We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to pool and beach, very hot house to sleep in”
Review of Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Palmas
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location to pool and beach, very hot house to sleep in”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Las Palmas in casita C-12, overall it was a great vacation, many activities for everyone. Overall the house size and location was great, we were near the pool and close distance to the ocean. The house size was very nice for our family (12 adults 3 kids), roomy and everyone had use of the 3 bathrooms nicely. We enjoyed the balcony and the large kitchen was great as we made our own fresh seafood while we were there. They had riendly security guards hich made it feel safe especially at night time. It was mid June and HOT! The AC in the back of the house (where 3 of the 4 bedrooms are!) was very hot and humid. We couldn't get the air conditioner to work and it made sleeping very uncomfortable. On the last night we were there we
had 10 people sleeping in the master bedroom (the others on the couch and floor of living room) because it was the only air conditioned area in the house. The garage door had a glitch and wouldn't open, we called front desk and they fixed it on the last day we were there. The inconvenience was that our car was parked inside the garage which left us borrowing a car when we needed to go somewhere.
We had a great time and would definitely go back again, but we'd stay in a different house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celeste F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    38
    17
    7
    22
See reviews for
81
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very clean resort good for adults and children. For adults there is no night life in the actual resort you would have to drive out to town or a bar that is walking distance from resort but closes early. Bar in the actual pool is nice you don't have to go far to get a cold one. They have a kids pool as well about 2 feet deep. Right on beach, beach is beautiful and very warm. Looking forward to going again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Beach front houses we usually go with a party of 10+. This resort is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiselle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Las Palmas is an excellent choice of a condo rental for a family. The rooms are clean, spacious, and the condo is equipped with a full kitchen. Air conditioning works great and beds are comfortable. A couch also makes out into a bed, for extra kids.

The security was excellent both in the condo complex as well as the parking area. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The kids will love the pools (3) and the water slide, and everyone will love walking a short path down to the beach.

On the complex is an excellent Italian restaurant, a mini convenience store and another shop with a little bit of everything.

Our family enjoyed Las Palmas and gladly recommends it to other families.

Room Tip: Our family enjoyed a 6th floor room overlooking the pool and the ocean; building called Bonita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

For the second time, my family shared a beachfront home with friends at Las Palmasa in Puerto Penasco, Mexico. We had a fantastic time. The home is literally 2 steps from the beach and was very comfortable. This time, we had 12 people share a 3 bedroom, 3 bath house and we had no problems at all.
While there, we rented jet skis, took the kids on a banana boat ride and a horseback ride on the beach. We also took advantage of local massage therapists and had several massages on the beach. The 7 kids enjoyed their time in the ocean and in the pool, and the new waterslide was a lot of fun.

My only regret is that we had to leave!

If you live in Arizona and want to go to the beach, I HIGHLY recommend the Las Palmas resort.

Room Tip: Check their website, all the information you need to pick either a rental home or condo apartment is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Az_Family_of_4-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My friend, Di was the one responsible for booking this fun, family-friendly Memorial weekend trip- so kudos for her! First of all, I noticed that security there is professional, friendly, but on point- from the gate gaurds to the swimming pool gaurds to the ones simply walking around. It gave a sense of security. Secondly, our four bedroom house (casita #8)was freakin GORGEOUS! Thirdly, our location was just as ahhhhhhmazing! We were about two hundred feet from the Sea if Cortez! The price was just perfect for four days and three nights as we had 7 adults to split approximately $1470.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We rented CASA #8, according to the website looked amazing had everything. I must say its a beautiful house BUT......NO DVD player, broken stereo, Very poor TV reception, only 1 couch had a sofa bed (NOT BOTH), missing half of the utensils all of which was on the website of having. The gas grill almost blew up, garage door wouldn't open it, some ceiling fans didn't work, fridge wouldn't stay closed, oven temp couldn't be changed and that was wrong, seemed to be something every step of the way. And if you asked the office for something like DVD player, stereo there all out was always an excuse. Horrible customer service. Ultimately had a wonderful time cause refuse to let that ruin our vacation with awesome friends and family. Next time definatley staying some were else. It was very close to the beach and had a beautiful ocean view!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Penasco hotels

Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We love Las Palmas in Rocky Point. A friend of ours owns two condos there so we use to frequent there every 4th of July. Even though it is not the newest resort in Rocky Point, it is very nice and very kid friendly. Summer time means hotter water and more jelly fish however the beach is very relaxing and their pools and bar is a great change from the ocean. Only a 3 1/2 hour drive from Chandler, AZ. Bring your own food and drinks and you can save a lot of money. We have only ventured out to the restaurant once or twice. We enjoy just sticking around the condo, beach and pool and not venturing to far.

Room Tip: We prefer the Grande building, however the Baja building also has great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.0 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.3 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#8 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#2 of 17 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas

Property: Las Palmas
Address: Sandy Beach Rd 1000, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas is an oceanfront resort comprised of privately-owned luxury homes and condominiums. The resort is located along Sandy Beach in Puerto Penasco, Mexico. The town is commonly known as Rocky Point. Las Palmas reflects this new trend with its splendid architecture, groomed landscaping and family-oriented culture. The gated compound offers 24-hour security, heated pools, Jacuzzis, lighted parking and a spectacular club house with swim-up bar, kid's pool, exercise room, game room and spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palmas Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Las Palmas Beachfront
Las Palmas Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing