We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cantina”
Review of JJ's Cantina

JJ's Cantina
Ranked #30 of 141 Restaurants in Puerto Penasco
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cantina”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Fantastic bar to catch live music and just have drinks with friends.

Bummer point - Cholla Bay can be a pain in the hinney to get to, if you don't have a car!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShytownKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Verde
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's a neighborhood bar.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A place that locals enjoy, but JJ's also holds legend of being one of the early drinking establishments in the area. It is not more than a bar, but good staff with a smile, a view and really a great little place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The best French fries, ever!

Oh, and just in case you need to to a little cyber commuting on your trip to the beach, they have wi-fi too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jocdgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan capistrano
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Party Down in Cholla Bay”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

JJ's is the only bar in Cholla Bay that I know of, & I know most
all the bars in & around Rocky Point........Every1 I know that
goes 2 Rocky Point, also have 2 go out to JJ's for some drinks

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Embodiment of Rocky Point culture”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've never really considering Rocky Point to be Mexico as it lacks that deep Mexican culture a native Mexican can endorse. After many trips throughout my youth, teens and now adulthood, I find that Rocky Point has always had a culture of its own. That being said, JJ's Cantina is the perfect example of Rocky Point culture. The culture of getting drunk, being a beach bum, riding jet-skis/ATVs, perusing local wares, gorging on fresh, tasty and cheap mariscos (sea food) and street food. You'll see all of this from JJ's wonderful tiered patio overlooking the northern side of the bay.

You won't find too many locals there as hardly anyone lives permanently on Cholla Bay so you'll find plenty of Americans. JJ's has a great mixture of age groups from the seasoned Rocky Point vets, ASU and U of A students and everyone in between looking to let loose and take advantage of lax laws.

A winning combination of strong drink and yummy eats all on the cheap. Loved the fish tacos with pico. Like every place in RP, you can pay with dollars or pesos. When it comes to serving alcohol in RP, the word "minor" has always been subjective. So don't be surprised to see the brave older men courageously sporting Speedos or drunk 18-year-old girls running around in bikinis. The renowned bar my parents frequented in their party days is now one of my favorite spots in Rocky Point. To really fit in come with a sun burn, beach wear and ALWAYS have drink in your hand.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The only Destination in Cholla Bay”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have been going to JJ's for over 25 years now and it is the same as the first time we walked up the steps from the beach other than now it is not run on generator power. There really is no better combination than a bar on the beach with cold beer and lots of sun on the patio. The food hits the spot after a long ATV or RZR ride to the bar from town. Every trip we make to Rocky Point always seems to end up at JJ's at least once. If you have not made the trip, you don't know what you're missing, and if you have, it won't be your last.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scuba-Duner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Cantina also viewed

Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 

Been to JJ's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing