We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Chef Mickey's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef Mickey's Place is taking now credit cards (visa & master card) We open every day
Galt, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is always a treat to eat at Chef Mickey's. The food is so good. There is a reason Mickey wins competition after cooking competition. Do your tongue a favor and enjoy a meal/evening here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ridercoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    30
    15
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Point
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You found it! Best food in town.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Located on Boulevard Freemont Chef Mickey he best known Chef in town. Try the shrimp sampler for a full meal! They are huge Blue Shrimp only found in the Sea of Cortez each prepared differently and with different sauces. Its so good I just can't order anything else when I go there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kurtmg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Rocky Point by far!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were referred to Mickey's Place by a fiend, and went with a group of 11. What a treat! Excellent service and Mickey came out several times to see if we liked his food and tell us about his classes. Since we're from Phoenix area we won't be able to do that, much to our disappointment. But the food was absolutely wonderful! Our friends had the shrimp poppers and they carried on about how wonderful they were. My husband had the dijon pecan crusted salmon and said it was the best salmon he'd ever had. I had the macadamia crusted flounder, and would have gladly gone back the next night to have the same thing again,... but alas, we were returning home the next day. We have been to RP about 2 to 4 times a year for 10 years, and I've never left town saying, "I can hardly wait to go back to (fill in the blank) restaurant." Not anymore. We greatly look forward to our next visit to Mickey's. The only drawback I can offer to Mickey to improve is that our beverage glasses sat empty too long. We'd had a long day and were a bit dehydrated. It's a bit obscure to find.... if you know how to get to Don Julio's (heading out of town) just past Don Julio's look to the left for a black sign that says "CHEF." It's at the back of a U shaped building. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arizjudywrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chef Mickey's Place is the best! Chef Mickey is Peñasco's only 2 time Iron Chef winner!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Chef Mickey's Place is our favorite restaurant in Puerto Peñasco. Chef Mickey and his wife Mariana opened this small restaurant after Mickey worked in many of the great restaurants in Peñasco. We love the intimate, friendly setting.

The Pasta Night on Thursdays is awesome, and sometimes we find ourselves racing into town so we can make it by dinner time. There are varieties of fresh vegetables, seafood, meats, pastas and of course Chef Mickey's spectacular sauces to choose from. Put it all together and make your own special dish! But Pasta Night is only one night of the week... on the other nights we order from the best menu in town! Some of our favorite menu items include the broiled Caesar salad with shrimp, the shrimp sampler,the tender filet Gorgonzola and the super fresh and light flounder picotta. For dessert our favorites include the apple crumb cheesecake and the creme brulee. No matter what your palate craves, you are certainly in for a treat at Chef Mickey's Place!

Chef Mickey also offers cooking classes on Saturday mornings. One day, we will attend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieMcAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dependable High Quality Experience”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

There were 4 of us for dinner on a Thursday night when the pasta bar is available. 2 ordered from the menu and 2 of us from the pasta bar. All of the food was delicious and of a high quality standard. Menu selections were the Macadamian Crusted Flounder and Stuffed Date and Shrimp special. Both were excellent and included a dinner salad. The pasta bar has 2 kinds of pasta to choose from along with 3 sauces and a variety of items to add to your dish such as; shrimp, chicken, broccoli, onions, mushrooms, tomatoes, califlower and more. It is briefly sauteed in front of you in just minutes. The pasta selection also comes with a salad. Due to the popularity of Pasta Night, by 6pm the restaurant is nearly filled. Ensuring the high quality and good service is Chef Mickey who is intimately involved in the entire operation. Prices are moderate and a good value, especially the Pasta Bar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyPointRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Mickey's Place also viewed

Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 

Been to Chef Mickey's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing