We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful view and friendly people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baja Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and friendly people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Not the most luxurious hotel in Rocky point but the rooms are nice and there is always 24 hour security to park your four wheelers. The staff is beyond pleasant and speak English. They offer breakfast buffet in the morning for a fee and there is a swim up bar in the pool. One block from ocean but had a great view. Conveniently located down the strip for an easy walk to the dance clubs! Fun for every age.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2HotnSaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    6
    8
    15
See reviews for
15
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at Baja Hotel not expecting 5 star service due to the money i paid. I stayed for 4 days with a couple of friends and it was the absolute worst decision i have EVER made. First, the lock to my door did NOT work and when we told management that it didn't they said they would look into it....they never did. We told the manager again and he said he's sending someone up right now...once again he never came. Second, my friend had a very valuable camera that ended up being stolen by either an employee or someone that cleans the rooms. We know this because somebody else that stayed there told us that he had seen somebody walking out of the room. We told management again and they said they couldnt do anything about it because there was no evidence! Three, the food is terrible. I could have made better food on the ground. Fourth, when leaving the room one afternoon we saw a cocaroach on the ceiling! It had too be at least 4 inches long. Disgusting! The pool was dirty and the service was cheap. I honestly didnt expect it to be that bad. NEVER EVER EVER STAYING HERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Pay a little more money to stay in a better hotel than this. Wifi doesnt work everywhere, you liter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Penasco hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

..stay on the cheap, this is the place. A bed, a shower, AC and a roof over your head. You can tell they usually deal with a young party crowd. Deposit on the remote, the lamps and TV are glued to the furniture, and a spooky security guy who..well makes you feel like you need permission to go to and from your vehicle. The place was clean, and the rest of the staff were friendly but It's back to Sandy Beach for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prescottbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

It was a very basic average hotel, nothing spectacular, the bed was stiff but not unbearable. The room and pool were clean. The food in the restaurant was decent. I had no trouble getting my $10 deposit back. The people that I talked to at the office were very nice and helpful when we asked about where things were and places we could eat. We ended up spending the second night at one of the resorts because we got offered a great deal to rent a really nice condo and when I asked to change my two night stay to just one night they didn't give me any trouble about changing my reservation. If you are on a budget this hotel isn't bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I was not expecting luxury. I knew there were no elevators, etc and i could live with that. With the amount I paid I was expecting a place to sleep and a place to shower. Nothing more. First of all, don't trust the pictures. Must have been taken years ago when the place was first built. Also, place seems almost abandoned as there may have been oh maybe 2 other guests for the weekend we were there. 2nd night they decided to have some kind of paid event and had a Mexican nortena band play, walls were shaking in our room til 2 am maybe later. Perhaps they should have thought of the PAID guests. If u want to actually sleep in your room don't get a room here because beyond the loud music they also lIke to throw things around in the mornings so after not being able to fall asleep until an ungodly hour, you can't sleep in either. Oh and one more thing. They make you wear these ridiculous green florescent wrist bands to stay in the hotel even tho the only privilege of the wristband is to stay in a [--] hotel. No breakfast no drinks nothing. Except advertisement to the world you are a tourist to be taken advantage of while out exploring the city.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danielleb-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

The receptionist (male) was quite rude when we checked in. They ask for an $80 dollar deposit which is returned to you at the end of the stay, but if you do not specify "dollars" on your contract you get "pesos" back. There are NO ELEVATORS and the hotel is FOUR STORIES high, with luggage it can really be tough. The hot water is not that great, it does take a while to get when you take a shower. As far as location, there are not that many Hotels around and the view to the ocean is not great at all.

IF YOU ARE TRAVELING WITH KIDS: be aware that there is a "club" on the weekends i believe . They play loud music that can be disturbing for those in the rooms and they do play adult videos with strong content on a projector screening on the middle patio wall that can be seen from any floor of the hotel, ANYONE can see them and they are videos you do not want your kids to see.

Room Tip: First floors, take less stairs.. NO ELEVATORS
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chikamariachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.9 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#6 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
2.2 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#15 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#14 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#11 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baja Hotel

Property: Baja Hotel
Address: Mariano Matamoros | Rocky Point, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baja Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Baja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baja Hotel Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing