We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Sonoran Sun Resort!”
Review of Sonoran Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonoran Sun Resort
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a two-night stay at the Sonoran Sun. We absolutely loved this resort. We checked in on Saturday, July 15th and departed on Monday, July 17th. Check-in time is 4 p.m. We purposely arrived early, hoping that we could check in a bit earlier. Unfortunately, the resort was sold out the prior night, so we weren’t able to. However, we went through the check-in process so that we could just go back to the lobby at 4 p.m. to grab the keys. Meanwhile, we were able to start enjoying the beautiful pool area right away.

We stayed in condo # SE511, which is a 1 bedroom oceanfront unit. The condo was nicely furnished and had all of the amenities that you would need if you decided not to leave the resort. The large balcony that overlooked the pool and ocean had a comfortable outdoor table that we used for all of our meals that we had on-site. The air conditioner worked very well and steadily kept the condo at a comfortable temperature. For those interested, there were two TVs and DVD players (one in the living room and bedroom)

The pool area is very nice. Technically, there are three large pools, one of which has a children’s wading pool attached. The only slightly negative thing is that the pool temperature must have been over 90 degrees, so the initial dip wasn’t as refreshing as intended. For those who don’t BYOB, there is a swim-up bar. Important note: Buy cans if you plan on bringing your own drinks (beer or soda). Otherwise, you will have to pour them into plastic cups, as bottles are not allowed. While we were there, there were always at least two security guards patrolling the grounds. They were actually very friendly and weren’t out to spoil a good time. Their main objective is to keep any outsiders off of the resort property. Occasionally, they would make their rounds to the beach as well. The vendors are allowed to sell you stuff on the beach, but aren’t allowed on the property. Also, fireworks are not allowed, so don’t try to set them off from your balcony or on the beach in front of the resort; it is not worth being evicted. There are people that set them off just outside of the beach property line, so you can still see them if you are interested.

The beach is also very nice; it is sandy and clean, although we saw an occasional piece of broken glass. The water was very warm (80 degrees approx.), and suitable for swimming or floating around. We are not sure if that area is prone to jellyfish, but we saw two children get stung while we were there. It made us think a little bit before going back into the water. I guess it is up to you whether or not an uncomfortable sting would be worth swimming in the beautiful Sea of Cortez; many thought it was.

We had a great time, and plan on visiting Puerto Penasco and staying at the Sonoran Sun many times in the future. With it being a short 3.5 hours from Phoenix, there is no excuse not to go back. Overall, a 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank rickp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 184 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Anthem, Arizona
17
Reviewed June 19, 2006

My Husband and I, Daughter and Son in Law stayed in 704W June 15th thur 18th. Condo is beautiful, spacious and well supplied, almost better than home. We enjoyed the gorgeorus views of the ocean and grounds. Everyone working there seemed very pleasant and helpful. We are from Anthem, Arizona so an easy drive to Rocky Point...It is most definitely on my list of places I would like to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

This place is nicer than my condo at home! They have everything you need, great for the gourmet cook. Don't forget to go into town and get some shrimp, ceviche, and tamales. The freshest I ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HN070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2006

We rented a one-bedroom condo online with the onsite rental property. We were able to see a picture of the condo we were choosing. It looked just like the picture. Positives: it was very nicely decorated, very comfortable, with a view of the beautiful pool area and of the ocean, just like the pictures. Everything was new and clean. There was free bottled water, free HBO and a nice tv with a DVD player and surround sound. Overall a very nice place to stay, for a good price. We recommend the condo, but the restaurant was just ok, there are much better, cheaper places in town. The downsides were constant construction next door. Metal banging started at 8am, even on Saturday and Sunday. It wasn't consistent all day long, but it woke us up and was disturbing. Also, the bed sheets were very poor quality - scratchy and rough. And I found a few hairs on the sheets and pillow cases. They seemed clean otherwise, so I assumed (hoped) maybe they were just from the maid who made the bed. The rest of the condo was spotless clean. Also, there was a plastic mattress cover, which made it very uncomfortable because it doesn't breathe. We put a blanket over the mattress cover, which helped. But for the otherwise nice bedding and furniture, the cheap sheets were an unwelcome surprise (towels were cheap, too.) Also, the music piped in from the pool area was quite loud and drifted up to the balconies. Due to the set-up, all the pool noise echoes loudly. Since we like to sit on the balcony and listen to the waves roll in, it was bothersome. The kitchens have the basics, which is nice, but no napkins or paper towels, so bring your own. Overall, though, the condo was so comfortable and the view and location were great, so we were able to overlook the downsides and thorougly enjoy it. We saw a large pod of dolphins come in practically 20 feet from shore, which was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank taxcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2006

We stayed at the Sun 3 nites the last week of December 2005. We haven't been to Puerto Penasco in about 20 years. Wow, were we surprised. This area - Sandy Beach - has turned into a lovely area to vacation. The Sonoran Sun was very nice. Our condo - 514 East (1 bedroom) was very comfortable, nicely decorated and a joy to stay in. The beach was nice, poolside was fun, can't say enough. Would definitely stay at Sun again.

Stayed: December 2005
7  Thank trmwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cave Creek, AZ
134
Reviewed December 4, 2005

Sonoran Sun 801-W was more than we expected with great views from this fantastic wrap around deck where you could see the Rocky Point city lights to the east and the beautiful sunsets to the west.

This 3 bedroom condo was very well decorated and felt comfortable and cozy, almost like home. It was classy with a huge 65" TV, a massive 4 poster bed and it was equipped with everything you would need and more.

The resort restaurant had great food, the resort grounds are extremely clean and the beach, spa and heated pools are just steps away.

We will definately rent 801-W again and recommend it to anyone. Remember you are in Mexico, we did have 2 power outage during our stay so we made the most of it and watched the beach combers instead of the big TV!!

34  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
2.5 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
800 reviews
1.3 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
730 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
214 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
#9 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort
Sonoran Spa Resort
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Sun Resort

Address: Rocky Point, Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Number of rooms: 224
Also Known As:
Sonoran Sun Hotel Puerto Penasco
Hotel Sonoran Sun
Sonoran Sun Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing