We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sad to say” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla Navidad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isla Navidad
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Colima
La Barra de Navidad, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sad to say”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

i rented a slip in am arina attached to this hotel. i was promised 5 star service. i was promised 5 star wifi. i was promised a lot.
what i found to be the case-----
security is good. friendly and helpful with tenants of marina. that is good.
s i sail an older mid sized sailboat on a long term basis, i found much bias against me, due to the fact my boat looked like what it did--went on a long trip in an ocean.
that is not a problem i was followed by the staff members into the auto teller booth where i was withdrawing money--that is not acceptable.
i was accused of pumping oil into the marina waters, most inaccurate. i had bottled up all lubricating and fuel oils from my engine and taken them to the pemex for recyclement.
i was advised there is no mail service to the marina. ok
i was advised there is no laundry in the complex.
i was advised there is no water delivery to the marina.
ok.
now i am being advised that there is no one who is able to reset the wifi for the marina tenants.
ok.
and you wish how many stars inyour what kind of review??? these amenities are all thru the hotel.
seems someone FAILED
these are only amenities any marina is offering in mexico..

maybe these folks do not wish to have clients.......

unless this place decides to correct this, i would not recommend this hotel nor the marina to anyone .

by the way--current occupancy is running in hotel and marina less than 30 percent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stay away from this place. Not only are they over priced but a dinner that was to cost around $100 dollars with tip was charged to my Credit card after leaving over $400. I disputed the charge. Received emails and phone calls from the hotel that would not quit. I then wired the correct amount. Then the next week they refilled a credit card charge for a different amount. Now I have to dispute that charge also. These guys are crooks. Cartel..

Room Tip: With so many nice places why worry about your credit card being repeatedly charged after you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt_Jeff57078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colima hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The hotel itself looks beautiful at first glance. The staff is extremely friendly.
In our room, the hairdryer did not work, and we were unable to retrieve our messages from the telephone as it was malfunctioning. The bed was extremely hard. My husband and I would wake up every morning with a sore back. The Internet connection was very poor to say the least. We paid $60us for Internet for the week and it was not worth the money at all.
The spa has some great girls working there, and you can get a fantastic massage to combat the sore backs from the hard beds. Skip the manicure and pedicure though, as they don't sterilize their equipment properly between clients.
The food is our main issue of concern. There was a lot of cross contamination happening in the restaurants, and it was not surprising that many guests were getting sick. An example of this is in the main buffet, the cook while making fajitas, grabbed raw meat with her bare hands, then proceeded to touch cooked tortillas with the same hand without ever washing, or even wiping her hands. This was just one example of the many examples of improper food handling. We spoke with a manager regarding this issue, and the cooks handling raw meat were then required to wear gloves, however the cross contamination continued. The part that bothered me is that as guests became sick, including ourselves, we were told it was due to guests enjoying too much alcohol, and sun. I however, don't drink, and I stay in the shade well covered.
Another issue we encountered was the lack of understanding of serious food allergies. At one of the restaurants, we told the server about my severe almond allergy. He said none of the desserts contained almonds, however, the dessert I ordered was placed on a bed of marzipan (almond paste). Not knowing what it was at first, since it was so dark out, I took a bite. I immediately recognized what it was and spat it out, but my tongue immediately started to swell. In my case, I knew how to resolve this issue, however someone else may not have been so lucky.
There is really only one town around the hotel. It's across the bay and costs 20 pesos to ride the ferry (worth the ride). The town has very friendly people, and it seems very safe to walk around. Since the town thrives on tourism, prices seem to be quite inflated. You can barter with people, but don't expect to get a great deal.

The pool was the highlight of our stay. It is a very large/long pool connected by two small water slides. It was fun to start at the top and swim the entire length.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krebsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, UTAH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2005

Me and my family (mom, son, and my neece) stayed there for 3 nights, 4 days. It was the nicest hotel we ever stayed in! I stayed in the BELLAGIO in Las Vegas, and i thought it was pretty nice, but this blew me away! The food was great, but a little bit expensive. I have no complaints at all, it was beautiful, the staff were always helpful and very friendly at all times.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank sikkynix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colima hotels
16.5 mi away
Mision Colima
Mision Colima
#1 of 21 in Colima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ceballos
16.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Danna
Hotel Casa Danna
#4 of 21 in Colima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Don Jorge
16.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Colima
Fiesta Inn Colima
#2 of 21 in Colima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Colima
Wyndham Garden Colima
#6 of 21 in Colima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Navidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Navidad

Property: Isla Navidad
Address: Puerto De La Navidad, Colima 28830, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Colima > Colima
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Colima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 198
Also Known As:
Isla Navidad Hotel Colima
Isla Navidad Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing