We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hannah's first trip to Mexico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hannah's first trip to Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was great! Friendly staff and accommodating to children. Our room had a view of the ocean and the pool. The balcony was my favorite spot. Phone wasn't working so couldn't order room service the first morning. The maintenance man also forgot to lock the door after he left. When we came back to room we just pushed the door open. ;-( nothing was stolen though. Had valuables in the safe.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    215
    83
    47
    39
See reviews for
218
232
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
va
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is probably the best place in the area close to the rocky point marina and fish market area of the old town. Terrific view, and terrific beach right out the back door. The rooms (we had a suite) are well appointed, clean, and well maintained. Housekeeping service is unobtrusive. It has a good front desk staff who will help you find the best places to dine, buy shrimp to take home, etc.; a nice bar with welcoming bartenders; and a nice dining room. Small gripes are that they didn't have hot tea for breakfast and that the convenience store has very limited selection but neither is a significant problem as there are places right across the street to get what you need. No gym on site. Further up the beach there is a newer area with lots of condos and restaurants, but hotel-wise, if you want to be closer to the marina this is the place to be. Off season rates can be a significant bargain, and they recommend you book direct with them rather than via a travel site in order to get the sweetest deals and upgrades.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Drove down from Tucson. Arrived in Rocky Point and was a little disappointed in the town as many of the tourist sites were closed. Buildings were left unfinished and the town is looking as though it is slowly going down hill. We saw no new building taking place. Probably because of reported drug activity? Two days before coming down there was a large gun fight between the cartel and the Mexican police and army. Five cartel killed. Gun fight was not close to Del Sol hotel. We got a suite in the ground floor and were very pleased. Having traveled to Mexico for the last twenty years you learn not to compare the Mexican hotels with the US hotels. The price was very affordable, $90 a night. Our room was clean. It had a great view. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Front sitting area: Couch, coffee table, small round table with one chair, floor lamp. The tv set on a dresser. Kitchen: A kitchen bar with three padded stools, a small coffee pot, microwave, small fridg. sink with only cold water. There are no eating utensils or plates. The outside hall ice cube dispenser was not working. Bathroom: Sink/mirror is located out side of the closed door room which contained the toilet and shower. Towels are ruff/small and we had no face cloths. Maid stopped by every morning to make-up the room and leave more towels if needed. we chose only to get fresh towels every morning and pass on the room clean up). Bedroom: Bedroom contained a large tv, dresser, two side tables with lamps. The bed was what most would call "hard" however I find in most Mexican hotels this to be the norm. The restaurant across the street was pleasant and the food tasted good. The only things I would change would be: Eating utensils, softer towels and more English speaking tv shows. That in my opinion are only minor things. I rate this hotel a 4 star! A bonus! We found two RV parks. (we have a 30' trailer) The cost was only $40 "a month" for full hook-up. There were many RV's belonging to Americans. A number of them were obviously left there all year and many that had patios and porches had been there many years. The office said that some people leave their RV's there when not in Mexico. The park will move the trailer to a guarded holding lot and when you return they set it back up on the beach. They have full hook-ups or you can dry camp. They also have a dumping station. We look foreword to bringing our RV down here and travel back and forth from Tucson for a month or so. Have fun!

Room Tip: Be sure and get a ground floor suit if possible. You are able to "spread out" a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela R, Gerente at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Dan B,

It's a shame that gun fight happened at Puerto Peñasco, we are very lucky that happened far from Penasco del Sol. Puerto Penasco, still have a quite small fishing town and there is not a violence place as many people think. We hope at many tourist can change this bad feeling and give us the opportunity to be their host at Puerto Peñasco.

We really sorry for the little details during your stay, we are taking care of them; for next year we are going to have brand new linen, bed covers and better quality towels. Many good things are coming for our guests in Penasco del Sol Hotel.

I hope to see you soon, we will be happy to be your favorite place to stay at Puerto Peñasco.

Cordially,

Gisela Ramírez
RDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Penasco Del Sol Hotel this November. The main lobby area is nice as well as the pool area. The room was decent sized, but could use updating. My main issue is the amenities they advertise on Expedia. There are no bathrobes. The bath towels are dingy and very thin. They are basically worn out. The knobs and controls to our air conditioner were removed so you could not use it. They advertise a buffet breakfast in their restaurant. We found that they only do this on weekends. Most of the time their restaurant is empty with good reason. The food and service was not very good. Go across the street and eat at Max's Restaurant. Good service and good food.

My main issue was our free breakfast. We were given a 5" by 7" slip of paper with nine entries on it. We ordered a fruit plate, omelet, toast, juice and coffee. The waiter took the order and left. We were served the fruit plate, toast, orange juice and coffee. When I finally inquired about the omelet, he then told us that we could only order one entry off the list. Fruit plate, Toast, and Jugo de Naranja are three of the four entries that we ordered. We could not have the omelet. This supposedly buffet breakfast became a continental breakfast. From then on we ordered the omelet which came with canned re-fried beans and really bad hash brown potatoes. This hotel has a long way to go before they can claim to be a three star hotel. You are better off renting a beach condo on sandy beach if you want a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank turboducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela R, Gerente at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We really sorry if we can not meet your expectations this time. We are working harder to improve our service and facilities in order to be your favorite place to stay in Rocky Point. For next year we are going to have brand new linen, bed covers and better quality towels. Many good things are coming for our guests in Penasco del Sol Hotel.

I hope to see you soon and get the opportunity to change this experience into a typical Penasco del Sol experience with our "Espíritu de Hospitalidad" (Spirit of Hospitality) as many guests have known.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently travel to Rocky Point and stayed at the Pendasco Del Sol Hotel during an extended weekend over Columbus Day (11-Oct-13 through 14-Oct-13). I looked forward to the trip not only as my first trip to Rocky Point, but excited for the resort as it boasted of its 15 million dollar renovation it had recently completed. I was disappointed, though, as it seemed that this massive overhaul had not made it into the rooms. By that, I mean it appeared that the overall landscaping, lobby, pool, and common areas received most of the attention whereas the rooms seemed to simply be “refreshed”. The bed was rather uncomfortable and highly overstated on its website claiming “luxurious beds & linens” and its shower (if you were able to get hot water at all) was uncomfortable in that the showerhead pierced and sprayed out of every other hole - it simply needed cleaning. Lastly, the towels were not as “fluffy” one would expect out of a hotel. However, this hotel did redeem itself in its friendly and engaging staff. Walking to the beach, one staff member greeted me and asked if my day and stay were going well. Objectively, this hotel has some opportunity for improvement, but is not a 1-or-2 star rating, either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahia1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at a master suite / ocean view.

Pros:
Great location and views

Cons:
Balcony too small to sit out.
Shower was dirty (looked like large mold spots)
No utensils/towels in the kitchen.
Wristbands supposedly mandatory (really, why not just show your room card if asked or to access hotel/pool)

Room Tip: Stay at the Sonoran Sky or Sun instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghartok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

First visit to Rocky Point. Couldn't see anything driving in - but when we went to our room, the view of the beach blew us away. Booked a suite and so glad we did. Room was delightful and as mentioned the view!! Staff lovely and friendly. Loved the pool area - again the views from the pool amazing! Only negative, the food was just so-so. Loved the tacos at the pool, but restaurant was just OK. Breakfast was cheap, but quality not particularly good. Go to Max's across the street for breakfast and go into town for the best eats! Hotel is in the best position for the town and is an easy cab ride away. Will definitely be back and will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lopud31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.4 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Pinacate
Marina Pinacate
#13 of 16 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penasco Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Property: Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Address: Paseo Las Glorias No 1, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penasco Del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Hotel Peñasco Del Sol a lush, tropical playground surrounded by gorgeous beaches and spectacular ocean vistas. Located in sun-splashed Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico, we're the only beachfront hotel within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. Select from 203 guest rooms and suites each spacious, handsomely furnished, and blessed with sweeping beach views and delightful amenities. Discover for yourself why we're the preferred choice of Sonora Mexico hotels. A new definition of paradise awaits you at our luxurious Rocky Point Mexico hotel resort, which combines warm hospitality with a landmark setting: * Located in Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico. * Within walking distance of downtown attractions and businesses. * Surrounded by unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. * Just 60 miles southwest of the United States-Mexico border. * 3.5 hours from Tucson and Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Penasco Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sol Hotel Penasco Del
Penasco Del Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico
Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco
Plaza Las Glorias
Puerto Peñasco Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing