We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family 4 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Family 4 day break”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first visit to Puerto Penasco and we were very impressed with our 2 bed apartment. Our apartment was on the 14th floor with excellent views of the beach. The apartment was very well equipped with 2 large en suite bedrooms. We were disappointed to find that the complex only had 1 restaurant which was Buffet style. There were a number of swimming pools on site including a lazy river that we never saw anybody in due to the water being very cold, all other pools were warm. The only shop on site was very poorly stocked and could not be relied upon to provide for self catering guests. Lots of hawkers on the beach but a polite " no thank you " was all that was needed to be left alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    188
    63
    29
    52
See reviews for
376
127
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Puerto Penasco many years. First, as a guest of friends with an RV, then with our own RV, and now we stay in the resorts of the Sandy Beach area. We have stayed at the Sonoran properties, Las Palmas, and of course, Las Palomas. Las Palomas is still the best we have found. The pools and spas are immaculate, some are heated, some are not. The property is right in the middle of the Sandy Beach area with great beachfront and stunnning views from most condos. The state of the condo rented may or may not be the greatest depending on whether it is owned by the resort or a private owner. We have always stayed in private condos and some were decorated to the 10's, and then there are some that the owner obiviously hasn't been to in a few years. Keep in mind, that the resort is not going to spruce the place up just for you, if it is privately owned. That is the owners responsibility. As for the restaurants, it is a shame that Citron has had to change to 'Buffet' style, but that's because of the downturn in the economy. During the last two trips down, there were approximately 6 condos in all of phase 2 rented for the week we were there. This trip (Nov, 2012), there were approx 23. Things seem to be getting a little better for the restaurants downtown too. It's been a depressing time for Rocky Point with the visitors fear of the cartels and with the US recession. After this trip, we feel things will only get better for the resorts and restaurants/bars as the economy in the US improves. And, we will return to Las Palomas!

Room Tip: With small children, a room on the first floor can save time and provide a safer feeling for a paren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrapperH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I've been going to Rocky Point every year for nearly 40 years and have stayed in a variety of places, including a tent on the beach, a trailer in an rv park, cheap hotels, and various rental houses and condos. I love it, but I hate hauling all the stuff you need to be comfortable. This time we chose a resort so the only thing we brought was a cooler for food basics we didn't want to purchase down there (meat and dairy products specifically) and our clothes. Easy!! Las Palomas is a very large, beautifully designed resort right on Sandy beach. Our one bedroom unit was beautiful and had a great view. October is a great time to visit as the water is warm and the heat and humidity have mellowed. We enjoyed our stay very much. My only criticism was the staff could use some customer service training big time. We are not high maintenance by any stretch, but I would expect the staff to smile and say hello and be more friendly. They just were not. We did not ask for anything during our stay, but I hit the feeling if we had it would have been an issue. For such a beautiful resort one would expect a better trained staff. Other than that I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want peace & tranquility then mid week is "usually" best. It sometimes turns into a bit of a spring break, vulgar frat house during the weekends. The housekeeping service is average at best, with tight control of the trash bags, dishwasher soap, towels, etc. Really? Splitting hairs because I need more than 1 trash bag today? Forget about dining at Citron. It's dog poop on a plate. I'm not sure if it's the best they can do, or if they're just extremely adept at charging top dollar to unwitting Americans for dog poop food. Skip Citron and go eat next door at the Sonoran Grill, located at the Sonoran Spa instead. Good family owned joint, with great service and food at decent prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycluxury212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

At the last minute, my husband and I decided to spend the weekend in Rocky Point (Puerto Penasco, Mexico) for some rest and relaxation. Our first hotel choice was Sonoran Sky, but it was booked. Second choice was Las Palomas.
We made an online reservation through Puerto-Penasco.com because they had the best rates. (BTW, most modern resorts in Rocky Point are no longer "cheap.") We paid $442 (including taxes, fees) for two nights.
Las Palomas exceeded our expectations. The pool area is elaborate and well tended. Our one-bedroom unit was large and exceptionally well furnished. Everything was clean and no sign of creepy crawlies of any kind. All units have ocean views, and there is underground parking at no charge. The beach along the resort's stretch of Sandy Beach is lovely and mostly free or rocks. We had lunch at the poolside bar both days and prices were very reasonable.
This past weekend was less than ideal for a quiet get-a-way because the resort was hosting a volleyball tournament. The majority of guests were over-imbibing, noisy, 20-somethings.
Two complaints:
1. People who own condos in the resort are allowed to have dogs on property.
2. Banana-ride boats and wave runner rentals spew out gasoline fumes that permeate the beach area. These activities are not unique to Las Palomas, but I wish they could be centrally located in the marina's commercial area.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view. If you want quiet, avoid rooms immediately adjacent to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRDPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The property is located on beautiful Sandy Beach in Rocky Point, Mexico- but the condos are very average. You would think that in a vacation condo that you would have everything you could think of needing since you can't run off to Target. However, the condo we stayed in (#1101) was missing dishwasher soap- or dish soap for that matter. How were we expected to clean dishes during our stay? Also, a wine opener- seems essential to me on vacation. The furnishings were horrid. The living room chairs had HUGE rips in them. The beds and pillows were very mediocre. After one day the ceiling in the kitchen was dripping water out of the vent. One of the bedroom doors scraped the floor anytime you would open or shut it. Poor workman ship all over this place!!! I guess you have to remember is it Mexico. We decided to bring our own food and booze to prevent getting sick- but some of us ended up eating and drinking at the pool bar the last day- and 3 of us came home sick. Getting in and out of Mexico was a nightmare too. Not to mention scary at times. We were stopped once inside Mexico by 3 guys with firearms. Asking us what we did for a living, where we were going, etc.??? I suppose that driving down a 55k truck was probably not the best idea. Over all if you are looking for a weekend getaway and need the beach- stick to Cali or save for the Caribbean or Florida. Las Palomas is NO BUENO!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustineLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

When I made the reservation using the web page, I really think it was going to be the best experience ever for the price ($220 per day). But when I arrived a different history was waiting for us.
1. The golf yard was barely green.
2. When you arrive to the lobby you get disappointed compared on what you see on the internet.
3. The guys on the lobby makes you sing a dozen of paperwork like if you were a thief
4. The rooms are clean but they had a funky smell :(
5. When you go to the pool area, you'll see a terrible architectural that believe me makes you nervous with the worst design ever just like being into a Ghetto.
6. I f you want to order a something on the pool bar, guess what?... you need to go to lobby and make another zillion paperwork sign.
7. Finally, the people!!! wooow If you want to see, piercings, tattoos and low profile guests, I highly recommend you this terrible hotel!!!.......

The only not so disappointing was the restaurant. But even on that one they had a lot a work to do.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AND VACATIONS!!!.... stay some where else!!!! Or don’t pay more than $60 dlls per day….

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Luis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.3 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
735 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#7 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
156 reviews
5.9 mi away
Laguna Shores Resort
Laguna Shores Resort
#14 of 20 in Puerto Penasco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Address: Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort is a luxurious oasis in Rocky Point – Puerto Peñasco - Mexico, with beautiful ocean view suites, world cuisine, the only links style Championship golf course of the region, a conference center, a luxury spa, beautiful beach and getaway vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Beach And Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach Hotel
Hotel Las Palomas Beach
Las Palomas Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing