We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”
Review of Playa Bonita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Bonita Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Playa Bonita was very clean. Guys at the front desk very friendly. However, the girl seemed more interested in hanging out with her friends. No wash cloths & only 2 towels in the room even though there were 3 of us. Was right on the beach, even though it says not beach front. 2 pools but too cold to even get in them. Had a hot tub but a group of people hanging out at it all day & night with coolers of beer so couldn't use. We didn't think they were staying there at hotel was empty but friends of workers just using the hot tub & hotel to party. Would definitely stay again & recommend. Great price & restaurant was attached.

Room Tip: All rooms had some sort of ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie33423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Playa Bonita Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 212 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel is right on the beach. There is a nice restaurant adjacent to the hotel with live music in the late afternoon. The hotel staff if friendly and helpful. We liked our stay and will probably return again.

Room Tip: The standard room with an ocean view was very nice. The room had 2 queen size beds and an A/C that...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Cons:
My room had only A/C and a small TV Daewoo; no frig or cooler, no drink water, no coffee machine or microwave, - nothing.
Also, my room was too small, like a closet. The price for this room should be $20-30 (not $90).
The beach is not clean (playa, but not bonita).
My family spent only one night there and run away, we lost $560 (no refund).
Pros: Hot spa

Room Tip: go to another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sergey_A_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Have stayed many times at the Playa Bonita RV resort and also at their hotel. Wonderful beach to play on, awesome play to look for shells as the tide swings are awesome to watch. The "paving" on the RV resort are shells, Our dogs love to run on the beach which they usually can't do here on the US beaches. When we stayed at the hotel we had a beach front room, Service was wonderful and rooms were nice and clean. Hotel is close to town and we took our bikes and biked all over Puerto Penasco.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have been coming to Playa Bonita since the early 90's when they opened. We come twice a year with my father also. The staff is always great, the security walking around the park at night is nice. They keep the park very clean, the bathrooms sometimes get a bit messy, but that is because people are messy. We have always felt very safe. The music can get loud from the hotel but we just request a space on the other end of the park. We make our reservations for beach front a year in advance and even have some made for October 2012 and 2013. I can't wait to be there in a week for 10 days of glorious sun, beach and food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I read the other reviews and was surprised. We really like this place. It is clean, right on the beach and has great views. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was nice. This is Mexico and not a splashy resort so, yes the towels are thin and the toiletries poor quality. Bring your own and enjoy the garden, and views, views, views. My husband and I will return with friends and family.
After a day on the beach, we love being able to go for a swim in the pool and enjoy a cocktail at the adjacent restaurant. There usually is live music there. The beach vendors do not bother you on hotel property.

Room Tip: We like to be higher up so the pool noise is entertaining, not annoying.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolK512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked two nights at Playa Bonita after the Inn we booked in town turned out to be totally unsatisfactory. We had our choice of rooms and decided to pay the extra for the front room overlooking the ocean with a fridge and microwave. We ate in the restaurant next door and for two days never left the beach - it was wonderful. The rooms were ok - the comments on the towels and amenities are dead on. We paid $110 US, which for being on the beach was ok to me, but pretty steep for what you got beyond that. It was too cold for swimming when we were there - the pools looked great, but we did not use them. The comfy beach chaise lounges over looking the ocean became our "home" though and it was wonderful. For me you are paying for the beach at this hotel - otherwise there is nothing they offer that would make you come back. We heard from multiple guests that it has gone downhill every year they stay there, which is a shame. Looks like it was a really nice place at one time, and perhaps they just can't keep it up. Lots and lots of competition being built all along the rest of the beach and in this economy, that makes it really hard.

Room Tip: For us, a trip to the grocery store so we could have breakfast and lunch in our room, meant having t...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaMBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.6 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#3 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#1 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
Best Western Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#13 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#11 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
Sonoran Spa Resort Rocky Point
#7 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laguna Shores Resort
Laguna Shores Resort
#15 of 21 in Puerto Penasco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Bonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Bonita Hotel

Address: Paseo Balboa 100, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Penasco
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Penasco
Price Range: $76 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Bonita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Playa Bonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Bonita
Playa Bonita Puerto Peñasco
Playa Bonita Hotel Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing