We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonoran Sun Resort
Nearby Hotels
Penasco Del Sol Hotel(Puerto Penasco)(Great Value!)
$149
$120
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baja Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
$59
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Weaver Inn(Puerto Penasco)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Point Hotel and Rv(Puerto Penasco)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Plaza Penasco(Puerto Penasco)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Lluvia Del Mar(Puerto Penasco)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hospedaje Mulege(Puerto Penasco)(Great Value!)
$64
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whale Hill(Puerto Penasco)(Great Value!)
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Playa Bonita Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
81
73
20
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
73
20
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barsandy beachwrap around deckrocky pointliving roomnice chairsmare blua small convenience storeshort drive into townwater jugrefundable depositfeeling of safetysecure parking lotocean viewpaper towelslittle bit of everythingcorner unit
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 191 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went down with a few friends on a recommendation last year, and have made it a tradition! This year's trip was even better. The resort is outstanding, and the price is pretty fair. The pools are great, especially the swim up bar with happy hour 3 times a day! Amazing views of the beach in every room.

My only recommendation is that you don't book with Group Mexico. This is not the fault of the hotel, Group Mexico books all over Rocky Point. They are incredibly rude, unhelpful, and disorganized. Luckily, the front desk at the hotel was flexible and ready to help us with changes to our reservation once we got there.

I know everyone is worried about safety traveling to Mexico, but I can say I never once felt unsafe both times I've come down. For extra security, you are required to have a wristband and a parking hanger to even get in the property. Security is at the hotel 24/7.

Seriously, this place is great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank utahman650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have been visiting Rocky Point for 10 years. We have stayed at many resorts on Sandy Beach and actually got married at the Sun. We love this resort. You can rent a one, two, or three bedroom condo. All are completely furnished and face the water. The view is amazing... the beach reminds me of Florida beaches.
We drive from Phoenix and take all of our own food and beverages so we can just make ourselves at home. Our idea is to relax and chill. Rocky Point is a pretty mellow place to visit. You can do many things, but we like to settle into our condo and enjoy the beach and pool. The beach is so close. You simply cannot find a balcony like this in California! We spend very little time actually in the condo since we are on the balcony, at the pool, or on the beach. We always rent the same unit, west 603 since we love it and feel so at home in it.
The front desk is so helpful... very sweet people who make you feel at home.
We rarely eat out when we are there since we just want to be at the beach all the time. Be sure to stop in town to grab some fresh seafood if you want to stay in and cook.
We LOVE Rocky Point and the Sun!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoreenMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here two nights during an off weekend in May. The resort is located at the end of the resort area, which is nice and a little quieter I imagine. The best part about Rocky Point is the cost. It's so cheap compared to ocean front places in other areas. The Sonoran Sun was clean and well maintained. The ocean is warmer than the Pacific coast.
We had a 3 bedroom 3 bath condo that we booked through a private individual. It was clean, spacious and had a great view of the ocean. The pool was nice and the water was relatively warm.
We didn't experience any problems with the resort service, except at the resort restaurant. We were the only customers in the entire restaurant, and the service was terrible. It was extremely slow and inadequate. The food was average.
Overall, we would love to stay here again and plan to do so at least a few times per year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Banshee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have been to Rocky Point several times, but we have never stayed at the Sonoran Sun. It was beautiful. We had a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom on the 6th floor. Everything, but the fan light on the patio was working. It was kept up nice, it was clean. It had a washer and dryer in our rental. Just remember to switch on the hot water if you want any and don't take a shower when someone else is. The pool and beach were awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carissakay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We rented a two bedroom condo for a couple of days. We had a beautiful view of the beach and the pool. Watched the dolphins each day. Walked the beach to several different bars and restaurants. All in all, it was wonderful. Go into town and visit some of the local bars and restaurants or stay and eat at Emiliano's right at the hotel. Miguel will answer any questions you have. This is a fishing village so you won't go wrong eating seafood. The Boobar was a lot of fun and Jerry will take care of you there. Or walk to "Wrecked on the Reef" for a couple of beers and some great guacamole. It was too bad for us we only had 2 days to spend there. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies facing the water. You can't go wrong. Just decide how high up you want to be. Our view from the 7th floor was spectacular.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blase' Jose'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews