We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First visit to Rocky Point. Couldn't see anything driving in - but when we went to our room, the view of the beach blew us away. Booked a suite and so glad we did. Room was delightful and as mentioned the view!! Staff lovely and friendly. Loved the pool area - again the views from the pool amazing! Only negative, the food was just so-so. Loved the tacos at the pool, but restaurant was just OK. Breakfast was cheap, but quality not particularly good. Go to Max's across the street for breakfast and go into town for the best eats! Hotel is in the best position for the town and is an easy cab ride away. Will definitely be back and will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lopud31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Penasco Del Sol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 770 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

On our first day we got there had an awesome ,&fun time enjoying the pools/beach& bar on a hot summer day ,until early in the morning on the next day @2am while sleeping the a/c stopped working it was seriously sooo hot & to top it off the ceiling fan wasn't working,called lobby to make story short the maintence guy supposly fixed & 3 min later it stopped working again,a/c and fan,called again & Reception send someone fixed the fan & took of the filter from a/c ,we lost our sleep,reception staff didnt offer us a discount or extra night to make up,or even said wer'e sorry for incoveinience,was very dissapointed in that matter =( Other than that It's a beautiful hotel ,a lil bit pricy for the oversight but with complimentary breakfast for four,made up for the price on hotel,Wasn't happy with mgt.how they handled our situation,I gave them an F,did took some beautiful pics,of pool area & beach views ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lourdes r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

my friend and I were staying here for labor day weekend. We notified the hotel that 2 men were harassing and taunting us, but they did nothing. we called the police because them men continued to stalk us and came to our room twice. we confronted the 2 men stalking, harassing, and taunting us later that night with the police officers. the 2 men said that the hotel employee gave him our room number and confidential guest information. the most astonishing thing is that the hotel did nothing about it. they refused to reimburse us for our inconvenience, harassment, or stay. they did not help us at all. we did not feel safe or protected while staying at this hotel. we are 2 young women and we felt like our life and safety were in danger and compromised. please help spread the word; I do not want other women staying at this hotel to be a victim. thankfully, my friend and I prevented anything that might've happened because we were overly cautious. please be careful and I recommend no one stay here for their own safety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank jillloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend. Got a master suite; very nice room with ocean view. Individual AC, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tv in living room, tv in bed room. Sofa bed in living room. Safe in room big enough for laptop. We drove here. Parking is free, small parking lot next to hotel, but they have a secondary parking lot about 1/2 block away with plenty of parking. As mentioned by other guests; bed was very hard. Only one elevator was working throughout our stay. The pool size for the number of rooms the hotel has is way too small. If you don't get out very early and put your towel on a chair, you are out of luck. Pool gets very crowded. WiFi is free and every room has an antenna inside so signal is great. You do have to ask for the password at the front desk. If possible do get an ocean view room, the view is fantastic!! Hotel website says free valet parking; but good luck with that. Hotel was way to busy and no one was ever there to park your car. Hint on booking: Go to hotel's website for better price. When i booked it was cheaper than using major travel site. One last bad point. While we were packing morning of check out, we saw a big cockroach run across our bedroom floor.. pretty nasty.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aztlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela R, Gerente at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We are sorry about all the iconvenience about your stay we are working hard to improve our service and standards. A few months ago we get a new brand mattresses; we really sorry if we did not meet your expectations but for next time we are going to have new bed covers, pillows in order to offer a confortable bed rooms.

About the elevator issue we had problems with an electrical part it could not been possible to get fixed right away for the company provider it takes some days to be done.

Do not hesitate about this issue please give us the opportunity to be our guest again with our typical Penasco del Sol spirit hospitality.

Sincerely,

Gisela Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Penasco del Sol was clean, convenient and reasonable. However it was packed with families with uncontrolled children. They were in the jacuzzi, adults pool as well as the main pool. Running, playing, in diapers with no hotel control.

The good is that we arrived a couple of hours early and were given a room. It was clean, nice size and a decent view.

The bad was only one elevator our entire 4 day stay. Too many kids with no supervision. Happy hour did not include beer or wine.

The location is not bad not great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank seawolf1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela R, Gerente at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We are very sorry that you did not have our typical outstanding experience at our resort. We do understand there is Summer Vacation and we are a Family Hotel :) We are very proud of our focus on families and Kid Club activities.

For next time I suggest to come down on October, is the best month to get a relaxing and romantic get away on the beach there are beautiful sunset with our amazing ocean view rooms.

I would appreciate a chance to welcome you back and help restore your faith in us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.

Best regards,

Gisela Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

location was nice . staff was nice my room suck no central a/c. it has a noisy coolant , the beds sucks mattles was so hadr feels like I was sleeping over a graves my back feels so bad. the roon in general not a big deal . I been many times in Puerto penasco in diferect hotels end condominiums that were very nice in and out .but not this place sorry ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5toto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We took a short trip to Rocky Point and we decided to stay at this hotel because of tripadvisor reviews and location (near the beach).
Our room was modern and well equipped (including bar refrigerator and microwave). Beds were comfortable (Two beds). We had a small balcony overlooking the beach, with a nice view of the boats coming and going.

Hotel rate was expensive, but this may be due to the fact that we did not booked the room in advance (we did not get any special rate or promotion).

We had one dinner in the restaurant inside the hotel (we did not get any meal included with the room), food was ok but it took ages to get it to our table, but you do not need to worry as there are several locations around the hotel with plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view room, or you may get a pool side view. You will be deligh...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamFer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Laguna Shores Resort
Laguna Shores Resort
#15 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penasco Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Address: Paseo Las Glorias No 1, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: $71 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penasco Del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Hotel Peñasco Del Sol a lush, tropical playground surrounded by gorgeous beaches and spectacular ocean vistas. Located in sun-splashed Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico, we're the only beachfront hotel within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. Select from 203 guest rooms and suites each spacious, handsomely furnished, and blessed with sweeping beach views and delightful amenities. Discover for yourself why we're the preferred choice of Sonora Mexico hotels. A new definition of paradise awaits you at our luxurious Rocky Point Mexico hotel resort, which combines warm hospitality with a landmark setting: * Located in Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico. * Within walking distance of downtown attractions and businesses. * Surrounded by unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. * Just 60 miles southwest of the United States-Mexico border. * 3.5 hours from Tucson and Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penasco Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sol Hotel Penasco Del
Penasco Del Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico
Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco
Plaza Las Glorias
Puerto Peñasco Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing