We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Town”
Review of Old Port

Old Port
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint Town”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Felt very safe and the vendors hassle you but not any more than anywhere else. To me, its a perfect size as it has enough stores to find different things but just as you get to seeing the same things, it's done. Lots of places to eat right on the water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jpohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    159
    83
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cjguru
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good folks and good shrimp.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love the marketplace... bargaining/negotiating with the dealers there is fun. There is one guy that will take offense if you turn his deal down, but don't fret... you can buy the same stuff for the price you want to pay 2 doors down.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ, NM
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Copali Vanilla”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

When I go to Mexico there are only 2 things that I want to purchase and take home; Vanilla and Coffee.

You can find Copali Vanilla in Old Port (not on the sea side). There is a sign on the sidewalk saying Copali Vanilla so look for it and walk to the left back of this little shopping area. There is an older gentleman which sells this brand. The guy in the first store on the left sells the vanilla with the rooster on it. I have had this brand and it is OK but Copali is a notch up. (The best vanilla IMHO is from the vanilla store in Puerto Vallarta.)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank shelleyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
litchfield park az
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“old port”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

a perfect place to wonder in shops for trinkets, food, clothes, dishes, a must visit place, very relaxing, perfect ocean breezes

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank artbyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Avoid buying shrimp or fish from Armando's”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have been buying shrimp for 9 years at the Malecon in Rocky Point. This year our regular fish vendor was not there so we bought from Armando's because he offered the lowest price. When we got home I weighed what was supposed to be 8 pounds of shrimp and found he gave us only 5 pounds. Also, 2 pounds of fish turned out to be only 1 pound. We were cheated out of $20 by this guy. We watched him weigh it on his scale, but obviously his scale was rigged. Next time I am bringing my own scale and will never go to Armando's again.

This is the first time we have ever had a problem in 9 years. DO NOT BUY SHRIMP OR FISH FROM ARMANDO'S!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank GeoladyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Port also viewed

 
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 

Been to Old Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing