We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th of July stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“4th of July stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great staff, great Master suite room! Staff was extremely helpful, friendly and always available when we needed something! We stayed 3nights 4 days, I initially booked the incorrect room and was immediately moved the same day to another room. it still was not what I wanted ( I had stayed at the master suite before) Woke up the next morning and staff was still very helpful and got me the room I was wanting. Even when I lost room key 2 times, I was greeted with a smile! Wish they had more parking closer to hotel, but my car was safe our whole trip and we didn't really need to drive around since everything we needed was at the hotel or just a walk away!

Room Tip: Master Suites are the best, you get a view and quiet A/C system. If you are looking to save more mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    220
    89
    48
    40
See reviews for
224
239
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This place was friendly staff, clean, welcoming, located right on the beach AND I got a slammin' deal on the room. Drinks and good were affordable and no additional charge for parking. My only negative were the beds were hard as a rock! So uncomfortable but I had heard they had just purchased new beds? True or untrue I don't know. Rooms were basic but hey! You're at the beach you don't need a fancy room! Will possibly try another resort on our now every other weekend trip down there. That's right 2x a month trip down there, because when you live in the desert of Phx and this oasis of a town is only a few short hrs away, that's awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I like this hotel cause its close to everything!! I reserved a master suite which was good and pretty , the service was fantastic, workers were friendly, the pool was clean , i went on june and it was a good month to go cause it was not that many people on the beach and pool, the only thing is that the bathroom was small and when i took a shower the water comes out to the floor and it gets slipery, the shower should have a door, the beach its public and it does have glass and holes on the water, i found that kind of dangerous for everyone, but like i said its public!! Overall the hotel was great!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed this past Memorial Day 2013, the hotel is nice, although NO room has true ocean front view. I reserved an ocean front view, but in reality, is more a beach view.

In regards to the pool amenities, we were told that there was NO charge for any of the amenities, including the cabanas, and it was true until a new party liked our cabana. He pressure one of the managers to force us to give him our cabana, when we refused, they forced some of the guess to pay $20.00 dollars rental. It was so chaotic and dangerous because many of the customers were angry. It was unfair that they made some people pay simply to pleased a new guess.

They need to work on equality and fairness. Their own employees were confused and could not believe the disorganization and how dangerous the situation became.

Isabel G.
San Jose California

Room Tip: Dont bother paying for an ocean front view suit, you will be disappointed, you have a better view re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank isabel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights by myself on business. The hotel is very nice. I paid a little extra to upgrade to an oceanfront suite, and well worth the money. The room was nice size, and very clean. All the staff was helpful and nice. I was able to sit in my room with balcony door open, and watch the sunset directly. Would return here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We've taken a group of VIP's down to the Penasco Del Sol and from the greetings at the front to the room conditions to the food, beach and pool the entire process was amazing. The hotel is located in the heart of everything and all our guests had a first hand experience of Rocky Point. I would highly recommend a conference, group, trade show or just a get away weekend at the Del Sol.

Room Tip: Ground floor by the ocean if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

i really enjoyed my stay at Penasco Del Sol Hotel on my recent trip. The hotel was packed when we got there on Friday (was warned by the reservation staff when I called) but the staff was very friendly. I felt quite safe staying there with our two kids (toddler and infant age) as they have security staff all over the premise. We love the cabana and the pool and the food/breakfast buffet was pretty good and decently priced. Staff was very helpful when we encountered a problem during our stay so thank you for taking care of our family while we were there! I would recommend this hotel to my friends and would definitely come back for another stay...when it's not too crowded with too many high school kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lannie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#1 of 17 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Pinacate
Marina Pinacate
#13 of 17 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penasco Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Property: Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Address: Paseo Las Glorias No 1, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penasco Del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Hotel Peñasco Del Sol a lush, tropical playground surrounded by gorgeous beaches and spectacular ocean vistas. Located in sun-splashed Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico, we're the only beachfront hotel within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. Select from 203 guest rooms and suites each spacious, handsomely furnished, and blessed with sweeping beach views and delightful amenities. Discover for yourself why we're the preferred choice of Sonora Mexico hotels. A new definition of paradise awaits you at our luxurious Rocky Point Mexico hotel resort, which combines warm hospitality with a landmark setting: * Located in Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico. * Within walking distance of downtown attractions and businesses. * Surrounded by unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. * Just 60 miles southwest of the United States-Mexico border. * 3.5 hours from Tucson and Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penasco Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sol Hotel Penasco Del
Penasco Del Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico
Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco
Plaza Las Glorias
Puerto Peñasco Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing