We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise!”
Review of Mayan Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayan Palace
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow, I've been all over Mexico and stayed in the best 5 star resorts and the quaintest little pueblo hotels and I was very impressed with the Mayan Palace, Puerto Penasco. Driving in I thought, "where the heck are we?!" And "I will never bother with this trip again!" Until I walked into the lobby! Stunning, everything was very clean, nicely appointed and the staff was amazing! Even the "welcome margarita" was good (they are usually a bad watered down drink). I hate the whole time share breakfast & presentation thing, but it was only optional, so we skipped it. The food beach side was great and the restaurant was amazing! We are already planning our trip here next year! One of the best Mexico destinations I've ever seen!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bossynana-nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
There are newer reviews for Mayan Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 810 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We read the reviews before we left, so we were prepared. During our check in the lady started to tell us about the savings if we went to a meeting, my husband kindly told her that money really wasn't a worry for us and we really just wanted to enjoy every minute we had. They left us alone and never asked again. The only complaint I have is the cost for food and beverages - if they were a little more reasonable we would have spent much more - drinks are $10 and the evening buffet is $40 per person, yuk. Lunch by the pool is awesome, try the chicken or steak cheese steak sandwich. BUT Go into town for dinner - it's totally safe - for cheap and good, go to Mary's by the fish market - for fine dining go to Chef Mickeys Place on Fremont where the road twins entrees are only $15 and it really is fine dining!

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms are very exact. You only have a beer fridge in the 2 bedrooms. We stayed b...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KristenBohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

While the units are large and accommodating, Mayan does not quite live up to expectations. The town is relatively small and only 20 minutes by auto, the resort must believe that all are held captives. You see it in the way the visitors are treated. For example, the efforts to sell almost undo any good feeling the visit could provide. Strong sell effort; just say no! Restaurant prices way out of line! Internet provision is unacceptably missing and vastly overpriced. OK to go, but just do not get trapped into their financial snare. In the meantime, enjoy the beach and the small Mexican town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Woody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Don't go! Even as owners we can't check into our room without having to first see a high pressured timeshare sales agent. Absolutely hate this type of marketing and never recommend Mayan Palace to anyone because of it. Plus they don't have insulation between floors so one gets to hear everything the people are doing in the room above you. They are all built cheap like that.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FancyArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went as a family of four 2 adults 2 children we stayed for 7 days. the children loved this resort as we enjoyed it too. They organized activities at the pool area for children and adults and are very fun and entertaining. The service was excellent the rooms very nice and clean, the only complain i have is that they pressure you to go on a presentation for a time share and the presentation took around 4 hours and the sales men are very pushy, so if youre not intersted in buyin a timeshare avoid the presentation. The city is kind of far from the Mayan about a 30 min drive.

Room Tip: ask for beach view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erikak99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Mayan resort was very nice and the rooms suite I was in was very large and beautiful. As far as the item on the website display which were Deep-sea fishing- did not see any boats for doing this, A visit to El Pinacate National Park-never heard anything for this,A visit to the Isla San Jorge seal sanctuary-we did do this through Eco tours whick was okay, Sighting of whales (during January)- we visited in Sept. so no we did not see any, Parasailing-no never seen a boat a couple jet skies, ATVs all-terrain vehicles-yes with a guide in a Yamaha Rhino driving.
,Sunset cruises-what never seen or heard anything about this.
We just happened to be down there while the roads into the resort were washed out due to water being relased in Az. The road into and out of Mayan Palace was washed away two parts of the road so we were stranded at the hotel with no way for us to drive into town or anywhere for that matter. The road was washed out from Sun. 9/16 to 9/18 2012. What they did for us and many others stranded was comp'ed rooms additional nights and paid for breakfast, lunch and dinner so they did try to accomadate a situation where no one had any control over what happened. Would I go again yes at a discounted rate groupon which is what we used to stay anyways. Would I pay full price probably not. Now if it was in Cancun or somewhere nicer I sure would. The place is an ECO friendly place so if you see bugs don't be alarmed they are contracted not to endanger any wild life what so ever, owned and managed bu an Australian company and they have to follow their guidlines.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ebehrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family and I found the Mayan Palace to be an absolutely wonderful place. The rooms were clean and spacious. The Staff and guest were all friendly! The staff organizes activities in the pool for the whole family. There are activities such as painting and hair braiding in the pool area as well. If you get hungry there is a restaurant poolside, bar, and Hagan daz ice cream. My husband and I both used the spa & fitness center, which was nice. The resort is right by the beach and have options to take a boat cruise $80 per person for 2 hours or rent jet ski's for $60 hour. A few negative points are the bugs. Because of the heat...bugs (crickets, beetles, misquitos, etc.) would find their way in the lobby & room. So, wear bug spray so mosquitos do not bite you. There was also flooding on the roads to the Mayan and if not careful can get stuck. And you can't take coolers to the pool area so we sneaked alcohol in with a duffel bag and brought our own plastic cups because no glass bottles are allowed in the pool area either.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ide F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
93.9 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
770 reviews
95.2 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
717 reviews
94.4 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94.5 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
212 reviews
93.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
96.0 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace

Address: Km. 24 Carretera Puerto Penasco-Caborca | Ejido Miramar, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mayan Puerto Penasco is an awe-inspiring vacation for guests of all ages. This desert oasis of relaxation and wonder offers a truly unique getaway, with its world-renowned golf course, luxurious outdoor pools, Jacuzzis, fire pits, and stunning surrounding scenery. As soon as you enter The Grand Mayan Puerto Penasco, you’ll leave the rest of the world – and all of your cares – behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Hotel Puerto Penasco
Wyndham Puerto Peñasco
Mayan Palace Penasco
Puerto Peñasco Wyndham
Mayan Resort Puerto Penasco Mexico
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing