We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must stop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pollo Lucas

Pollo Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Friends recommened Pollo Lucas & now it is a must stop anytime we go to Rocky Point! The chicken is simply amazing! Very casual, cooked over open flame right in front of you. The prices are cheap & the food great! You will definetely feel like a local. We like to eat there & enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMBlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    74
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great spot to eat like the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our friends who own a condo in Puerto Penasco and this is one of their regular stops. The food here was great, and like most places down here, good value for the money. I found the staff here friendly and the place was surprisingly clean for a roadside stand. I will go back here as soon as I can.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scarychip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent, but definitely casual!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have found that in Rocky Point, gourmet attempts to apply to certain restaurants, but having been to so many of them, we think you are better going with the flow and eat casually and then you won't be disappointed. We have been going to Pollo Lucas for years. Ultra casual, but consistently the same! Always good, chicken is fresh, beans are delicious and the tortillas are made fresh in front of you! I think it is very good, but realize we are talking about Very Good for an ultra casual place...Keep that in mind. I am not recommending this because it is gourmet quality!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jtimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome roadside eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is excellent! The prices cannot be beaten anywhere! They do not serve alcohol, but you are welcome to bring your own. Honestly, I think they would do even better just by serving cold beer. You can order 1/4 chicken to a whole chicken which is cooked and cut up. It has the most wonderful mesquite, juicy flavor. Every one is cooked to perfection. It is served with warm, fresh tortillas, slaw and pickled onions. We had 2-1/2 chickens because my sons could not stop eating! The cost for all of at with drinks was $30. Stop by, you will love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tropicaljennAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great eat in or take out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Feed your family for under $10 with great BBQ chicken and sides. Very fresh and fast. Plenty of seating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kurtmg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollo Lucas also viewed

Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 

Been to Pollo Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing