe was left locked and staff have no way to open it. This room has wifi signal but there is no Internet connection.

We give up and decide to stay. Christmas Eve and most places closed contrary to what we were told by the hotel.

Mosquitoes in the room.

Next day, after no sleep from the bells tolling and a hard mattress, we agin find nowhere for dinner despite specific promises from the management. Basically Colima shuts down for Christmas and everyone stays in which is nice for them but not for visitors! Management wrote to us with a list of restaurants with special Christmas dinners. All closed.

Even the hotel restaurant decides to close in the evening - fantastic if you like dinner from a 7/11...

After trawling the city for food we return and the garage parking is locked and no-one to open. The staff are inside eating their Christmas dinner - wow, lucky of you to get dinner!

When these issues were mentioned to the management, they made no effort to apologise or offer any remedy so add to that the management does not care at all.

All in al, for the terrible rooms, overpriced stay, non-existent service and lying management, this hotel wins my award for Worst Hotel In Mexico without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stay well away..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesTheVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel R, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ceballos, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Bart:

We have received your e-mail with your comments and we deeply regret that you felt uncomfortable with us as we personally attended in your reservation which was strictly attached to what you asked us; in fact the booking process was thorough to address all their concerns. As you have decided to change rooms in this case would authorize a 20% discount for the suite. On the subject of restaurants as you tell, we sent the list of the restaurants we have reported that service at Christmas and also attach the phones indicating that you could speak directly to answer your questions, show schedules, menus and make a reservation. If we would have attended we would make a reservation in your name.

Of the drawbacks of the room you tell us these were addressed immediately by our staff, the mattress is new and is hotel kind and it is the first complaint we receive from this drive, but we consider it to improve its quality. Above the noise of the bells, these are part of the basilica, and some people are fascinated and others dislike.

Indeed our cafeteria service on the 24 closes earlier than usual so that most of the staff can be with their families on such a special day, so you were told when you called and for this reason I sent the list of restaurants where you could call and book for this special day. Other days our food service is at the usual time. About closing the parking lot at night is a safety measure for our guests because of rising insecurity in our country.

We reiterate that we are at your service and we hope you can understand the situations that we expose, because our interest is to make stays happy and safe for our guests.


Best Regards

Lic. Clementina Amezcua García
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Don't judge this place by the hotel lobby which is a bit shabby. We spent three nights in room that faced an interior courtyard. The room was somewhat small, but the bathroom area was spacious by comparison and the interior room was quiet. We had a problem with the AC remote, but everything else was in working order and clean. My bed was firm, but not too hard. The restaurant is mediocre, but there are good restaurants within walking distance and the central location is beautiful and safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Travelling to Mexico each year for 25 years and this was our most memorable stay. Initial frendially greeting (with delightful drink and fresh hot facecloth to freshen up even before registering!). We lucked in and got the front corner room. two balconies overlooking Zocolo. Watched the great show while sipping wine on the balcony. Only sorry we could only stay two nights.Great price, secure parking, great location and fine restaurant. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank caperbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

If location means more to you than upscale amenities, then this hotel is worth a try. Rooms are spacious, clean, upscale but not luxurious. Exterior rooms are cheerfully bright, with two or more tall windows with charming wrought iron balconies. Interior rooms face interior courtyards or hallways, and are depressingly dark but quieter. Beds are comfortable, not the usual extra firm so common in Mexico. Lighting is adequate with individual wall mounted reading lights. Table lamps would be a welcome improvement. The bathroom in our room (an exterior double) was squeezed into the old architecture, so it's wedged into a narrow, but serviceable space. Plumbing is modern, the shower (no tub) is spacious even though the rest of the bathroom isn't. The hotel has a swimming pool and fitness facility on the top floor/roof. The pool is tiny, and more for show than utility. Personnel are friendly and responsive, an OK restaurant spills onto the portico from the lobby. If you're coming for the Virgin de Guadalupe Fiesta from December 1 - 12, you should be warned that the cathedral bells sing their praises of the Virginthroughout the evening and very early every morning. The performances last 5 minutes, and they resonates loudly throughout the hotel, which sits right below the tower. The Fiesta is a fine time to visit, but consider staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms are bright and sunny, interior rooms are dark and depressing, but slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have been to Colima many times, but this is the first time staying at this hotel. Our car broke down just outside the city, so we decided to stay in the middle of town this time. We loved being right on the square where we enjoyed a night of music and local families gathering for the event. Rooms were satisfactory with good a/c. Lovely inside architecture, but just average rooms. Easy to walk to several other squares (jardins) as well as many interesting shops. The best restaurant was diagonally across the square from the hotel. It is an inside, family run restaurant, as opposed to all the other outdoor seating ones. The hotel itself has a restaurant with both indoor and outside seating, but the food isn't particularly good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to be kept awake with music and noise from the jardin. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nic60760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one week at the ceballos while visiting family in colima. The hotel is very nice and in a great location.

Are favorite part was coming back after a long day of sight seeing and enjoying a cafecito underneath one of the umbrellas. My husband kept saying that he felt like he was in a movie being filmed in South America. The atmosphere was amazing.

There is an awesome churro stand in the pedestrian only street next to the hotel.

The beds were a little hard and the room decor could have been better.

The restaurant is ok. One morning a ordered pancakes and they brought me raw pancakes. It was still super watery in the inside. I told the waiter and he took them back to the kitchen. They came back out cut in pieces. They gave me the ones I sent back and the waiter said that they reheated them because the cool doesn't know how to make pancakes.

Other than that everything was great and its the best hotel in colima.

The bells from the cathedral start to ring at 7 am so be prepared to wake up early!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YRamos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colima hotels
2.4 mi away
Mision Colima
Mision Colima
#1 of 21 in Colima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fiesta Inn Colima
Fiesta Inn Colima
#2 of 21 in Colima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Danna
Hotel Casa Danna
#4 of 21 in Colima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Jorge
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Isabel
Hotel Maria Isabel
#8 of 21 in Colima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Colima
Wyndham Garden Colima
#6 of 21 in Colima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Ceballos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Ceballos

Property: Best Western Hotel Ceballos
Address: Portal Medellin 12 | Colonia Centro, Colima 28000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Colima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Colima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Ceballos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the historical down town of our city staying in a XIX century neo-gothic architectural building with modern day commodities: wireless internet, elevator, closed circuit security system, rooms equipped with air conditioner, T.V. with more than 50 channels, coffee maker, restaurants, event lounges, amongst other services that will make your stay unforgettable. Our location allows you to enjoy of the principal attractions nearby: The Cathedral, The Governor's Palace, The Museum of History, The University Gallery, Hidalgo Theatre and the market zone of Madero avenue where you can cool off yourselves with traditional beverages such as: coconut water, "tuba", bate, tejuino and ponche with tropical fruits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Ceballos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ceballos
Best Western Colima
Colima Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing