We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Max's Cafe

Max's Cafe
Ranked #13 of 144 Restaurants in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Whether you are in the mood for breakfast, lunch or dinner, we have you covered. We have a vast menu that will cater to your every taste.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had dinner and breakfast at Max's. Dinner very good - don't care for their margaritas however - go for the bloody marys instead. Breakfast was excellent and good value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lopud31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    87
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Decent food, fair prices”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Max's, which is just accross the street from the Penasco del Sol served decent food at a fair price. Beer was cold.

An OK but not spectactular place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank seawolf1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Max's has some of the best breakfast items in town! Love the Mexican breakfast items and the American items are very good too. The frozen coffee drinks are excellent and they make a good Bloody Mary too! Lunch and dinner items are very good too. Free Wi-fi and calls to the USA are a plus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't visit Penasco without stopping by Max's”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Max's offers some of the best food in Penasco. The portions are large and nicely displayed. The bloody marys come in large glasses adorned with a variety of fruits plus a nice little umbrella. We recommend the breakfast. The patio seating outside is our choice of seating. The staff is great and the location is easily accessible from Calle 13 and is across from the large hotel at the end of the street.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbabcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere & Good Food.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've only been to Max's twice. Once for a cafe latte and it was pretty good. They have a nice clean air conditioned dining area and a bar. They also have a patio area. When I went by they had a musician playing music and sining on the patio. The cafe I ordered was good. The second time I went was for dinner. I ordered a steak dish and the steak was cooked properly to oder. The sides and the pan sauce it was served with were tasty. No complaints here. You can tell there are a lot of regulars at this joint, which is always a good sign. I'd certainly go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpencerF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Cafe also viewed

Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 

Been to Max's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing