We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just visited Las Palomas for the first time. Haven't been to Rocky Point in about 12 years. Alot has changed and it's much nicer than I remembered. Many warnings before we travelled down but the trip was easy and there were many places where the US and Mexican border patrols were out. Felt safe and didn't worry once.

Las Palomas was a lovely resort. Friendly staff, beautiful condo, extremely clean and well maintained overall. Pools were fantastic, Sea of Cortez was warm and clean. We went the week before July 4th and there was no one at the border crossing either way, the resorts and restaurants in the Malecon were empty. Las Palomas has two restaurants but only one was open when we were there. Possibly due to the high vacancy?

Would probably bring all of my own food the next time and just grill out. Restaurants were limited and (maybe I'm a bit spoiled from the Scottsdale/Phx area) not up to very high standards. Prices were good and seafood was very fresh but otherwise I wasn't impressed.

We'll try to make another trip this summer as it was very relaxing. If you're looking for a place where there's lots of nightlife - this isn't it. But if you want to relax and enjoy the water, or just spend family time - this is a great option.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krazymoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 742 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

Las Palomas Beach and Golf Resort is supposed to be the top of the line property in an otherwise dreary town/villiage/city of Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point). It tries to emulate the mega-resort world of Cancun and the like which follows a fairly standard formula of building a bigger and better hotel/facility right on the water. In this case, that water is the Sea of Cortez, which mainly attracts Arizonans (yes, the same one's who don't want illegal aliens from Mexico in their State).

The good news is that the actual structure of both Phase One and Two at Las Palomas is beautiful and clearly makes the mark aethetically. The beach, while not clear like the waters of the Caribean, is wonderful. It is warm, semi-clear, and swimable. No issues there. The room we were in (E 802, Cristal) was good as well with a full one bedroom condo and balcony. Overall, it sets the bar for the rest of the resort wars going on here in town. It's the place to stay.

That being said, there are some significant downfalls. The service is mediocre to poor. The restaurant we went to (Citron) was laughably rated 4 Diamonds by AAA ( I work for them and was aghast), and the actual beach facilities were totally lacking with not enough beach chairs to merit it being called a "resort". For roughly $200 a night, you should get more on that end.

Lastly, the "Ugly American" is on full display here replete with druken college kids, adults, and obnoxious Arizonan's who portent to prance around as if they own the joint. High culture it is not here in Puerto Penasco, despite what Las Palomas is trying to claim itself as being the best in town. It's lipstick on a pig, if you ask me.

So if you come here with little expectations and bring your own beach chair, you should be fine. Hey, it's the only beach within hundreds of miles from the Southwest. In other words, they have you by the balls here...

Oh, and if you like peace and quite, this is not the place for you. On weekends, you are guaranteed to have a DJ blaring music until 11:30 pm doing a wedding for all to see (and hear).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raffi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We visited Las Palomas Cortez 405 1BR Condo during the month of April. We have travelled to Puerto Penasco several times, but this was the first time staying at Las Palomas and it far exceeded our expectations. The condo was beautifully decorated, had a comfy bed, and had a great view over the pools and of the Sea of Cortez...we saw dolphins swimming by in the morning! The service was great and the drinks were cold, we had the best vacation in Rocky Point, we will definitely return to Las Palomas next time, by far the best resort in Rocky Point.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Forget most of what you think about Mexico and Rockey Pointe. This place is more like
Hawaii or Miami Beach.

Some condos are five start, some four.
Pool is always perfect.
Beer Cold
Tequila Cheap.

What more do you need to know?

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mytripad411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This was our third time staying at Las Palomas. What a great contrast to go shopping at the old port and come home through the gated security, underground garage and professional and efficient staff. Be aware of the difference between oceanview and oceanfront. If you are in one of the back buildings, you will get about a 60 degree view of the water with the other buildings on both sides in a V shape. Rates are not cheap, but we have been able to trim it to a manageable amount by renting directly from the owners. Great amenities as well with a huge swim up bar, lazy river, golf course, convenience store and restaurnats.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse at Las Polomas #1202 - it was amazing! Our penthouse was beyond our expectations with a large kitchen, super comfy beds, beautifully decorated and the patio was 2000 sq feet of private space!

The facility is clean, lots of staff asking how they can assist, fun for kids and yummy margaritas! Massages on the beach - lots of sun glass vendors and bar service all day long.

Don't go to Citron for buffet breakfast....terrible service and long wait for the food. Over a 30 minute wait for the eggs - so, by the time they bring your egg order, you are done with your food and ticked. Much better to go into to town, buy some fresh tortillas, beans, eggs and salsa then make your own breakfast!

Great break from reality! The kids said they want to go back EVERY year - they stayed so busy that there was no bickering so mom and dad are relaxed and happy!

HIGHLY recommend this place and especially penthouse 1202.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WIneTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Great location on beach,nice pool,good security,great English speaking staff,

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algataho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.3 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#14 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
#9 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
20 reviews
6.7 mi away
Laguna Shores Resort
Laguna Shores Resort
#15 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort
Sonoran Spa Resort
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: $203 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort is a luxurious oasis in Rocky Point – Puerto Peñasco - Mexico, with beautiful ocean view suites, world cuisine, the only links style Championship golf course of the region, a conference center, a luxury spa, beautiful beach and getaway vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach And Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach Hotel
Hotel Las Palomas Beach
Las Palomas Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing