We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel/great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel/great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have had breakfast numerous times across the street from this hotel but had never stayed there. After a not so great experience at a local place, we decided to see how much the rooms were at this hotel. We showed up, without a reservation, and we were so happy when the front desk clerk told us they had availability and gave us a great rate. The room that we got reminded us of the condos on Sandy Beach, which is where we usually stay, only much closer to town. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The room had a fabulous ocean view with a small balcony. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    196
    65
    42
    35
See reviews for
201
196
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, has a great view of the ocean and the pool and walks right onto the beach.
For what you pay for, the price is inexpensive for the caliber of hotel. The lobby was beautiful and spotless, as was our large, balcony room.

My only complaint was that the shower didn't have a door/curtain, so it sprayed all over the floor and left quite a bunch of water. But if that's the worst that I can say, I think we are good to go!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mer_Mer_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was a good place for the price. Not as good as the resorts around it but also not as expensive as those places. We were there for my friend's wedding and it was located in a very good spot close to everything. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was good but the shower didn't have hot water. Room service was fast but they overcharged a little (different than what menu price was). Overall it was good.

Room Tip: I used hotels.com and checked for free cancellations, as well as price matching. Ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and i just got back from an awesome getaway in Penasco. Just like many we were hesitant to go to Mexico because of all the negative news. After searching many quick destinations my heart was stuck on Puerto Penasco. I called the hotel after cancelling my reservation and Francisca Ruiz the reservation clerk and her passion about her towns safety really sold me. When we arrived the room I had booked online was a little far for my disabled knees. She placed us on a lower level without thinking twice. Our stay at rocky point was amazing. The breakfast buffet and the service were amazing. I am never gonna hesitate again. I actually felt safer there than in San Diego where we went in May to afraid to go To RP. Thanks the Penasco del Sol staff! We will be back! And I'm bringing friends and family back. Rocky Point has always been there for Arizona, it's time we give back our vacations and respect to our own beach town Puerto Penasco.

Room Tip: A small fridge in the lower level rooms to us was a necessary item. So if you plan on cold stuff bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmadinare, North-East, Botswana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Bathroom was not clean, hair in shower drain to the point if would not drain. Advertise hotel wi-fi however did not specify that wi-fi is in lobby only. It is old and really shows,.Poor Maintenance. Big disappointment for the price. Band by poolside kept us awake till afte11pm

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granpadavunoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela R, Gerente at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations of the guestroom bathroom. We take a deep pride in our resort and have a maintenance crew that could have remedied the drain problem immediately had we been notified and would have ensured your satisfaction. Our guest satisfaction is our top priority so please contact the front desk during your stay with any concerns.

The weekend of October 6 & 7, we held our annual tribute to the local artist and musicians – Jazz and Arts Festival - where the proceeds are donated to charity in which all hotel guest were invited for the show. We are sorry to learn you were dissatisfied and would have been moved you to a room away from the festivities. Please notify me on your return in order to personally ensure you satisfaction.

Michael Phillips
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Outstanding place to stay in Rocky Point! Great location and excellent customer service. Stayed in a suite with balcony and ocean view and just loved it!! The view was amazing, the room was perfect and can easily sleep four people. The hotel is very, very family friendly and is close to many restaurants. The beach is just a short walk away and the pools stays pretty clean all the time. The food in the restaurant is ok, but the breakfast buffet is outstanding!! Will definetly be back soon!! Thank you Peñasco del Sol for such a great weekend!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elTetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Hotel is in the best Location of Puerto Penasco. Hotel was busy.The cons are that shower has very little water pressure, I did had a great time in the hotel and I'm staying here again next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kev619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.4 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#14 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
#8 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort at Sandy Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penasco Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Property: Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Address: Paseo Las Glorias No 1, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penasco Del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Hotel Peñasco Del Sol a lush, tropical playground surrounded by gorgeous beaches and spectacular ocean vistas. Located in sun-splashed Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico, we're the only beachfront hotel within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. Select from 203 guest rooms and suites each spacious, handsomely furnished, and blessed with sweeping beach views and delightful amenities. Discover for yourself why we're the preferred choice of Sonora Mexico hotels. A new definition of paradise awaits you at our luxurious Rocky Point Mexico hotel resort, which combines warm hospitality with a landmark setting: * Located in Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico. * Within walking distance of downtown attractions and businesses. * Surrounded by unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. * Just 60 miles southwest of the United States-Mexico border. * 3.5 hours from Tucson and Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Penasco Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sol Hotel Penasco Del
Penasco Del Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico
Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco
Plaza Las Glorias
Puerto Peñasco Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing