We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort missing the resort qualities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Apparently this hotel has had major renovations recently and it showed. The lobby is very grand with a huge floral arrangement and a beautiful bar. The overall experience was pretty good but their were a few things I would not expect from a hotel charging the prices they do.
Upon arrival we asked about the swim up bar being closed since it was empty and they said it would open the next day. Well, turns out the pool was not heated and too cold to swim in. We decided to try the spa and it was lukewarm at best. Got out and ran up to the room to take a hot shower to warm up and only got lukewarm water in the shower. I told the front desk about the spa being cold (like they didn't know..duh!) and they said they would take care of it. never happened the next 2 days. The swim up bar was closed the whole time, even though they said it would open the next day everyday. I think they
have been trained to tell you it will be taken care of and there is no intention to do so.
That evening when we were in the lobby there were 4 girls who came down with their swimsuits on and they were at the lobby bar getting their own cocktails to carry outside to the spa. They were a day early from the rest of the kids on spring break and all excited to get out to the spa. I didn't want to burst their bubble and tell them the spa was cold , figured they'd find out soon enough. As I walked to my room a short while later they were not at the spa..surprise??? Yet, the front desk was told about the spa earlier in the day and nothing was done.
The room was nice, but the balcony was too small to cram a chair out on. Many times you could only get lukewarm water out of the shower. I suggest requesting the top floor (4th), because the noise carries from the floor above. I could hear the people in the room above come in, open their dresser drawers, hear the closet door slide, shoes on the floor.
Upon check-out we mentioned that we were dissappointed about the pool being cold, the spa barely lukewarm and the swim up bar closed and all they could say was they would let the right person know.
All I wanted was to relax by the pool and read a book and take occasional dips in the pool and spa...have a drink or two at the swim up bar. All was unavailable.
A resort like this should have had their resort facilities up and running and they did not. I would suggest if you stay here and have any difficulties to stay on top of it or you will only get lip service!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucsonoceanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 800 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2007

Had a great 2 night stay at The Penasco del Sol. We found the service was excellent, and well organized. No sign of other mentions of room delays. They probably arrived at nine AM and expected their room to be turned (the same people who check out as late as possible!). Even if you were early, the setting is great to hit the bar then the pool to relax a bit. Parking was no problem at all either. I guess the property was recently renovated and it showed; flat screen TV's, new elevators and room furnishings. What we liked the best was the location, a quick cab ride to all the fun night spots and restaurants and a walk to breakfast spots (Max's) and amenity retail. We would not wanted to be stuck out in a sterile resort. This is the place if you want a balance of the mexican experience and great hotel accomodations and service. Never having been to Pensco before i did not know what to expect. This town will be a Cancun in 5 years...

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lumberyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kidjosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldmnaz, Manager at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaOfCortezMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jzking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldmnaz, Manager at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldmnaz, Manager at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

4  Thank Andysaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldmnaz, Manager at Penasco Del Sol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
1.3 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#10 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
#9 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
20 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort
Sonoran Spa Resort
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penasco Del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penasco Del Sol Hotel

Address: Paseo Las Glorias No 1, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: $62 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penasco Del Sol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Hotel Peñasco Del Sol a lush, tropical playground surrounded by gorgeous beaches and spectacular ocean vistas. Located in sun-splashed Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico, we're the only beachfront hotel within walking distance of downtown attractions, restaurants, and nightlife. Select from 203 guest rooms and suites each spacious, handsomely furnished, and blessed with sweeping beach views and delightful amenities. Discover for yourself why we're the preferred choice of Sonora Mexico hotels. A new definition of paradise awaits you at our luxurious Rocky Point Mexico hotel resort, which combines warm hospitality with a landmark setting: * Located in Puerto Peñasco (Rocky Point), Mexico. * Within walking distance of downtown attractions and businesses. * Surrounded by unique shopping, dining, and nightlife. * Just 60 miles southwest of the United States-Mexico border. * 3.5 hours from Tucson and Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penasco Del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Puerto Peñasco
Sol Hotel Penasco Del
Penasco Del Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico
Sol Hotel Puerto Penasco
Plaza Las Glorias
Puerto Peñasco Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing